A Force Majeure production in collaboration with Friday Creeations

Mura Buai

(Everyone, Everyone)

2019-09-25 18:30 2019-09-27 19:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Mura Buai

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/23176

**The September 27 noon performance of Mura Buai is canceled in order to accommodate those attending the Global Climate Strike. Thank you for your understanding.** Created by award-winning Torres Strait Islander artist Ghenoa Gela, Mura Buai is a thoughtful new work infused with a sense of the past that explores strength, tradition and identity. Produced by Australian dance theatre company Force Majeure and co-directed by Danielle Micich, Mura Buai features a contingent of Torres...

Read more

Glass Thorsteinson Staircase,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa
September 25 - 27, 2019
This event has passed
Indigenous arts Dance Festival events
  • ≈ 60 Minutes · No intermission

**The September 27 noon performance of Mura Buai is canceled in order to accommodate those attending the Global Climate Strike. Thank you for your understanding.**

Created by award-winning Torres Strait Islander artist Ghenoa Gela, Mura Buai is a thoughtful new work infused with a sense of the past that explores strength, tradition and identity. Produced by Australian dance theatre company Force Majeure and co-directed by Danielle Micich, Mura Buai features a contingent of Torres Strait Islander performers in collaboration with local Indigenous performers from Turtle Island, resulting in a captivating work that uses stories and movement inspired by traditional practices, contemporary dance and sport. 

From this playful choreographed-yet-improvised environment come relationships and meaning that shift and change depending on your perspective.

Enjoy this free event from one of Australia’s most promising choreographers!

Recommended for ages 8+.

Mura Buai is produced by Force Majeure in collaboration with Friday Creeations and Aanmitaagzi, and supported by the Australian Government through the Australia Council for the Arts, its arts funding and advisory body; and the NSW Government through Create NSW.

  • Co-Director, Performer Ghenoa Gela
  • Co-Director Danielle Micich
  • Performer Sid Bobb
  • Performer Josée Bourgeois
  • Performer Luke Currie-Richardson
  • Performer, Local Producer Christine Friday
  • Performer Taryn Laleen
  • Performer Berthalia Selina Reuben
Menu

Une production de Force Majeure en collaboration avec Friday Creeations

Mura Buai

(Everyone, Everyone)

Cet événement est passé
Arts autochtones Danse Festival

Présentation du CNA

**La représentation de Mura Buai prévue pour le 27 septembre à midi est annulée afin d’accommoder ceux et celles qui participent à la Journée mondiale de mobilisation pour le climat. Merci de votre compréhension.**

Créée par l’artiste primée du détroit de Torrès Ghenoa Gela, Mura Buai (Everyone, Everyone) est une œuvre actuelle réfléchie qui fait un clin d’œil au passé et explore le pouvoir, la tradition et l’identité. Produit par la compagnie de danse australienne Force Majeure et mis en scène par Danielle Micich, le spectacle met en vedette un groupe d’interprètes du détroit de Torrès, mais aussi des artistes de la scène autochtones locaux de l’île de la Tortue. Le résultat est une œuvre captivante faisant appel au récit et au mouvement, et qui s’inspire de pratiques traditionnelles, de la danse contemporaine et du sport.

Dans ce spectacle ludique où chorégraphie et improvisation s’entremêlent, tout – perspectives, relations, significations et plus – change constamment.

Voyez l’œuvre de l’une des chorégraphes les plus en vue de l’Australie dans le cadre de ce spectacle gratuit à ne pas manquer!

Recommandé pour pour les personnes âgés de 8 ans et plus.

Mura Buai est une production de Force Majeure en collaboration avec Friday Creeations et Aanmitaagzi, et avec l’appui du gouvernement de l’Australie par l’intermédiaire de l’Australia Council for the Arts, son organe consultatif et de financement des arts; et du gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Galles-du-Sud (NSW) par l’entremise de l’organisme Create NSW.

Durée approximative de 60 minutes sans entracte.

Artistes

  • Mise en scène, Interprète Ghenoa Gela
  • Mise en scène Danielle Micich
  • Interprète Sid Bobb
  • Interprète Josée Bourgeois
  • Interprète Luke Currie-Richardson
  • Interprète, productrice locale Christine Friday
  • Interprète Taryn Laleen
  • Interprète Berthalia Selina Reuben
Menu