50% OFF subscriptions - 2 days only - Don't miss it! (Starting in:
)

Mòshkamo Indigenous Arts Festival Grand Entry

This event has passed
Special Events Indigenous arts Festival events

The official launch of Mòshkamo Indigenous Arts Festival takes place on Saturday, September 14th.* Journeying from Patterson Creek, traveling under the Corktown Bridge, paddling past the NAC and docking at the Sappers Bridge docks, an Algonquin-led flotilla that includes members of the local Indigenous Arts community and representatives from the NAC’s new Indigenous Theatre department will take up paddles to usher in a new era at the NAC.

As part of this year’s 50th anniversary, the NAC is set to celebrate another new beginning: Indigenous Theatre’s first season. The first event of the season, Mòshkamo, centres the host Algonquin Anishinabeg Nation with a multi-National canoe voyage to 1 Elgin. Sixty Indigenous folks from across unceded and unsurrendered Algonquin territory will depart en masse down the historical waterway, claiming space for the NAC’s first all-Indigenous festival.

The Grand Entry is part of the exciting all-Indigenous programming taking over the NAC’s performance and public spaces September 11-29, 2019. This premiere Indigenous Arts Festival, Mòshkamo, celebrates the inaugural season of NAC’s Indigenous Theatre and the resurgence of Indigenous Arts. Learn more about Mòshkamo, presented by Facebook Canada, at MoshkamoFestival.ca.

Wave to the procession from the canal pathways and bridges or be at the NAC to witness a ceremonial greeting from Algonquin Elders. Join in the grand processional of paddlers and Elders as we walk into the Canal Lobby for words of welcome. Following the ceremony, everyone is invited to the Canada Room for a community feast prepared in partnership between the NAC’s Executive Chef, Kenton Leier, and NAC Resident Chef Rich Francis of Six Nations and Seventh Fire Hospitality Group.

10:00 AM - View the canoe procession along the Rideau Canal. Canoes will travel from Patterson Creek to the National Arts Centre.

11:00 AM - Arrival of canoes and greeting by Algonquin Elders, followed by procession into the NAC.

11:30 AM - Welcome Ceremony in National Arts Centre Canal Foyer.

12:15 PM - Welcoming Feast at the National Arts Centre.

Attend online or in person.

* In the event of inclement weather, the canoe portion of the Grand Entry will be canceled.  

Approximately 3 hours long

Menu

Grande arrivée – Le Festival des arts autochtones Mòshkamo

Cet événement est passé
Événements spéciaux Arts autochtones Festival

Le lancement officiel du festival des arts autochtones Mòshkamo aura lieu le samedi 14 septembre.* Une flottille algonquine comprenant des membres de la communauté artistique autochtone locale, ainsi que des représentants du nouveau Département de théâtre autochtone du CNA, s’aventurera, pagaie à la main, à partir du ruisseau Patterson, sous le pont Corktown, au-delà du CNA et jusqu’au quai du pont des Sapeurs, afin d’inaugurer une ère nouvelle au CNA.

Dans le cadre de son 50e anniversaire, le CNA s’apprête à célébrer un autre nouveau départ : la première saison du Théâtre autochtone. Le premier événement de la saison, Mòshkamo, place la nation hôte algonquine anishinabe au cœur d’un voyage de canots regroupant plusieurs nations, à destination du 1 Elgin. Soixante Autochtones issus du territoire algonquin non cédé effectueront un départ en masse le long du cours d’eau historique, se réappropriant l’espace pour le tout premier festival entièrement autochtone du CNA.

La Grande arrivée s’inscrit dans le cadre du Festival Mòshkamo, qui célèbre le réveil des arts autochtones et donne le coup d’envoi à la saison inaugurale du Théâtre autochtone du CNA: une captivante programmation tout autochtone se déroulera à la fois en salle et dans les espaces publics du Centre du 11 au 29 septembre 2019. Moshkamo sera présenté grâce à la participation de Facebook Canada. Pour plus de renseignements sur Moshkamo, consultez le site Web festivalmoshkamo.ca.

Saluez la procession à partir des ponts et des sentiers du canal, ou rendez-vous au CNA pour assister à un accueil cérémoniel de la part des aînés algonquins. Joignez-vous à la grande procession de pagayeurs et d’aînés qui se rendront au Foyer du canal pour un mot de bienvenue. Suite à la cérémonie, tous sont invités à la Salle Canada pour un festin communautaire préparé conjointement par le chef exécutif du CNA, Kenton Leier, et le chef en résidence du CNA, Rich Francis, de Six Nations et Seventh Fire Hospitality Group.

10 h - Descente des canots sur le canal Rideau, du ruisseau Patterson au Centre national des Arts.

11 h - Arrivée des canots, accueillie par des aînés algonquins, suivie d'une procession jusqu'au CNA.

11 h 30 - Cérémonie d'accueil au Foyer du canal, Centre national des Arts.

12 h 15 - Festin d’accueil au Centre national des Arts.

Assistez en ligne ou en personne.

* En cas d’intempéries, la portion en canot de la Grande arrivée sera annulée.   

Durée approximative de 3 heures

Menu