Land-based Calligraphy with Mairi Brascoupe

Mòshkamo Workshop

5:00 pm
Atelier Shenkman Smith
This event has passed
Indigenous arts Workshop Festival events

Learn how place and the land is reflected in ways of writing all over the world. Explore using different items from nature, inspired the Algonquin territory, to create beautiful letters and words. Leave with cards, posters, or just a new skill! Material provided.

A member of Kitigan Zibi First Nation, Mairi was born and raised in Ottawa. Having done her Bachelor of Design at Ryerson University in fashion and costume making; she was interested in applying her Indigenous culture to her design practice and continued to do this during her MA at Central Saint Martin’s in London, England. With the aim of decolonizing research approaches and the design process, she brings traditional knowledge into academic and design spaces. She continues to bring Indigenous artists and students into the arts at the National Arts Centre as their Indigenous Cultural Resident.

The Art of Storytelling exists in many different cultural practices. We are hosting multidisciplinary artists who offer a range of artistic processes that we know will inspire creative ideas and form new relationships.  Follow us on Facebook to find out more and join us during Mòshkamo: Indigenous Arts Rising.

This workshop is part of the exciting all-Indigenous programming taking over the NAC’s performance and public spaces September 11-29, 2019. This premiere Indigenous Arts Festival, Mòshkamo, celebrates the inaugural season of NAC’s Indigenous Theatre and the resurgence of Indigenous Arts. Learn more at MoshkamoFestival.ca.

Approximately 2 hours long

Menu

Calligraphie et territoire avec Mairi Brascoupé

Atelier Móshkamo

17 h 00
Atelier Shenkman Smith
Arts autochtones Atelier Festival

Venez découvrir comment l’espace et le territoire sont reflétés dans l’art d’écrire partout dans le monde. Formez de magnifiques lettres à partir de différents objets issus de la nature et inspirés du territoire algonquin. Vous repartirez avec des cartes, des affiches ou simplement un nouveau talent! Matériel fourni.

Membre de la Première Nation de Kitigan Zibi, Mairi Brascoupé est née et a grandi à Ottawa. Titulaire d’un baccalauréat en design (création de costumes et de vêtements), et d’une maîtrise de Central Saint Martins – University of the Arts London, elle incorpore des éléments de la culture autochtone dans ses créations. Elle cherche à décoloniser la recherche et le processus de création en intégrant les savoirs traditionnels au monde universitaire et à celui de la création. À titre de résidente culturelle autochtone, Mairi Brascoupé contribue à rassembler les artistes et étudiants autochtones au Centre national des Arts.

L’art du conte fait partie d’un grand nombre de pratiques culturelles. Nous avons invité des artistes pluridisciplinaires qui sauront, grâce à une variété de processus artistiques, inspirer votre créativité et cultiver les nouvelles rencontres. Suivez-nous sur Facebook pour tous les détails, et soyez des nôtres pour le festival Mòshkamo : Le réveil des arts autochtones.

Cet événement s’inscrit dans le cadre du Festival Mòshkamo, qui célèbre le réveil des arts autochtones et donne le coup d’envoi à la saison inaugurale du Théâtre autochtone du CNA : une captivante programmation tout autochtone se déroulera à la fois en salle et dans les espaces publics du Centre du 11 au 29 septembre 2019. Pour plus de renseignements, consultez le site Web festivalmoshkamo.ca.

Durée approximative de 2 heures

Menu