May 13, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

Ivan Coyote in Conversation with Dr. Jillian Horton

Arts, Medicine & #Life

8 PM EDT
Facebook Live
This event has passed
Authors Talks

Facebook Live event

"Just where are you taking that history?"

Student doctors are taught a formulaic way of “taking” patient histories and repeating their stories. Somewhere along the way, the essence of the person - and why they are seeking care in the first place - is often lost. Join author and physician Dr. Jillian Horton in conversation with noted writer and storyteller Ivan Coyote as they discuss how medicine can begin to see its history problem - as well as its historical and systemic bias against LGBTQ2+ people - with a view to creating something better.

Ivan Coyote is a writer and storyteller who was born and raised in Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada. In 2021 Ivan will mark 27 years on the road as an international touring storyteller and musician, and release their thirteenth book, Care Of: Letters, Connections and Cures. Coyote’s stories grapple with the complex and intensely personal topics of gender identity, family, class, and queer liberation, but always with a generous heart, and a quick wit. Ivan's stories manage to handle both the hilarious and the historical with reverence and compassion, and remind us all of our own fallible and imperfect humanity, while at the same time inspiring us to change the world.

JILLIAN HORTON, M.D., is an award-winning medical educator, writer, musician and podcaster. A former Associate Dean at the University of Manitoba, she has cared for thousands of patients in an inner-city hospital, and now works to provide care to people living with addiction.  She is the winner of the prestigious 2020 AFMC–Gold Foundation Humanism award, recognizing her as a national thought leader in medical education and the delivery of compassionate and humane care. As a teacher of mindfulness, she is sought after by doctors at all stages of their careers, and she leads the development of national programming in physician health for Joule, a subsidiary of the Canadian Medical Association. Her writing about medicine appears frequently in the LA Times, the Globe and Mail, and the Toronto Star, and her first book, We Are All Perfectly Fine, now a national best seller, was released by HarperCollins Canada in Feb 2021.
 

*You can find all previous Arts, Medicine & #Life talks as podcasts here.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 13 mai 2021.

Ivan Coyote en conversation avec Dr. Jillian Horton

Arts, Medicine & #Life

20 h HAE
Facebook Live
Cet événement est passé
Littérature Causeries

Événement Facebook Live

*Cette présentation est en anglais seulement*

"Où est-ce que vous prenez cette histoire ?"

Les étudiants en médecine apprennent une formule pour "prendre" les antécédents des patients et répéter leur histoire. Quelque part en chemin, l'essence de la personne - et la raison pour laquelle elle cherche à se faire soigner en premier lieu - est souvent perdue. Rejoignez le Dr Jillian Horton, auteur et médecin, en conversation avec Ivan Coyote, écrivain et conteur de renom, alors qu'ils discutent de la façon dont la médecine peut commencer à voir son problème d'histoire - ainsi que ses préjugés historiques et systémiques à l'égard des personnes LGBTQ2+ - en vue de créer quelque chose de meilleur.

Ivan Coyote est un écrivain et un conteur qui est né et a grandi à Whitehorse, au Yukon, au Canada. En 2021, Ivan marquera 27 ans sur la route en tant que conteur et musicien en tournée internationale, et publiera son treizième livre, Care Of : Letters, Connections and Cures. Les histoires de Coyote abordent les sujets complexes et intensément personnels de l'identité sexuelle, de la famille, de la classe sociale et de la libération queer, mais toujours avec un cœur généreux et un esprit vif. Les histoires d'Ivan parviennent à manier l'hilarité et l'histoire avec respect et compassion, et nous rappellent à tous notre propre humanité faillible et imparfaite, tout en nous incitant à changer le monde.

Dre JILLIAN HORTON est une éducatrice médicale, autrice, musicienne, et baladodiffuseuse primée. Ancienne doyenne associée de l’Université du Manitoba, elle a soigné des milliers de patients dans un hôpital du centre-ville et fournit maintenant des soins aux personnes vivant avec une dépendance. En 2020, elle reçoit le prestigieux prix AFMC–Gold Foundation Humanism Award, qui la reconnaît comme chef de file nationale en éducation médicale et en soins prodigués avec bienveillance et compassion. Comme enseignante de méditation axée sur la pleine conscience, elle est consultée par des médecins à toutes les étapes de leurs carrières, et dirige l’élaboration de la programmation nationale en santé des médecins pour Joule, une filiale de l’Association médicale canadienne. Ses textes sur la médecine sont souvent publiés dans le LA Times, le Globe and Mail et le Toronto Star, et son premier livre, We Are All Perfectly Fine, maintenant un best-seller national, a été publié par HarperCollins Canada en février 2021.

*Vous pouvez trouver tous les balados précédents sur Arts, Medicine & #Life ici (en anglais seulement).

Menu