October 13, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
© Prismatic Arts Festival

Shifting Verse

Prismatic Arts Festival (Halifax, NS)

2020-09-19 18:00 2020-09-19 18:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Shifting Verse

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/27282

One magical moment. For an evening, the Prismatic Arts Festival will be making the city of Halifax its stage. Imagine a world-class pianist projected onto one of downtown Halifax’s oldest buildings, while on the ground, dancers move to powerful poetry that is resounding throughout the historic square. Join us for a performance by some of Atlantic Canada's leading Indigenous artists and artists of colour as they come together to weave a profound tapestry of spoken word, dance, music,...

Read more

Saturday, September 19, 2020
6 PM EDT
This event has passed
© Prismatic Arts Festival
Music Theatre Dance

One magical moment.

For an evening, the Prismatic Arts Festival will be making the city of Halifax its stage. Imagine a world-class pianist projected onto one of downtown Halifax’s oldest buildings, while on the ground, dancers move to powerful poetry that is resounding throughout the historic square.

Join us for a performance by some of Atlantic Canada's leading Indigenous artists and artists of colour as they come together to weave a profound tapestry of spoken word, dance, music, multimedia, and live performance.

At a time where we are acutely aware of movements and conversations taking place around us, while reflecting on our own personal journeys, we need to begin changing the narrative - Shifting Verse. 


As the performing arts sector continues to face unprecedented challenges due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the National Arts Centre has responded with Grand Acts of Theatre, an initiative to bring Canadian artists and audiences together. Twelve of Canada’s most innovative theatre companies have been engaged to create and perform large-scale, new works in response to these times, which will be performed outdoors in front of live audiences in various Canadian locations, filmed, and later shared online.

© Prismatic Arts Festival
  • Producer Raeesa Lalani
  • Composer, Musician Dinuk Wijeratne
  • Script / Poetry Reading Clyde A. Wray
  • Choreographer, Dancer Liliona Quarmyne
  • Performance Producer Garry Williams
  • Technical Director Michael Mader
  • Assistant Producer (training) Kelly Li
  • Music Dinuk Wijeratne, Skratch Bastid, The Afiara Quartet
  • Dancers Susanne Chui, Brandon Skeete, Jayla James, Abady Alzahrani, Leelee Oluwatoyosi Eko Davis
  • Production Designers Michael Mader, Raeesa Lalani
  • Lighting Director Terry Rice
  • Video Projections RPM Productions, Oakar Myint
  • Projection Colourist Anna Shepard
  • Audio Mixing Gary Tulk
  • Video Production Mirror Image Media
  • Graphic Design Alix Wilson
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 8 avril 2021.
© Prismatic Arts Festival

Shifting Verse

Prismatic Arts Festival (Halifax, N-É)

Cet événement est passé
© Prismatic Arts Festival
Musique Théâtre Danse

Un moment magique. 

Le temps d’une soirée, le Prismatic Arts Festival fera de la ville de Halifax sa scène. Imaginez un pianiste de calibre mondial projeté sur l’un des plus anciens bâtiments du centre-ville de Halifax, tandis qu’au sol, les danseurs se déplacent au son d’une poésie puissante qui résonne dans toute la place historique.

Joignez-vous à nous pour une prestation de certains des plus grands artistes autochtones et artistes de couleur du Canada atlantique, qui se réuniront pour tisser une tapisserie profonde de mots, de danse, de musique, de multimédia et de spectacles en direct.

À une époque où nous sommes très conscients des mouvements et des conversations qui se déroulent autour de nous, tout en réfléchissant à nos propres parcours, nous devons commencer à changer le récit – Shifting Verse.


Tandis que le secteur des arts du spectacle continue de faire face à des défis sans précédent en raison de la pandémie de COVID-19, le Centre national des Arts lance Envolées théâtrales, une initiative visant à réunir artistes et auditoires canadiens. Douze des compagnies de théâtre les plus novatrices du pays ont été recrutées pour concevoir et interpréter de nouvelles œuvres de grande envergure en réponse à cette période difficile, qui seront présentées à l’extérieur devant public, en direct, en différents endroits au Canada. Ces créations seront aussi filmées et diffusées en ligne. 

© Prismatic Arts Festival

Artistes

  • Productrice Raeesa Lalani
  • Musique originale, musicien Dinuk Wijeratne
  • Texte, poésie Clyde A. Wray
  • Choréographe, danseuse Liliona Quarmyne
  • Producteur du spectacle Garry Williams
  • Directeur technique Michael Mader
  • Assistance à la production (formation) Kelly Li
  • Musique Dinuk Wijeratne, Skratch Bastid, The Afiara Quartet
  • Danseurs Susanne Chui, Brandon Skeete, Jayla James, Abady Alzahrani, Leelee Oluwatoyosi Eko Davis
  • Conception Michael Mader, Raeesa Lalani
  • Éclairages Terry Rice
  • Projections vidéo RPM Productions, Oakar Myint
  • Coloriste (projections) Anna Shepard
  • Mixage audio Gary Tulk
  • Vidéo Mirror Image Media
  • Graphiste Alix Wilson
Menu