S’effondrent les vidéoclubs

Québec

Playwright: André Gélineau © Yves Harnois
Francophone Theatre Lecture

Karl-Éric lives by himself, over the video club, not far from Tomcod Lake.

Tomcod Lake, in the municipality of St-François-Xavier-de-Brompton, is dying. The water is stagnant; decaying organic matter is building up. Soon it will be nothing but a boggy pond where Karl-Éric will watch six-legged frogs mating.

The St-François-Xavier de Brompton video club is also dying. Dust is accumulating on the livid corpses stretched out in front of the shelves. Soon it will be nothing but an empty commercial space with a soiled carpet that Karl-Éric secretly fantasizes about pissing on.

Karl-Éric knows how the movie ends, but he watches it anyway.

André Gélineau is the artistic director of Théâtre du Double Signe in Sherbrooke, Quebec, and the co-founder and artistic director of the now-defunct Turcs Gobeurs d’Opium theatre company. Among other works, he wrote and directed Ce qu’on enterre, Vulgus HTML and Raconter le feu aux forêts. André teaches theatre at the Collégial du Séminaire de Sherbrooke community college and designed the CAB_LAB program produced by the University of Sherbrooke Cultural Centre. S’effondrent les vidéoclubs marks his Zones Théâtrales debut.

Playwright: André Gélineau © Yves Harnois

Artists

  • Written by André Gélineau
  • Produced by Théâtre du Double signe
Menu

Auteur : André Gélineau © Yves Harnois

S’effondrent les vidéoclubs

Québec

Auteur : André Gélineau © Yves Harnois
Francophone Théâtre Lecture

Karl-Éric vit seul, en haut du vidéoclub, juste à côté du lac Tomcod.

Le lac Tomcod de la municipalité de St-François-Xavier de Brompton est destiné à mourir. Sans circulation, les éléments stagnent, s’accumulent. Bientôt, il n’y aura plus rien d’autre qu’un trou vaseux où Karl-Éric examinera des grenouilles à six pattes s’accoupler.

Le vidéoclub de St-François-Xavier de Brompton est aussi destiné à mourir. Les particules de poussière s’accumulent sur les corps livides devant les étagères. Bientôt, il n’y aura plus rien d’autre qu’un espace commercial vide avec un tapis souillé qu’examinera Karl-Éric avec le fantasme secret de pisser dessus.

Karl-Éric connait la fin du film mais il choisit de l’écouter quand même.

André Gélineau est directeur artistique du Théâtre du Double signe, à Sherbrooke (Québec). Cofondateur et directeur artistique du défunt théâtre Turcs Gobeurs d’Opium, il a notamment écrit et mis en scène Ce qu’on enterre, Vulgus HTML et Raconter le feu aux forêts. André enseigne le théâtre au Collégial du Séminaire de Sherbrooke et est concepteur pour les CAB_LAB, produits par le Centre culturel de l’Université de Sherbrooke. Avec S’effondrent les vidéoclubs il participera pour la première fois aux Zones Théâtrales.

Auteur : André Gélineau © Yves Harnois

Artistes

  • Texte André Gélineau
  • Production Théâtre du Double signe
Menu