September 2020 Update on Live Performances and Events at the NAC.
© Ed Ellis, Ellis Brothers Photography

until the next breath

Catalyst Theatre (Edmonton, AB)

© Ed Ellis, Ellis Brothers Photography
Theatre
  • Created by Jonathan Christenson, Bretta Gerecke, Laura Krewski and Matthew Skopyk

Breath. It begins and ends our lives, and in-between, it sustains us, as we reach out to connect – to touch, and be touched, by others.

But what happens in the face of a virus that isolates us, deprives us of touch, and threatens to steal our breath away? In this pause between inhalation and exhalation – afloat between what was and what will be – how do we take our next breath? How do we live? How do we thrive? 

Fifty performers join Catalyst Theatre on a musical journey that invites audience members to breathe through fear and uncertainty and dance into the beautiful unknown.

Exact time and location of this event to be confirmed. Please check here for updates.
Please note performance time is indicated in Eastern Daylight Time (EDT). Please adjust for your local time zone.


As the performing arts sector continues to face unprecedented challenges due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the National Arts Centre has responded with Grand Acts of Theatre, an initiative to bring Canadian artists and audiences together. Eleven of Canada’s most innovative theatre companies have been engaged to create and perform large-scale, new works in response to these times, which will be performed outdoors in front of live audiences in various Canadian locations, filmed, and later shared online.

This event will be photographed and recorded, with excerpts being presented online at a later date, so we are advising all attendees that by attending the event, individuals are deemed to consent to the recording of their image and use of their image in connection with recordings and photographs of the event, which may be published. All video recordings and images of the event captured by the organizers shall be the sole property of organizers and all rights of personality, publicity, privacy, or other rights of participants in recordings or photographs shall be deemed to have been waived.

© Ed Ellis, Ellis Brothers Photography

Artists

  • Created by Jonathan Christenson, Bretta Gerecke, Laura Krewski and Matthew Skopyk
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour d'octobre 2020.
© Ed Ellis, Ellis Brothers Photography

until the next breath

Catalyst Theatre (Edmonton, AB)

© Ed Ellis, Ellis Brothers Photography
Théâtre
  • Créé par Jonathan Christenson, Bretta Gerecke, Laura Krewski et Matthew Skopyk

Le souffle. Il commence et finit notre vie, et entre les deux, il nous soutient, alors que nous tendons la main pour nous connecter - pour toucher, et être touché, par les autres.

Mais que faire face à un virus qui nous isole, nous prive de contact et menace de nous couper le souffle? Dans cette pause entre l’inspiration et l’expiration, entre ce qui a été et ce qui sera, comment prendre notre prochain souffle? Comment vivre? Comment s’épanouir?  

50 interprètes se joignent à Catalyst Theatre pour un voyage musical qui invite le public à respirer à travers la peur et à embrasser le bel inconnu.

À noter que l’heure du spectacle est indiquée en heure avancée de l’Est (HAE). Veuillez svp assurer que vos paramètres de fuseaux horaires sont correctement configurés.  


Tandis que le secteur des arts du spectacle continue de faire face à des défis sans précédent en raison de la pandémie de COVID-19, le Centre national des Arts lance Envolées théâtrales, une initiative visant à réunir artistes et auditoires canadiens. Onze des compagnies de théâtre les plus novatrices du pays ont été recrutées pour concevoir et interpréter de nouvelles œuvres de grande envergure en réponse à cette période difficile, qui seront présentées à l’extérieur devant public, en direct, en différents endroits au Canada. Ces créations seront aussi filmées et diffusées en ligne. 

Ce spectacle sera photographié et filmé, et des extraits vidéo seront ultérieurement publiés en ligne. En y assistant, les membres de l’auditoire sont réputés consentir à ce que leur image soit filmée ou photographiée et utilisée dans le cadre des enregistrements et photographies du spectacle, qui peuvent être rendus publics. Tous les enregistrements vidéo et toutes les images du spectacle effectués par les organisateurs sont la propriété exclusive de ceux-ci. Les participants sont réputés renoncer à faire valoir tous droits relatifs à la personnalité, à la publicité, à la vie privée ou tout autre droit qu’ils sont susceptibles d’avoir en ce qui a trait aux enregistrements ou aux photos.

© Ed Ellis, Ellis Brothers Photography

Artistes

  • Créé par Jonathan Christenson, Bretta Gerecke, Laura Krewski et Matthew Skopyk
Menu