September 2020 Update on Live Performances and Events at the NAC.
© Emily Christie

Intramural.e

Théâtre Cercle Molière / Synonym Art Consultation (Winnipeg, MB)

This event has passed
© Emily Christie
Theatre Dance
  • Executive Director, TCM Geneviève Pelletier
  • Artistic Directors, Event Managers, SAC Chloe Chafe, Andrew Eastman

With Intramural.e, we will transform a local outdoor basketball court into a colourful work of contemporary street art in order to serve as a temporary performance venue for various types of competitive dance styles, including Indigenous Powwow, queer ballroom, and hip-hop categories.

This interdisciplinary act of theatre reclaims and honours public community space, highlighting competitive performance styles that have been policed and suppressed in the past, while increasing access to the performing arts in the process.

Exact time and location of this event to be confirmed. Please check here for updates.
Performance time is indicated in Eastern Daylight Time (EDT). Please adjust for your local time zone.


As the performing arts sector continues to face unprecedented challenges due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the National Arts Centre has responded with Grand Acts of Theatre, an initiative to bring Canadian artists and audiences together. Eleven of Canada’s most innovative theatre companies have been engaged to create and perform large-scale, new works in response to these times, which will be performed outdoors in front of live audiences in various Canadian locations, filmed, and later shared online.

This event will be photographed and recorded, with excerpts being presented online at a later date, so we are advising all attendees that by attending the event, individuals are deemed to consent to the recording of their image and use of their image in connection with recordings and photographs of the event, which may be published. All video recordings and images of the event captured by the organizers shall be the sole property of organizers and all rights of personality, publicity, privacy, or other rights of participants in recordings or photographs shall be deemed to have been waived.

© Emily Christie

Artists

  • Executive Director, TCM Geneviève Pelletier
  • Artistic Coordinator, TCM Anna-Laure Koop
  • Technical Director, TCM Miguel Fortier
  • Communications, TCM Maxine Robert
  • Artistic Directors, Event Managers, SAC Chloe Chafe, Andrew Eastman
  • Communications, SAC Joy K. Balmana
  • Mentorship Leader Andrew Sannie, Grape Experimental
  • Video Director Jen Doerksen, BNB Studios
  • Videographers Buio Assis, Quincy Houdayer, BNB Studios
  • Graphic Design, Muralist Peatr Thomas
  • Drag Curator Levi Foy, Prairie Sky
  • Choreographer Maribeth Tabanera, Kilusan
  • Sound Designer Felix Azuka Idigbe
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour de septembre 2020.
© Emily Christie

Intramural.e

Théâtre Cercle Molière / Synonym Art Consultation (Winnipeg, MB)

Cet événement est passé
© Emily Christie
Théâtre Danse
  • Directrice générale, TCM Geneviève Pelletier
  • Direction artistique, gestionnaires d'événements SAC Chloe Chafe, Andrew Eastman

Intramural.e est la transformation d’un terrain de basketball urbain en une toile contemporaine d’art de la rue qui servira de scène performative mettant en vedette des styles de danse compétitives, certaines catégories du Powwow Autochtone, Ball culture, et hip hop. 

Cet acte théâtral interdisciplinaire réclame et honore l’espace publique communautaire, en soulignant la nature compétitive des styles performatifs qui sont réprimés et policés, tout en augmentant l’accès aux arts.

Heure et lieu de cet évènement sont à confirmés. Veuillez consulter le lien pour les mises à jour.
À noter que l’heure du spectacle est indiquée en heure avancée de l’Est (HAE). Veuillez svp assurer que vos paramètres de fuseaux horaires sont correctement configurés.  


Tandis que le secteur des arts du spectacle continue de faire face à des défis sans précédent en raison de la pandémie de COVID-19, le Centre national des Arts lance Envolées théâtrales, une initiative visant à réunir artistes et auditoires canadiens. Onze des compagnies de théâtre les plus novatrices du pays ont été recrutées pour concevoir et interpréter de nouvelles œuvres de grande envergure en réponse à cette période difficile, qui seront présentées à l’extérieur devant public, en direct, en différents endroits au Canada. Ces créations seront aussi filmées et diffusées en ligne. 

Ce spectacle sera photographié et filmé, et des extraits vidéo seront ultérieurement publiés en ligne. En y assistant, les membres de l’auditoire sont réputés consentir à ce que leur image soit filmée ou photographiée et utilisée dans le cadre des enregistrements et photographies du spectacle, qui peuvent être rendus publics. Tous les enregistrements vidéo et toutes les images du spectacle effectués par les organisateurs sont la propriété exclusive de ceux-ci. Les participants sont réputés renoncer à faire valoir tous droits relatifs à la personnalité, à la publicité, à la vie privée ou tout autre droit qu’ils sont susceptibles d’avoir en ce qui a trait aux enregistrements ou aux photos.

© Emily Christie

Artistes

  • Directrice générale, TCM Geneviève Pelletier
  • Coordinatrice artistique, TCM Anna-Laure Koop
  • Directeur technique, TCM Miguel Fortier
  • Communications, TCM Maxine Robert
  • Direction artistique, gestionnaires d'événements SAC Chloe Chafe, Andrew Eastman
  • Communications, SAC Joy K. Balmana
  • Mentor principal Andrew Sannie, Grape Experimental
  • Réalisatrice vidéo Jen Doerksen de BNB Studios
  • Vidéo Buio Assis, Quincy Houdayer de BNB Studios
  • Concepteur graphique et muraliste Peatr Thomas
  • Commissaire au drag Levi Foy, Prairie Sky
  • Choréographie Maribeth Tabanera, Kilusan
  • Conception sonore Felix Azuka Idigbe
Menu