September 21, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
© Angelo Barsetti

Rêve et folie

2021-10-27 20:00 2021-10-28 20:35 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Rêve et folie

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/29189

In-person event

A brilliant, introspective poet, Georg Trakl left a savagely lyrical body of work shot through with light and darkness. Brigitte Haentjens and Sébastien Ricard have created a dense, blistering show in the tradition of La nuit juste avant les forêts: a poetic treatise in which humanity whispers and howls in the same breath. Poetry is a cryptic language, infused with ancient mysticism, reflecting the desires that torment and inflame the skin. The...

Read more

Azrieli Studio,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
October 27 - 28, 2021
8:00 pm
© Angelo Barsetti
The spellbinding mystery of language

In-person event

A brilliant, introspective poet, Georg Trakl left a savagely lyrical body of work shot through with light and darkness. Brigitte Haentjens and Sébastien Ricard have created a dense, blistering show in the tradition of La nuit juste avant les forêts: a poetic treatise in which humanity whispers and howls in the same breath.

Poetry is a cryptic language, infused with ancient mysticism, reflecting the desires that torment and inflame the skin. The expressionist poet Georg Trakl was one of its most brilliant proponents. Born in Austria in the late 19th century, he died at 27, in the early days of the First World War, of a cocaine overdose while working as a pharmacist at the front. Plagued by anxiety and madness, he chose to escape from a stagnant world that was sinking into chaos and violence.

In this new creation, Brigitte Haentjens offers a radical and vertical exploration of Trakl’s Rêve et folie (“dream and delirium”). This lengthy poem, whose beauty is infused with strangeness and darkness, is a harsh incursion into the suffering and genius of this exeptional poet. The director enlisted her frequent associate, Sébastien Ricard, who, alone on stage, will appropriate Trakl’s words and give them substance. Enhanced by the visuals of filmmaker Karl Lemieux (video) and the music of composer Roger Teiller-Craig, this short, stunningly powerful show inscribes language in the body.

Performance is approximately 35 minutes with no intermission.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Oct 25
Oct 26
Oct 27
  • 8:00pm
Oct 28
  • 8:00pm
Oct 29
Oct 30
Oct 31
© Angelo Barsetti
  • Written by Georg Trakl
  • Assistant director Vanessa Beaupré
  • Dramaturg Amélie Dumoulin
  • Video Karl Lemieux
  • Music Roger Tellier-Craig
  • Lighting Martin Sirois
  • Costumes Julie Charland
  • Hair and makeup Angelo Barsetti
  • Soundscape Frédéric Auger
  • Video integration Guillaume Arsenault
  • Movement Anne-Marie Jourdenais
  • Technical director Éric Le Brec’h
  • Production director Cynthia Bouchard-Gosselin
  • Administrative director Xavier Inchauspé
  • Assistant to the directors Laëtitia Fabaron
  • Produced by Sibyllines
  • Coproducers NAC French Theatre and Festival international de littérature (FIL)
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 21 septembre 2021.
© Angelo Barsetti

Rêve et folie

2021-10-27 20:00 2021-10-28 20:35 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Rêve et folie

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/29189

Événement en personne

Poète crépusculaire et fulgurant, Georg Trakl nous a laissé une œuvre violemment lyrique, lacérée d’ombre et de lumière. Brigitte Haentjens et Sébastien Ricard en tirent un spectacle dense, foudroyant, dans la lignée de La nuit juste avant les forêts : une charge poétique où l’humanité murmure et hurle d’un même souffle. La poésie est une parole cryptée,...

Read more

Studio Azrieli,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
27 - 28 octobre 2021
20 h 00
© Angelo Barsetti
Le mystère envoûtant de la parole

Événement en personne

Poète crépusculaire et fulgurant, Georg Trakl nous a laissé une œuvre violemment lyrique, lacérée d’ombre et de lumière. Brigitte Haentjens et Sébastien Ricard en tirent un spectacle dense, foudroyant, dans la lignée de La nuit juste avant les forêts : une charge poétique où l’humanité murmure et hurle d’un même souffle.

La poésie est une parole cryptée, infusée d’une mystique ancienne, dans laquelle sont reflétés les désirs qui taraudent et qui embrasent l’épiderme. Le poète expressionniste Georg Trakl, né à la fin du XIXe siècle en Autriche, en fût l’un des plus brillants porte-étendard. Il est mort au début de la Première Guerre mondiale d’une overdose de cocaïne, à l’âge de 27 ans, alors qu’il était pharmacien au front. Rongé par l’angoisse et la folie, il a choisi de s’extraire d’un monde sclérosé, qui sombrait dans le chaos et la violence.

Dans cette nouvelle création, Brigitte Haentjens propose une exploration radicale et verticale de Rêve et folie de Trakl. Ce poème au long souffle, dont la beauté est empreinte d’étrangeté et de noirceur, est une incursion brute dans la souffrance et le génie de ce poète hors norme. La metteure en scène a fait appel à son complice de longue date, Sébastien Ricard, qui, seul en scène, se frottera à ces mots et leur donnera corps. Traversé par les images du cinéaste Karl Lemieux à la vidéo et du compositeur Roger Teiller-Craig à la musique, ce court spectacle d’une puissance vertigineuse inscrit le langage dans la chair.

Durée approximative de 35 minutes sans entracte.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
oct 25
oct 26
oct 27
  • 20 h 00
oct 28
  • 20 h 00
oct 29
oct 30
oct 31
© Angelo Barsetti
  • Texte Georg Trakl
  • Assistance à la mise en scène Vanessa Beaupré
  • Dramaturgie Amélie Dumoulin
  • Vidéo Karl Lemieux
  • Environnement sonore Roger Tellier-Craig
  • Lumière Martin Sirois
  • Costumes Julie Charland
  • Maquillage et coiffure Angelo Barsetti
  • Mise en espace sonore Frédéric Auger
  • Intégration vidéo Guillaume Arsenault
  • Mouvement Anne-Marie Jourdenais
  • Direction technique Éric Le Brec’h
  • Direction de production Cynthia Bouchard-Gosselin
  • Direction administrative Xavier Inchauspé
  • Adjointe aux directions Laëtitia Fabaron
  • Production Sibyllines
  • Coproduction Théâtre français du CNA et Festival international de littérature (FIL)
Menu