Dr. Turnbull

“Homelessness and Social Accountability” Dr. Jeffrey Turnbull

Arts, Medicine and #Life Ottawa Speaker Series

Dr. Turnbull
Talks

An internationally recognized expert in the field of addiction medicine Dr. Turnbull is a renowned humanitarian; he recently won the first Canadian Arnold P. Gold Foundation award for humanity in practice.  He is a general internist with a deep commitment to those who suffer from addiction and homelessness.  His decision to leave his role as the Physician-in-Chief of the Ottawa Hospital to return to providing direct care to those suffering from housing instability made national headlines.  He has been a vocal advocate for such evidence-based treatments as safe injection sites, and other progressive ways of supporting those with addiction.
 

The interview with Dr. Turnbull will focus on the role of the physician as advocate, and the ways in which an emphasis on social accountability can help us craft lives that are both more meaningful and fulfilling.

Arts, Medicine and #Life is a series, hosted by internist, writer, musician and award-winning medical educator Dr. Jillian Horton, that features world-renowned doctors speaking about their area of interest and expertise on as far-ranging topics as mindfulness, work-life balance and social accountability. Join us for an intimate look at the deeply human and arts-related aspects of being a physician, where we will be offering hopeful personal narratives that can help us find a way forward.

Each event will feature interviews with Dr. Horton and the invited doctors followed by a Q& A session with the audience. Approximately one hour with no intermission.

Admission is free, no tickets required, available on a first-come first-served basis.

Bring your curiosity and an open mind!

Dr. Turnbull
Host Dr. Jillian Horton
Menu

Dr. Turnbull

“L’itinérance et la responsabilité sociale” Dr. Jeffrey Turnbull

Arts, Medicine and #Life Ottawa Speaker Series

Dr. Turnbull
Causeries

Expert de renommée internationale en matière de toxicomanie, Dr Turnbull est un médecin réputé en aide humanitaire; il a récemment remporté le tout premier Prix Or d’humanisme au Canada de la Fondation Arnold P. Gold pour l’humanisation des soins de santé. Il est spécialiste en médecine interne, avec un engagement prononcé à l’égard des clientèles les plus vulnérables. Sa décision de quitter son poste de médecin-chef de l’Hôpital d’Ottawa pour retourner offrir des services médicaux aux sans-abri a fait les manchettes nationales. Il est un ardent défenseur de traitements fondés sur des preuves, comme des lieux d’injection sûrs et d’autres moyens progressifs de venir en aide aux personnes avec des problèmes de dépendance.  

L’entretien avec le Dr Turnbull abordera le rôle du médecin comme défenseur d’intérêts, et les moyens par lesquels mettre l’accent sur la responsabilité sociale peut nous aider à construire des vies enrichissantes et pleines de sens.

Arts, Medicine and #Life est une série d’entretiens, animée par l’interniste, auteure, musicienne et éducatrice médicale primée Dre Jillian Horton, mettant en vedette des médecins de renommée internationale qui discutent de leurs champs d’intérêt et d’expertises, allant de la pleine conscience à l’équilibre entre le travail et la vie privée à la responsabilité sociale. Soyez des nôtres pour une exploration intime des aspects humains et artistiques liés à être médecin, où nous présenterons des récits personnels optimistes qui offriront des pistes de solution pour l’avenir.  

Chaque événement présentera des entrevues entre Dre Horton et les médecins invités, suivis d’une foire aux questions avec le public. La durée est d’environ une heure, sans entracte.  

L’entrée est gratuite, sans billet, sur une base du premier arrivé, premier servi.

Vous n’avez besoin que de votre curiosité et d’un esprit ouvert!

**Veuillez noter que les événements se dérouleront uniquement en anglais.**

Dr. Turnbull
Menu