NAC is extending performance and event cancellations and postponements until August 31

Musically Speaking: Alexander Shelley and Governor General Julie Payette

12:30 pm
Facebook
This event has passed
Music Classical music Vocal Canadian

Livestream

Watch this event on Facebook!

Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette, Governor General of Canada, joins Musically Speaking!

Canada’s 29th Governor General, astronaut and accomplished musician, joins us to share her rich singing experience and how classical music – particularly from the Baroque era – holds a very special place in her heart.

Besides her 17 years of training as an astronaut and participating in space missions, choral singing has been a big part of her life and a great source of inspiration. Her Excellency has sung with the NAC Orchestra several times, including this season’s Verdi’s Requiem as well as Handel’s Messiah.

Governor General Payette is currently one of six sopranos in the Ottawa Bach Choir, and she’s earned a 2020 JUNO Award nomination with the choir.  Ottawa Bach Choir’s Dixit Dominus, Bach and Schütz: Motets has been nominated for Classical Album of the Year: Vocal or Choral.

Tune in Thursday, July 2 at 12:30 (EDT) for a live conversation with Her Excellency Julie Payette and NAC Orchestra Music Director, and Musically Speaking host, Alexander Shelley.

Artists

Menu

Le CNA prolonge les annulations et les reports d'événements jusqu'au 31 août

Parlons musique avec Alexander Shelley et gouverneure générale Julie Payette

12 h 30
Facebook
Cet événement est passé
Musique Musique classique Voix Artistes canadiens

Diffusion en direct

Regardez ce spectacle sur Facebook! (Presented in English only)

Son Excellence la très honorable Julie Payette, gouverneure générale du Canada, participera à Parlons musique!

La 29e gouverneure générale du Canada, astronaute et musicienne accomplie se joindra à nous pour partager sa riche expérience de chant et nous dire comment la musique classique  – surtout celle de l’époque baroque – occupe une place spéciale dans son cœur.

En plus d’avoir réussi 17 ans de formation comme astronaute et d’avoir participé à des missions dans l’espace, Son Excellence a toujours accordé une grande importance au chant choral, où elle puise son inspiration. Elle a chanté avec l’Orchestre du CNA à plusieurs reprises, dont cette saison dans le Requiem de Verdi, ainsi que le Messie de Haendel.

La gouverneure générale Payette est présentement l’une de six sopranos du Choeur Bach d’Ottawa, finaliste aux prix JUNO 2020. L’album Handel: Dixit Dominus; Bach & Schütz: Motets, du Choeur Bach d’Ottawa, est finaliste dans la catégorie Album classique de l’année: vocal ou choral.

Soyez des nôtres le jeudi 2 juillet à 12 h 30 (HAE) pour une conversation en direct avec Son Excellence Julie Payette et le directeur musical de l’Orchestre du CNA, Alexander Shelley, qui anime Parlons musique.

Artistes

Menu