MusicFest Canada

47th Annual MusicFest Canada: The Nationals

MusicFest Canada: The Finals © Fred Cattroll
Special Events Music

NAC Co-presentation

More than 8,000 of the country’s most outstanding young musicians from every corner of Canada are on their way to Ottawa for the 47th  annual MusicFest Canada, North America's largest festival dedicated to developing musical talent.  

The MusicFest Nationals will bring together more than 8,000 of Canada's finest young musicians aged 9-19 in 300 ensembles who will perform for national recognition.

The Nationals take place from May 13-18 at the National Arts Centre, the Bronson Centre, Knox Presbyterian Church, First Baptist Church, and the University of Ottawa. For more detailed schedule information, please visit musicfest.ca.

Students from the elementary to high school levels are invited to attend MusicFest Canada Nationals after securing top adjudications at the regional level in concert band, orchestra, choral, vocal jazz or instrumental jazz categories. This year, the NAC will host the concert band and orchestra performances during the national week-long music festival.

MusicFest Canada and its sponsors will be giving out up to $100,000 in scholarships and awards at the festival, including two NAC Awards at $1,000 each for the best brass and string musicians, and $1,000 from the Friends of the NAC Orchestra for the outstanding woodwind player of the festival.


FREE CONCERTS

The following adjudicated performances, featuring some of the best young musicians from every corner of Canada, are free and open to the general public:

Concert Bands, Orchestras: May 13-18 at the National Arts Centre Babs Asper Theatre

Instrumental Jazz, Jazz Combos: May 13-17 at the Bronson Centre (211 Bronson Avenue)

Choirs, Contemporary/Vocal Jazz: May 15-17 at Knox Presbyterian Church (120 Lisgar Street)  


MUSICFEST CANADA

The objectives of MusicFest Canada are:

  • To provide an opportunity for students and educators from across Canada and elsewhere to meet and to demonstrate and to share their musical achievements and creativity.
  • To evaluate and reflect on musical achievement and creativity in a constructive and educationally focused way.
  • To encourage the study and performance of music written and arranged by Canadian composers.
  • To complement and enhance the teaching, learning and growing process.
  • To foster and promote a lifelong interest in music as a basic human experience.

Staged in a major Canadian city each year, MusicFest Canada is the ultimate experience in combining music and education and is a moving force in the cultural life of Canada's youth. These young musicians perform in hundreds of ensembles and attend showcase concerts, clinics, feature cabarets and workshops for an intense, non-stop six days.


NAC NATIONAL YOUTH AND EDUCATION
The NAC is a proud partner of MusicFest Canada. The NAC holds youth and education as a key priority of the NAC’s strategic vision, and reaches out to young people across the country in order to help strengthen arts education, support young artists and build young audiences. Programs like MusicFest are made possible in part by the NAC’s National Youth and Education Trust. The NYET is supported by the supporters and patrons of the annual NAC Gala and the donors of the NAC Foundation’s Corporate Circle and Donors’ Circle.

MusicFest Canada: The Finals © Fred Cattroll
Menu

MusicFest Canada : Les finales © Fred Cattroll

MusicFest Canada

47e édition de MusicFest Canada : Les nationales

Cet événement est passé
MusicFest Canada : Les finales © Fred Cattroll
Événements spéciaux Musique

Coprésentation du CNA

Au-delà de 8000 jeunes musiciens parmi les plus talentueux, provenant de tous les coins du pays, déferlent à Ottawa pour la 47e édition de MusicFest Canada, le plus grand festival voué à l’épanouissement des talents musicaux en Amérique du Nord.  

Âgés entre 9 et 19 ans, le jeunes finalistes regroupés au sein de 300 ensembles se disputent les grands honneurs aux finales nationales de l’événement.

Les finales nationales se tiennent du 13 au 18 mai au Centre national des Arts, le Bronson Centre, l’église presbytérienne Knox, à la First Baptist Church, et l’Université d’Ottawa. Pour connaître le calendrier détaillé des activités, visitez le musicfest.ca

Sont invités à MusicFest Canada les ensembles de musiciens du primaire et du secondaire qui ont remporté les épreuves régionales dans leurs catégories respectives, à savoir les harmonies de concert, les orchestres, les chorales, les formations de jazz vocal et les ensembles de jazz instrumental. Cette année, le CNA accueillera les finales d’harmonies et d’orchestres, qui s’échelonnent sur une semaine.

MusicFest Canada et ses commanditaires remettront environ 100 000 $ en bourses et en prix durant l’événement. Le CNA décernera deux prix de 1 000 $ chacun au Meilleur jeune instrumentiste à cuivre et au Meilleur instrumentiste à cordes. Les Amis de l’Orchestre du CNA remettront 1 000 $ au Meilleur instrumentiste à vent.


CONCERTS GRATUITS

Les prestations suivantes devant jury, mettant à l’honneur certains des meilleurs jeunes musiciens du Canada, seront gratuites et ouvertes au public :

Harmonies et orchestres de concert : du 13 au 18 mai au Théâtre Babs Asper du Centre national des Arts

Petites et grandes formations de jazz : du 13 au 17 mai au Bronson Centre (211, avenue Bronson)

Ensembles choraux, contemporains/jazz : du 15 au 17 mai à l’église presbytérienne Knox (120, rue Lisgar)  


MUSICFEST CANADA

MusicFest Canada poursuit les objectifs suivants :

  • Fournir aux élèves et aux enseignants de partout au Canada et d’ailleurs une occasion de se rencontrer pour faire valoir leurs réalisations et leur créativité, dans un esprit de partage; 
  • Évaluer et commenter les accomplissements musicaux et la créativité des jeunes dans une approche constructive et pédagogique;
  • Favoriser l’étude et l’interprétation d’œuvres écrites ou arrangées par des compositeurs canadiens;
  • Compléter et enrichir la démarche d’enseignement, d’apprentissage et de perfectionnement;
  • Amener les jeunes à vivre la musique comme une expérience humaine fondamentale, aujourd’hui et tout au long de leur vie.  

Présenté chaque année dans une grande ville canadienne, ce grand événement est un point de rencontre par excellence entre musique et éducation, et un catalyseur de la vie culturelle de la jeunesse canadienne. Pendant six journées bien remplies, les participants, répartis dans des centaines d’ensembles, prennent part, tantôt comme interprètes, tantôt comme spectateurs, à une enfilade de concerts-démonstrations, de cliniques, de cabarets et d’ateliers.


LA JEUNESSE ET L’ÉDUCATION AU CNA

Le CNA, fier partenaire de MusicFest Canada, est ravi d’accueillir les finales nationales de l’événement. Il place « la jeunesse et l’éducation » au centre de ses priorités stratégiques et étend son rayonnement auprès des jeunes de tout le pays, afin de contribuer au développement de l’éducation artistique, de soutenir les jeunes artistes et de former les publics de demain. La Fiducie nationale pour la jeunesse et l’éducation est soutenue par les amis et spectateurs du Gala annuel du CNA, ainsi que les membres du Cercle des entreprises et du Cercle des donateurs de la Fondation du CNA.

MusicFest Canada : Les finales © Fred Cattroll
Menu