Street closures around the NAC during the Santa Claus Parade
This event has passed
Special Events Family programming Indigenous arts Music Theatre Dance Workshop Festival events

Come discover the rich and diverse culture of Indigenous artists.  Multiple workshops and activities for curious participants of all ages.  Dance, music, theatre and craft workshops available all afternoon.

This event is part of the exciting all-Indigenous programming taking over the NAC’s performance and public spaces September 11-29, 2019. This premiere Indigenous Arts Festival, Mòshkamo, celebrates the inaugural season of NAC’s Indigenous Theatre and the resurgence of Indigenous Arts. Learn more about Mòshkamo, presented by Facebook Canada, at MoshkamoFestival.ca.

#1

13:00 – 13:45

Pow wow workout

Class description:

Powwow Workout Class – A “Powwow” is a First Nations’ celebration of dance, songs and food. This 30-minute high-intensity workout will introduce traditional powwow dancing by incorporating moves from all styles of powwow dance with the sounds of traditional powwow music.

Amanda Fox Bio :

Amanda Fox is Ojibwe from the Unceded Territory of Wiikwemkoong, Ontario. Born and raised in Ottawa, Amanda has been able to spend most of her life engaging in her culture with songs, dance and artwork while living in “the big city.” Amanda began dancing at the age of 2 and now dances Old Style Jingle Dress. She has a profound knowledge of all styles of powwow dance and protocol. Amanda has been teaching powwow dance to women since she was a teenager and enjoys spreading awareness of Indigenous culture through her songs and artwork as well.  Performing her dance since she was a child, she has had the honour of dancing for Prime Minister Justin Trudeau and former Prime Ministers Stephen Harper and Jean Chretien, Mayor Jim Watson, the National Arts Centre, school graduations, videos, events, etc.

#2

14:00 – 14:45

Joy of Jigging with Jeanette Kotowich

Métis Inspired Movement and Social Dance

An introduction to Métis dance; participants will learn the basic steps & fancy steps of Métis jigging. With a focus on integrating the various rhythms into the body, we will explore the relationship between Métis dance and the fiddle music. Participants will learn a collection of social and square dances. Taking a lighthearted approach to sharing Métis inspired movement, participants should expect an upbeat, joyful approach to the sharing of Métis cultural traditions and contemporary Indigenous practices. All are welcome. All levels.

Jeanette Kotowich is Vancouver based professional dance artist and choreographer of Cree Métis and European decent. Honouring her mixed heritage, Jeanette is originally from Treaty 4 territory in Saskatchewan. As a source of inspiration and reference point in her work, Jeanette is passionate about investigating a blend of contemporary and Indigenous practices. She holds her Bachelor of Fine Arts from Simon Fraser University, BC. Jeanette has been stewarding Métis dance and cultural practices since 2009, mentored by Métis cultural keeper, Yvonne Chartrand (Vn'i Dansi). Jeanette has developed her own approach to performing and facilitating Métis dance, which is rooted in tradition and combines her skills as a contemporary artist with Indigenous worldview.

#3

15:00 – 15:45

Feel the Heartbeat

Feel the heartbeat is an interactive workshop where our guests will explore the connection that we as indigenous people have with the Earth. Experience the culture through story, song and dance as we deliver an authentic experience that will leave you "feeling the Heartbeat "

In this workshop guests will learn a brief overview on Haudensaunee culture , Learn social songs and engage in an interactive stomp dance.

#4

16:00 – 17:00

Artic Song performance

An ensemble of Inuit musicians presenting Inuit drum dance, throat songs and contemporary music.  The ensemble performs ancient Inuit music, once banned during colonization. The music is complet and metaphorical and features the Inuit drum traditions from across Canada’s Arctic.

In Atrium

#5

14:00 – 16:00

Interactive Inuit activities

Join Nunavut Sivuniksavut students in interactive Inuit activities. Get your name written in syllabics, learn how to throat sing, participate in string games and try on some traditional fur clothing.

#6

13:00 – 17:00

Basket making

#7

13:00 – 14:30 and 15:00 – 16:30

Picture frame decoration

Create a picture frame made of fabric, beads, and ribbons. The design will be yours to choose and you can take the frame home at the end of the session. Workshop taught by Stacey Mitchell, creator of the ribbon skirts seen in the play The Unnatural and Accidental Women.

