October 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
© Jill Wilcott

The Fire Kedgys’ Howl

Neighbourhood Dance Works (St. John's, NL)

© Jill Wilcott
Theatre Dance
  • Artistic Producer Calla Lachance
  • Project Consultant Lois Brown
  • Choral Direction Kellie Walsh
  • Music Composition Andrew Staniland

The Fire Kedgys’ Howl is a mythological intervention depicting the arrival of a luminescent, otherworldly community.

The Kedgys’ call us to pull up our sleeves, blow the horn, catch the ropes and right the ship’s path to safer ground. A collective ‘cry for help’, this ethereal work evokes feelings of urgency and discovery. It provokes compassion and awakens us to the resilient nature inherent in all beings so we may do better in our current, conflicted world.

Kedgy, according to the Dictionary of Newfoundland English, is someone who does all the odd jobs on a boat - sound the fog horn, pull up the lines, etc. We thought this image was compelling to explore because this is someone we might not think of as a "rescuer of humanity" - and yet they do what needs to be done, to emerge out of the fog, out of danger, to catch the ropes and get everyone ashore safely.

Exact time and location of this event to be confirmed. Please check here for updates.
Please note performance time is indicated in Eastern Daylight Time (EDT). Please adjust for your local time zone.


As the performing arts sector continues to face unprecedented challenges due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the National Arts Centre has responded with Grand Acts of Theatre, an initiative to bring Canadian artists and audiences together. Eleven of Canada’s most innovative theatre companies have been engaged to create and perform large-scale, new works in response to these times, which will be performed outdoors in front of live audiences in various Canadian locations, filmed, and later shared online.

This event will be photographed and recorded, with excerpts being presented online at a later date, so we are advising all attendees that by attending the event, individuals are deemed to consent to the recording of their image and use of their image in connection with recordings and photographs of the event, which may be published. All video recordings and images of the event captured by the organizers shall be the sole property of organizers and all rights of personality, publicity, privacy, or other rights of participants in recordings or photographs shall be deemed to have been waived.

© Jill Wilcott

Artists

  • Artistic Producer Calla Lachance
  • Project Consultant Lois Brown
  • Additional Advisors Emily Deming Martin, Pam Hall, Jamie Skidmore, Sarah Joy Stoker, Anne Troake
  • Choral Direction Kellie Walsh
  • Music Composition Andrew Staniland
  • Mask, Headgear Design Sara Tilley
  • Costume Design Kelly Bruton
  • Choreographic Direction Andrya Duff, Louise Moyes, Andrea Tucker
  • Text Development Santiago Guzmán
  • Production Manager Sharon King Campbell
  • Graphic Design Knoah Bender
  • Technical Director Victor Tilley
  • Filmmaker Justin Simms
  • NDW Administration and PR Support Branden On, Sarah Smellie
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour d'octobre 2020.
© Jill Wilcott

The Fire Kedgys’ Howl

Neighbourhood Dance Works (St. John's, T-N)

© Jill Wilcott
Théâtre Danse
  • Productrice artistique Calla Lachance
  • Conseillère pour le projet Lois Brown
  • Directrice chorale Kellie Walsh
  • Musique originale Andrew Staniland

The Fire Kedgys’ Howl est une intervention mythologique décrivant l’arrivée d’une communauté luminescente d’un autre monde.

Les Kedgys nous appellent à retrousser nos manches, à faire sonner la corne, à attraper les cordes et à redresser le navire vers un endroit plus sûr. Un appel à l’aide collectif, cette œuvre éthérée évoque un sentiment d’urgence et de découverte. Elle suscite la compassion et nous éveille à la nature résiliente inhérente à tous les êtres afin que nous puissions faire mieux dans notre monde actuel rempli de conflits.

Kedgy, selon le Dictionary of Newfoundland English, désigne quelqu’un qui se charge des petits travaux divers sur un bateau — faire sonner la corne de brume, remonter les lignes, etc. Nous trouvions l’image évocatrice puisque cette personne ne serait pas normalement considérée comme « sauveur de l’humanité ». Pourtant, elle fait ce qui est nécessaire pour sortir du brouillard, éviter le danger, attraper les cordes et guider l’embarcation à bon port, en toute sécurité.  

Heure et lieu de cet évènement sont à confirmés. Veuillez consulter le lien pour les mises à jour.
À noter que l’heure du spectacle est indiquée en heure avancée de l’Est (HAE). Veuillez svp assurer que vos paramètres de fuseaux horaires sont correctement configurés.  


Tandis que le secteur des arts du spectacle continue de faire face à des défis sans précédent en raison de la pandémie de COVID-19, le Centre national des Arts lance Envolées théâtrales, une initiative visant à réunir artistes et auditoires canadiens. Onze des compagnies de théâtre les plus novatrices du pays ont été recrutées pour concevoir et interpréter de nouvelles œuvres de grande envergure en réponse à cette période difficile, qui seront présentées à l’extérieur devant public, en direct, en différents endroits au Canada. Ces créations seront aussi filmées et diffusées en ligne. 

Ce spectacle sera photographié et filmé, et des extraits vidéo seront ultérieurement publiés en ligne. En y assistant, les membres de l’auditoire sont réputés consentir à ce que leur image soit filmée ou photographiée et utilisée dans le cadre des enregistrements et photographies du spectacle, qui peuvent être rendus publics. Tous les enregistrements vidéo et toutes les images du spectacle effectués par les organisateurs sont la propriété exclusive de ceux-ci. Les participants sont réputés renoncer à faire valoir tous droits relatifs à la personnalité, à la publicité, à la vie privée ou tout autre droit qu’ils sont susceptibles d’avoir en ce qui a trait aux enregistrements ou aux photos.

© Jill Wilcott

Artistes

  • Productrice artistique Calla Lachance
  • Conseillère pour le projet Lois Brown
  • Conseillers additionels Emily Deming Martin, Pam Hall, Jamie Skidmore, Sarah Joy Stoker, Anne Troake
  • Directrice chorale Kellie Walsh
  • Musique originale Andrew Staniland
  • Conceptrice des masques et coiffures Sara Tilley
  • Costumes Kelly Bruton
  • Directrices à la choréographie Andrya Duff, Louise Moyes, Andrea Tucker
  • Rédacteur du texte Santiago Guzmán
  • Gestionnaire de production Sharon King Campbell
  • Designer graphique Knoah Bender
  • Directeur technique Victor Tilley
  • Réalisateur Justin Simms
  • Soutien administratif et relations publiques pour NDW Branden On, Sarah Smellie
Menu