October 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
© Julie Charland
© Julie Charland
  • Written by Sarah DeLappe
  • Translated by Fanny Britt
  • Directed by Solène Paré

Featuring nine young soccer players, Les Louves (The Wolves) paints a powerful portrait of North American millennials. 

In an indoor stadium in an American suburb, nine teenage girls warm up before a qualifying match for the national soccer championships. The conversations overlap: they talk as much about the Khmer Rouge, Netflix and Harry Potter as they do about menstruation, diet and their lives that are falling apart. A ferocious cold, the echo of distant genocides and their personal dramas gradually crack their protective dome. As the training sessions progress, group dynamics take hold, distinct personalities emerge, and the relationship between the individual and the pack becomes clearer.

The award-winning play by American Sarah DeLappe, translated into Quebecois by Fanny Britt, is a precise score that takes shape in the performance space. The staged reading is directed by Solène Paré, artist in residence at Montreal’s ESPACE GO and co-founder of Fantôme, compagnie de création, which produces works that view the world from a feminist perspective.

Performance is approximately 1 hour and 25 minutes with no intermission.

© Julie Charland
© Yanick Macdonald

Artists

  • Written by Sarah DeLappe
  • Translated by Fanny Britt
  • Directed by Solène Paré
  • With Claudia Chan Tak, Claudia Chillis-Rivard, Leïla Donabelle Kaze, Célia Gouin-Arsenault, Dominique Leduc, Stephie Mazunya, Alice Moreault, Noémie O’Farrell, Elisabeth Smith and Zoé Tremblay-Bianco
  • Stage manager Charlotte Isis Gervais
  • Produced by ESPACE GO, Fantôme, compagnie de création and NAC French Theatre. Produced with the permission of Samuel French, Inc.
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour d'octobre 2020.
© Julie Charland
© Julie Charland
  • Texte Sarah DeLappe
  • Traduction Fanny Britt
  • Mise en lecture Solène Paré

Mettant en scène neuf jeunes joueuses de soccer, Les Louves brosse un portrait percutant des milléniales nord-américaines. 

Dans un stade couvert de la banlieue américaine, neuf adolescentes s’échauffent avant un match de qualification pour les championnats nationaux de soccer. Les conversations se chevauchent : elles discutent autant des Khmers rouges, de Netflix et de Harry Potter que de menstruations, d’alimentation et de leurs vies qui déboulent. Un rhume féroce, l’écho de lointains génocides et leurs drames intimes fissurent peu à peu leur dôme protecteur. Au fil des entraînements, les dynamiques de groupe s’installent, les personnalités s’affirment et les rapports entre les individus et la meute se précisent.

Maintes fois récompensé, le texte de l’Américaine Sarah DeLappe, traduit en québécois par Fanny Britt, est une partition précise qui prend forme dans l’espace de jeu. La mise en lecture est signée par Solène Paré, artiste en résidence à ESPACE GO et cofondatrice de Fantôme, compagnie de création, qui produit des œuvres posant un regard féministe sur le monde. 

Durée approximative de 1 heure et 25 minutes sans entracte.

© Julie Charland
© Yanick Macdonald

Artistes

  • Texte Sarah DeLappe
  • Traduction Fanny Britt
  • Mise en lecture Solène Paré
  • Avec Claudia Chan Tak, Claudia Chillis-Rivard, Leïla Donabelle Kaze, Célia Gouin-Arsenault, Dominique Leduc, Stephie Mazunya, Alice Moreault, Noémie O’Farrell, Elisabeth Smith et Zoé Tremblay-Bianco
  • Régie Charlotte Isis Gervais
  • Production ESPACE GO, Fantôme, compagnie de création et Théâtre français du CNA. Présentée avec l’accord de Samuel French inc.
Menu