#8

Southam Hall Lobby

Breaking Ground: Freda Diesing, Helen Kalvak, Janet Kigusiuq, Rita Letendre

First Nations, Inuit and Métis women have always been at the forefront at preserving and advancing Indigenous artistic expression. From their homes, communities and studios, and in galleries, museums and cultural centres, they create and shape the cultural memory and heritage of Turtle Island.

In conjunction with the Indigenous Theatre’s inaugural season at the National Arts Centre and its premiere Indigenous Arts festival, Mòshkamo Indigenous Arts Festival, Carleton University Art Gallery is honoured to present the work of four groundbreaking Indigenous women artists: Helen Kalvak (1901-1984), Freda Diesing (1925-2002), Janet Kigusiuq (1926-2005) and Rita Letendre (b. 1928). Focused solo exhibitions installed throughout the NAC will shine a spotlight on the extraordinary talent, inventiveness and dynamism of these artists, who have made remarkable contributions to the cultural landscape of this nation.

The exhibitions feature drawings and prints selected from the collection of Carleton University Art Gallery, in Ottawa. Danielle Printup is curating the exhibitions featuring Freda Diesing and Rita Letendre, while Krista Ulujuk Zawadski is curating the exhibitions featuring Janet Kigusiuq and Helen Kalvak.

Menu

50% de rabais sur les abonnements - 2 jours seulement - Ne manquez pas ça!

Fête de la culture - Jour de la famille Mòshkamo

Cet événement est passé
Événements spéciaux Famille Arts autochtones Musique Théâtre Danse Atelier Festival

Venez découvrir la culture riche et diversifiée des artistes autochtones. Plusieurs ateliers et activités pour les participants curieux de tous les âges. Atelier de danse, musique, théâtre et artisanat disponible tout l'après-midi.

Cet évenement s’inscrit dans le cadre du Festival Mòshkamo, qui célèbre le réveil des arts autochtones et donne le coup d’envoi à la saison inaugurale du Théâtre autochtone du CNA: une captivante programmation tout autochtone se déroulera à la fois en salle et dans les espaces publics du Centre du 11 au 29 septembre 2019. Moshkamo sera présenté grâce à la participation de Facebook Canada. Pour plus de renseignements sur Moshkamo, consultez le site Web festivalmoshkamo.ca.

#1

13:00 – 13:45

Pow wow workout

Description du cours :

Séance d’entraînement pow-wow – Un pow-wow est une célébration des Premières nations qui comprend de la danse, des chansons et de la nourriture. Cet atelier de 30 minutes à forte intensité présentera les danses traditionnelles en intégrant des mouvements de tous les styles de danse pow-wow avec des rythmes de musique traditionnelle de pow-wow.

Biographie d’Amanda Fox

Amanda Fox est une Ojibwé du territoire non cédé de Wiikwemkoong, Ontario. Née et élevée à Ottawa, Amanda a pu passer la majeure partie de sa vie à interagir avec sa culture à travers la musique, la danse et l’art, tout en habitant dans « la grande ville ». Amanda a commencé à danser à l’âge de 2 ans, et privilégie la danse de la robe à franges à l’ancienne. Elle a une vaste connaissance de tous les styles et protocoles de danse pow-wow. Amanda enseigne la danse pow-wow aux femmes depuis son adolescence et aime également partager sa culture autochtone à travers ses chansons et son art. Elle a eu l’honneur de danser pour le premier ministre Justin Trudeau, les anciens premiers ministres Stephen Harper et Jean Chrétien, le maire Jim Watson, le Centre national des Arts, ainsi que pour des collations des grades, des événements spéciaux, des tournages vidéo, etc.

#2

14:00 – 14:45

La joie de la gigue avec Jeanette Kotowich

Mouvement et danse sociale d’inspiration métisse

Initiation aux danses métisses. Les participants apprendront les pas de base ainsi que quelques mouvements plus complexes de la gigue métisse et s’initieront à diverses danses sociales et danses carrées. En s’attardant à l’intégration corporelle des différents rythmes, ils exploreront les liens entre danse métisse et airs de violon folkloriques, le tout dans un esprit de partage et de plaisir. Ainsi, dans une ambiance joyeuse et dynamique, les participants découvriront les mouvements d’inspiration métisse de même que les traditions culturelles métisses et les pratiques autochtones contemporaines. L’activité est ouverte à tous, quel que soit le niveau.

