May 20, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
© Rob DiVito

Red Sky Performance

More than Dance, We are a Movement

Video on-demand
This event has passed
© Rob DiVito
Indigenous arts Dance Contemporary Film

Exclusive Canadian Engagement

Video on-demand

NAC Dance is proud to offer a new film celebrating Red Sky Performance’s 20th anniversary story as a leading company of contemporary Indigenous performance in Canada and worldwide. More than Dance, We are a Movement is a presentation of excerpts from their award-winning work, and interviews with collaborators who have participated in this remarkable journey. This film captures the creative drive of founder and Artistic Director Sandra Laronde and the exceptional artistic vision that propelled Red Sky Performance to prominence and critical acclaim.

About Trace

Trace is a highly kinetic contemporary dance work inspired by Indigenous (Anishinaabe) sky and star stories. Our ancestral origins stretch across the Milky Way to the atoms burning inside of us in the here and now. Trace offers a glimpse into our origin as the star people as well as our future evolution.

About Miigis

Miigis represents the “the perfect breath” of life, a symbol that informs our origin story of travel from the Atlantic Coast to the Great Lakes. Fusing contemporary Indigenous dance with athleticism in an extraordinary form, Miigis explores the catalysts for movement, ancestral forces and living memory, and the cycle of life.

-------

DETAILED PROGRAM

Land Acknowledgement (approximately 1 minute)

Filmed excerpt of Trace  (25 minutes)

Interview segment (21 minutes)

Interviews with Artistic Director Sandra Laronde and celebrated collaborators, including Jera Wolfe (choreographer), Eliot Britton (composer), Don Kavanaugh (Elder), Jules McCusker (social activator), and Jenifer Brousseau (vocalist). 

Filmed excerpt of Miigis (11 minutes)

This digital presentation is approximately 58 minutes.

-------

This Digidance livestream is an initiative of DanceHouse (Vancouver), Danse Danse (Montreal), Harbourfront Centre (Toronto), and the National Arts Centre (Ottawa), co-presented with Springboard Performance (Calgary).

video:
© Rob DiVito
© David Hou
© Joanna Stoga
© Joanna Stoga
© Wim Lanser
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 8 avril 2021.
© Rob DiVito
© Rob DiVito
Arts autochtones Danse contemporaine Cinéma

Exclusivité canadienne

Vidéo sur demande

Danse CNA a le plaisir de présenter un nouveau film réalisé à l’occasion du 20e anniversaire de Red Sky Performance, compagnie de renom qui fait rayonner les arts vivants autochtones au Canada et partout dans le monde. More than Dance, We are a Movement présente des extraits du travail primé de la compagnie et des entrevues avec les personnes qui ont participé à cette remarquable aventure. Le film reflète l’élan créatif de la directrice artistique Sandra Laronde et la vision artistique exceptionnelle qui a mérité à Red Sky Performance la faveur du public et les éloges de la critique.

À propos de Trace

Trace est une œuvre de danse contemporaine hautement dynamique inspirée des légendes autochtones (anichinabées) sur le ciel et les étoiles. Nos origines ancestrales se déploient à travers la Voie lactée jusqu’aux atomes qui brûlent en nous dans l’ici et maintenant. Trace permet d’entrevoir nos origines en tant que peuple des étoiles ainsi que notre évolution future.

À propos de Miigis

Miigis représente le « souffle de vie », symbole qui a façonné l’histoire du voyage originel de la côte atlantique aux Grands Lacs. Fusion spectaculaire de danse contemporaine autochtone et d’athlétisme, Miigis explore les catalyseurs du mouvement, les forces ancestrales, la mémoire vivante ainsi que le cycle de la vie.

------- 

PROGRAMME DÉTAILLÉ

Reconnaissance du territoire (envrion 1 minute)

Film, extrait de Trace (25 minutes)

Entrevues (21 minutes)

Entretiens avec la directrice artistique Sandra Laronde et des collaborateurs.trices connu.e.s, Jera Wolfe (chorégraphe, Trace et Miigis), Eliot Britton (compositeur), Don Kavanaugh (aîné culturel), Jules McCusker (activateur social), et Jenifer Brousseau (vocaliste). 

Film, extrait de Miigis (11 minutes)

Cette présentation en ligne dure environ 58 minutes.

------- 

Cette diffusion en direct de Digidanse est une initiative de DanceHouse (Vancouver), de Danse Danse (Montréal), du Harbourfront Centre (Toronto) et du Centre national des Arts (Ottawa), coprésenté avec Springboard Performance (Calgary).

video:
© Rob DiVito
© David Hou
© Joanna Stoga
© Joanna Stoga
© Wim Lanser
Menu