Street closures around the NAC during the Santa Claus Parade

Story Building- Conversations on Indigenous Arts

Finding Wolastoq Voice

This event has passed
Indigenous arts Talks Festival events

Featuring Samaqani Cocahq (Natalie Sappier) (Creator, Finding Wolastoq Voice)

Moderated by Lindsay Lachance

Dive deeper into the work of exceptional Indigenous performers, creators and collaborators working on stage, behind the scenes and in communities. Join us and discover how artists come together to build incredible stories reflecting who they are and where they come from. Each Story Building session connects us with an artist involved in Indigenous Theatre’s 2019/2020 season. Whether you’re joining us for a performance or not, you’re welcome to gather and be transformed by the power of Indigenous arts!

This evening we are thrilled to be joined by Natalie Sappier, The Water Spirit (Wolastoqiyik) for this Story Building event. Sappier will be sharing with us some of her experiences working with youth, community members, and stories as key collaborators in her artistic process. Finding Wolastoq Voice is Sappier’s first play and is one that invites Indigenous youth to feel strong and proud about who they are. Tonight we focus on how we can be more accountable to the youth in our lives and create safe spaces for them to join artistic communities. 

Mòshkamo Story Building- Conversations on Indigenous Arts is part of the exciting all-Indigenous programming taking over the NAC’s performance and public spaces September 11-29, 2019. This premiere Indigenous Arts Festival, Mòshkamo, celebrates the inaugural season of NAC’s Indigenous Theatre and the resurgence of Indigenous Arts. Learn more at MoshkamoFestival.ca.

© Red Works Photography
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour d'octobre 2020.

Histoires en devenir – Discussions sur les arts autochtones

Finding Wolastoq Voice

Cet événement est passé
Arts autochtones Causeries Festival

Invitée : Samaqani Cocahq (Natalie Sappier, créatrice de Finding Wolastoq Voice)

Animatrice : Lindsay Lachance

Plongez dans le monde de créateurs, d’interprètes et de collaborateurs autochtones d’exception qui œuvrent sur la scène, en coulisse et dans les collectivités. Venez apprendre comment ces artistes se rassemblent pour donner vie à d’extraordinaires histoires qui reflètent à la fois leur identité et leur parcours. Chacune des causeries Histoires en devenir vous permettra de mieux connaître les artistes en vedette au cours de la saison 2019–2020 du Théâtre autochtone. Que vous assistiez au spectacle ou non, nous vous invitons à vous joindre à nous et à vous laisser transformer par le pouvoir des arts autochtones!

Nous nous réjouissons d’avoir cette fois pour invitée Samaqani Cocahq, ou Esprit de l’eau (Wolastoqiyik). Elle nous parlera de son processus de création, qui fait appel aux récits ancestraux et est le fruit d’une collaboration avec les jeunes et les membres de sa communauté. Premier spectacle de Sappier, Finding Wolastoq Voice exhorte les jeunes Autochtones à être fiers de leur héritage et de ce qu’ils sont. Nous aborderons la question de notre responsabilité par rapport aux jeunes qui nous entourent et la possibilité de leur offrir un espace sain et sécuritaire au sein de nos communautés artistiques.

Cet événement s’inscrit dans le cadre du Festival Mòshkamo, qui célèbre le réveil des arts autochtones et donne le coup d’envoi à la saison inaugurale du Théâtre autochtone du CNA : une captivante programmation tout autochtone se déroulera à la fois en salle et dans les espaces publics du Centre du 11 au 29 septembre 2019. Pour plus de renseignements, consultez le site Web festivalmoshkamo.ca.

© Red Works Photography
Menu