Établie à Vancouver, Jeanette Kotowich est une danseuse et chorégraphe professionnelle d’origine crie-métisse et européenne du territoire du Traité no 4, en Saskatchewan. Fière de son identité hybride, Jeanette puise avec ferveur son inspiration professionnelle dans l’exploration d’un mélange de pratiques contemporaines et autochtones. Elle est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en beaux-arts de l’Université Simon Fraser, en Colombie-Britannique. Mentorée par Yvonne Chartrand (Vn'i Dansi), gardienne de la culture métisse, Jeanette préserve le patrimoine des danses et pratiques culturelles métisses depuis 2009. Elle interprète et enseigne la danse métisse selon une approche bien à elle, ancrée dans la tradition et combinant ses aptitudes d’artiste contemporaine et une vision du monde autochtone.

#3

15:00 – 15:45

Le pouls de la Terre

Atelier interactif où les participants exploreront le lien qui unit les peuples autochtones à la Terre. Ils vivront une expérience authentique qui, grâce au récit, à la chanson et à la danse, leur fera sentir le « pouls de la Terre ».

Les participants auront un bref aperçu de la culture haudenosaunee et apprendront des chansons et une danse traditionnelles.

#4

16:00 – 17:00

Chants de l’Arctique

Danse du tambour, chants de gorge et musique contemporaine interprétés par un ensemble de musiciens inuits. Ceux-ci joueront aussi leur musique traditionnelle, interdite au temps de la colonisation. Holistique et métaphorique, la musique fait vibrer les tambours au son des traditions inuites de tout l’Arctique canadien.

Dans l’Atrium

#5

14:00 – 16:00

Activités inuites interactives

Prenez part à des activités inuites interactives en compagnie d’étudiants du Nunavut Sivuniksavut. Voyez votre nom en écriture syllabique, apprenez à faire des chants de gorge, jouez à des jeux de ficelles et essayez des vêtements de fourrure traditionnels.

#6

13:00 – 17:00

Fabrication de paniers

#7

13:00 – 14:30 et 15:00 – 16:30

Décoration de cadre

Créez un cadre de photo avec du tissu, des perles et des franges. Vous choisirez votre modèle et pourrez emporter votre cadre à la maison. L’atelier est animé par Stacey Mitchell, qui a créé les jupes à franges pour la pièce The Unnatural and Accidental Women.

#8

Foyer de la Salle Southam

À l’avant-garde : Freda Diesing, Helen Kalvak, Janet Kigusiuq, Rita Letendre

Les femmes métisses, inuites et des Premières Nations ont toujours été au premier plan de la préservation et de la perpétuation de l’expression artistique autochtone; chez elles, dans leurs communautés et leurs studios ainsi que dans les galeries, musées et centres culturels, elles créent et façonnent la mémoire et l’héritage culturels de l’île de la Tortue.

La Galerie d’art de l’Université Carleton est fière de présenter, conjointement avec le Théâtre autochtone du Centre national des Arts et le festival des arts autochtones Mòshkamo, une exposition d’œuvres de quatre femmes autochtones avant-gardistes : les artistes Helen Kalvak (1901–1984), Freda Diesing (1925–2002), Janet Kigusiuq (1926–2005) et Rita Letendre (née en 1928). Des expositions individuelles consacrées à chacune de ces artistes seront installées au CNA; elles mettront en lumière le talent extraordinaire, l’inventivité et le dynamisme de ces artistes qui ont contribué de manière remarquable au paysage culturel de la nation.

Ces expositions comprennent des estampes et des dessins tirés des collections de la Galerie d’art de l’Université Carleton, à Ottawa. Danielle Printup est la conservatrice des expositions sur Freda Diesing et Rita Letendre, tandis que Krista Ulujuk Zawadski est responsable de celles consacrées à Helen Kalvak et Janet Kigusiuq.

Menu