September 21, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Bahamas © Bahamas Studio

Bahamas

with Ariel Posen

2021-12-07 20:00 2021-12-07 21:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Bahamas

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/29052

In-person event

The fifth album from Bahamas, Sad Hunk takes its title from a nickname bestowed upon the artist by his wife in reaction to how he was being portrayed in the media. It's a fitting backstory for an album that embodies an undaunted self-awareness, each track graced with Bahamas's wry wit and unabashed heart. In sketching Sad Hunk's delicately composed batch of songs, Jurvanen drew much inspiration from his home life and all the joy and struggle that comes with...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Tuesday, December 7, 2021
8 PM EDT
Bahamas © Bahamas Studio
Music Singer/Songwriter Rock Folk

In-person event

The fifth album from Bahamas, Sad Hunk takes its title from a nickname bestowed upon the artist by his wife in reaction to how he was being portrayed in the media. It's a fitting backstory for an album that embodies an undaunted self-awareness, each track graced with Bahamas's wry wit and unabashed heart. In sketching Sad Hunk's delicately composed batch of songs, Jurvanen drew much inspiration from his home life and all the joy and struggle that comes with building a family together, having recently moved to the coast of Nova Scotia with his wife and two daughters. 

2018's Grammy-Nominated Earthtones saw Bahamas joining forces with bassist Pino Palladino and drummer James Gadson (the rhythm section behind D'Angelo's Black Messiah), and even merging them with his stable of longtime heavyweight musicians on Kimmel. Jurvanen created Sad Hunk with those same collaborators -- Christine Bougie (guitar), Don Kerr (drums), Mike O'Brien (bass), and Felicity Williams (vocals). Recorded by longtime producer and multi-Grammy nominee Robbie Lackritz (Feist, Jack Johnson, Robbie Robertson), Sad Hunk is the next step in Afie' virtuosic signature style of restraint as a guitarist. 

Bahamas © Bahamas Studio
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 27 septembre 2021.
Bahamas © Bahamas Studio

Bahamas

avec Ariel Posen

2021-12-07 20:00 2021-12-07 21:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Bahamas

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/29052

Événement en personne

Le cinquième album de Bahamas, Sad Hunk, tire son titre d'un surnom donné à l'artiste par sa femme en réaction à l'image qu'il donnait de lui dans les médias. Il s'agit d'une histoire appropriée pour un album qui incarne une conscience de soi inébranlable, chaque morceau étant gratifié de l'esprit ironique et du cœur inébranlable de Bahamas. En esquissant le lot de chansons...

Read more

Salle Southam,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
mardi 7 décembre 2021
20 h HAE
Bahamas © Bahamas Studio
Musique Auteur-compositeur-interprète Rock Folk

Événement en personne

Le cinquième album de Bahamas, Sad Hunk, tire son titre d'un surnom donné à l'artiste par sa femme en réaction à l'image qu'il donnait de lui dans les médias. Il s'agit d'une histoire appropriée pour un album qui incarne une conscience de soi inébranlable, chaque morceau étant gratifié de l'esprit ironique et du cœur inébranlable de Bahamas. En esquissant le lot de chansons délicatement composées de Sad Hunk, Jurvanen s'est beaucoup inspiré de sa vie domestique et de toute la joie et la lutte qui accompagnent la construction d'une famille ensemble, ayant récemment déménagé sur la côte de la Nouvelle-Écosse avec sa femme et ses deux filles. 

Earthtones, nominé aux Grammy Awards en 2018, a vu Bahamas s'associer au bassiste Pino Palladino et au batteur James Gadson (la section rythmique derrière Black Messiah de D'Angelo), et même les fusionner avec son écurie de musiciens poids lourds de longue date sur Kimmel. Jurvanen a créé Sad Hunk avec ces mêmes collaborateurs : Christine Bougie (guitare), Don Kerr (batterie), Mike O'Brien (basse) et Felicity Williams (chant). Enregistré par le producteur de longue date et candidat à plusieurs Grammy Robbie Lackritz (Feist, Jack Johnson, Robbie Robertson), Sad Hunk est l'étape suivante de la signature virtuose d'Afie en matière de retenue en tant que guitariste. 

Bahamas © Bahamas Studio
Menu