50% OFF subscriptions - 2 days only - Don't miss it! (Starting in:
)
© Red Works Photography

Story Building- Conversations on Indigenous Arts

The Unnatural and Accidental Women

This event has passed
© Red Works Photography
Indigenous arts Talks Festival events

Marie Clements (Playwright, The Unnatural and Accidental Women)

Moderated by Lindsay Lachance

Dive deeper into the work of exceptional Indigenous performers, creators and collaborators working on stage, behind the scenes and in communities. Join us and discover how artists come together to build incredible stories reflecting who they are and where they come from. Each Story Building session connects us with an artist involved in Indigenous Theatre’s 2019/2020 season. Whether you’re joining us for a performance or not, you’re welcome to gather and be transformed by the power of Indigenous arts!

Premiering in 2000 at the Firehall Arts Centre in Vancouver, Marie Clements’ (Dene-Metis) The Unnatural and Accidental Women ignites the flame of Indigenous Theatre’s inaugural season at the National Arts Centre. This Story Building conversation hosts playwright Marie for a celebration of Indigenous women in theatre. Clements exemplifies the ways in which Indigenous women are reclaiming herstories, experiences and cultural practices within theatre, and we are honoured to chat with her. We are thrilled to hear about her ongoing experiences working in theatre and how she see things changing for the future. 

Mòshkamo Story Building- Conversations on Indigenous Arts is part of the exciting all-Indigenous programming taking over the NAC’s performance and public spaces September 11-29, 2019. This premiere Indigenous Arts Festival, Mòshkamo, celebrates the inaugural season of NAC’s Indigenous Theatre and the resurgence of Indigenous Arts. Learn more at MoshkamoFestival.ca.

© Red Works Photography
Menu

© Red Works Photography

Histoires en devenir – Discussions sur les arts autochtones

The Unnatural and Accidental Women

Cet événement est passé
© Red Works Photography
Arts autochtones Causeries Festival

Invitée : Marie Clements (dramaturge, The Unnatural and Accidental Women)

Animatrice : Lindsay Lachance

Plongez dans le monde de créateurs, d’interprètes et de collaborateurs autochtones d’exception qui œuvrent sur la scène, en coulisse et dans les collectivités. Venez apprendre comment ces artistes se rassemblent pour donner vie à d’extraordinaires histoires qui reflètent à la fois leur identité et leur parcours. Chacune des causeries Histoires en devenir vous permettra de mieux connaître les artistes en vedette au cours de la saison 2019–2020 du Théâtre autochtone. Que vous assistiez au spectacle ou non, nous vous invitons à vous joindre à nous et à vous laisser transformer par le pouvoir des arts autochtones!

Un hommage aux femmes autochtones du monde du théâtre. C’est un honneur pour nous d’accueillir ici Marie Clements (Dénée et métisse), auteure de la pièce The Unnatural and Accidental Women, qui donne le coup d’envoi à la saison inaugurale du Théâtre autochtone du Centre national des Arts. Avec cette pièce créée en 2000 au Firehall Arts Centre de Vancouver, la dramaturge illustre bien la manière dont les femmes autochtones peuvent se réapproprier les histoires, les expériences et les pratiques culturelles de leur communauté à travers les arts du spectacle. Nous avons hâte de découvrir l’expérience personnelle de Clements, sa perspective unique sur le théâtre et sa vision de l’avenir de cette discipline.

Cet événement s’inscrit dans le cadre du Festival Mòshkamo, qui célèbre le réveil des arts autochtones et donne le coup d’envoi à la saison inaugurale du Théâtre autochtone du CNA : une captivante programmation tout autochtone se déroulera à la fois en salle et dans les espaces publics du Centre du 11 au 29 septembre 2019. Pour plus de renseignements, consultez le site Web festivalmoshkamo.ca.

© Red Works Photography
Menu