“The Power of Mindfulness” Dr. Ron Epstein

Arts, Medicine and #Life Ottawa Speaker Series

Talks

Author of the landmark book “Attending”, Dr. Epstein coined the term “Mindful Practice” more than 20 years ago, and has been helping clinicians learn how to bring mindfulness into their clinical and personal lives to powerful effect.  The interview with Dr. Epstein will focus on some of the most difficult challenges facing today’s health care providers, with an emphasis on reconnecting to meaning and purpose and why this has never been more critical.

Ronald Epstein MD -- family physician, teacher, researcher and writer -- has devoted his career to understanding and improving patient-physician communication, quality of care, and clinician mindfulness. He has published groundbreaking research into communication in medical settings and developed innovative educational programs that promote mindfulness, communication and self-awareness. Dr. Epstein directs the Center for Communication and Disparities Research and co-directs the Deans Teaching Fellowship program and Mindful Practice Programs at the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry where he is Professor of Family Medicine, Psychiatry, Oncology and Medicine (Palliative Care). A graduate of Wesleyan University and Harvard Medical School, he is recipient of numerous lifetime achievement awards relating to communication and humanism, a Fulbright fellowship in Barcelona, fellowships at the University of Sydney and the Brocher Institute in Geneva, and, in 2018, the American Cancer Society’s highest award, the Clinical Research Professorship. He has published over 250 articles and book chapters.

Arts, Medicine and #Life is a series, hosted by internist, writer, musician and award-winning medical educator Dr. Jillian Horton, that features world-renowned doctors speaking about their area of interest and expertise on as far-ranging topics as mindfulness, work-life balance and social accountability. Join us for an intimate look at the deeply human and arts-related aspects of being a physician, where we will be offering hopeful personal narratives that can help us find a way forward.

Each event will feature interviews with Dr. Horton and the invited doctors followed by a Q& A session with the audience. Approximately one hour with no intermission.

Admission is free, no tickets required, available on a first-come first-served basis.

Bring your curiosity and an open mind!

Menu

Dr. Ron Epstein

“Le pouvoir de la pleine conscience” Dr. Ron Epstein

Arts, Medicine and #Life Ottawa Speaker Series

Dr. Ron Epstein
Causeries

Auteur de l’ouvrage magistral Attending, Dr Epstein a inventé le terme « Mindful Practice » (Pratique de pleine conscience) il y a plus de 20 ans, et il aide les cliniciens à intégrer la pleine conscience dans leur vie clinique et personnelle, avec des résultats étonnants. L’entretien avec le Dr Epstein sera axé sur certains des plus grands défis auxquels sont confrontés les fournisseurs de soins de santé à l’heure actuelle, en mettant l’accent sur pourquoi il n’a jamais été aussi important de retrouver un sens et un but à ses actions.

Dr Ronald Epstein – médecin de famille, professeur, chercheur et auteur – a consacré sa carrière à comprendre et améliorer la communication entre les patients et les médecins, la qualité des soins et la pleine conscience chez les cliniciens. Il a publié des travaux de recherche révolutionnaires sur la communication dans un contexte médical et a développé des programmes éducatifs innovateurs qui font la promotion de la pleine conscience, de la communication et de la conscience de soi. Dr Epstein dirige le Centre d’étude sur la communication et les inégalités et codirige les programmes de bourse d’enseignement du doyen et de pratique de pleine conscience à l’École de médecine et de dentisterie de l’Université de Rochester, où il est professeur de médecine familiale, de psychiatrie, d’oncologie et de médecine (soins palliatifs). Diplômé de l’Université Wesleyan et de l’École de médecine de Harvard, il a reçu de nombreux prix pour l’ensemble de sa carrière consacrée à la communication et à l’humanisme, une bourse Fulbright à Barcelone, des bourses à l’Université de Sydney et l’Institut Brocher de Genève, et, en 2018, il reçoit le plus grand honneur de la Société américaine du cancer, la Chaire de recherche clinique. Il a publié plus de 250 articles et chapitres de livre.

Arts, Medicine and #Life est une série d’entretiens, animée par l’interniste, auteure, musicienne et éducatrice médicale primée Dre Jillian Horton, mettant en vedette des médecins de renommée internationale qui discutent de leurs champs d’intérêt et d’expertises, allant de la pleine conscience à l’équilibre entre le travail et la vie privée à la responsabilité sociale. Soyez des nôtres pour une exploration intime des aspects humains et artistiques liés à être médecin, où nous présenterons des récits personnels optimistes qui offriront des pistes de solution pour l’avenir.  
 

Chaque événement présentera des entrevues entre Dre Horton et les médecins invités, suivis d’une foire aux questions avec le public. La durée est d’environ une heure, sans entracte.  

L’entrée est gratuite, sans billet, sur une base du premier arrivé, premier servi.

Vous n’avez besoin que de votre curiosité et d’un esprit ouvert!

**Veuillez noter que les événements se dérouleront uniquement en anglais.**

Dr. Ron Epstein
Dr. Jillian Horton, animatrice
Menu