Derek Nicholson Law Presents

The Legendary Downchild Blues Band – 50th Anniversary Party

Featuring Special Guests Dan Aykroyd, Tony D, Suzie Vinnick and More!

Music Blues

After 18 albums, countless awards and wowing sold-out audiences around the globe, THE LEGENDARY DOWNCHILD BLUES BAND are celebrating their 50th Anniversary this year with a brand-new show featuring hits like “Flip, Flop & Fly,” as well as fan favourites and hidden gems from throughout their illustrious career.

Downchild will be joined on stage for this very special performance by long-time friend and Hollywood Star, the one and only Mr. Dan Aykroyd, two time Juno Award winning guitarist Tony D (MonkeyJunk), 10X Maple Blues Award winning singer Suzie Vinnick, with more special guests to be announced!

Downchild came to international prominence as the inspiration for Aykroyd and the late John Belushi’s hit film, The Blues Brothers. In fact, two Downchild songs, “Shotgun Blues” and “(I Got Everything I Need) Almost” were even covered on The Blues Brothers’ 1978 multi-platinum album Briefcase Full of Blues.

The band is lead by founder, Donnie “Mr. Downchild” Walsh on guitar and harmonica, singer Chuck Jackson, who also plays harmonica, tenor sax man Pat Carey, Michael Fonfara (who was a member of the early American rock supergroup Rhinoceros and Lou Reed’s band) plays keyboards, Gary Kendall on bass and drummer Mike Fitzpatrick.

With their signature jump-blues style and infectious, soulful sound, Juno Award winners Downchild deliver a live performance that is second to none, and this special anniversary show is one - not to be missed!

video: Downchild
Downchild "Soulman" Live (Featuring Dan Aykroyd)
video: Downchild trailer
Downchild trailer
video: Downchild -
Downchild - "Come On In" (Live At Massey Hall)
Menu

Présenté par Derek Nicholson Law

Le légendaire Downchild Blues Band

Avec Dan Aykroyd, Tony D, Suzie Vinnick

Musique Blues

Après 18 albums, d’innombrables prix et des salles combles partout sur la planète, LE LÉGENDAIRE DOWNCHILD BLUES BAND célèbre son 50e anniversaire cette année avec un tout nouveau spectacle mettant en vedette des succès comme « Flip, Flop & Fly, » ainsi que des coups de cœur du public et des trésors méconnus tirés de leur vaste répertoire.

Plusieurs invités viendront retrouver Downchild sur scène pour ce spectacle très spécial : leur ami de longue date et vedette hollywoodienne, le seul et unique Dan Aykroyd, le guitariste lauréat de deux prix Juno Tony D (MonkeyJunk), la chanteuse lauréate de 10 prix Maple Blues Suzie Vinnick, et plusieurs autres qui seront dévoilés ultérieurement!

Downchild s’est d’abord fait remarquer sur la scène internationale en tant qu’inspiration pour le film à succès d’Aykroyd et du regretté John Belushi, The Blues Brothers. En fait, deux chansons de Downchild,  Shotgun Blues  et  (I Got Everything I Need) Almost  ont même été reprises par le duo sur leur album multi-platine Briefcase Full of Blues, paru en 1978.

Le groupe est composé du fondateur, Donnie « M. Downchild » Walsh, à la guitare et l’harmonica, du chanteur Chuck Jackson, qui joue également de l’harmonica, de Pat Carey au sax ténor, de Michael Fonfara (ancien membre du super-groupe rock américain Rhinoceros, ainsi que du groupe de Lou Reed) aux claviers, de Gary Kendall à la basse et de Mike Fitzpatrick à la batterie.

Avec son style « jump blues » caractéristique et ses sonorités infectieuses et évocatrices, le groupe Downchild, primé aux Junos, offre une prestation inégalée, et ce spectacle-anniversaire est un rendez-vous à ne pas manquer!  

video: Downchild
Downchild "Soulman" Live (Featuring Dan Aykroyd)
video: Downchild trailer
Downchild trailer
video: Downchild -
Downchild - "Come On In" (Live At Massey Hall)
Menu