50% OFF subscriptions - 2 days only - Don't miss it! (Starting in:
)
© ILLUSTRATION : GERMAINE ARNAKTAUYOK. ARTISTIC TREATMENT : HEATHER CAMPBELL.
© ILLUSTRATION : GERMAINE ARNAKTAUYOK. ARTISTIC TREATMENT : HEATHER CAMPBELL.
Family programming Indigenous arts Music Theatre Circus Visual Arts
  • Production A collaboration between The 7 Fingers, Artcirq, and Taqqut Productions

World Premiere

Inuit founding myths are the inspiration for Unikkaaqtuat, a cross-cultural blending of circus arts, theatre, music, and video. The actors, musicians, and acrobats of Unikkaaqtuat perform in a world of shadows and video projections, transporting us to an ancient realm where life did not known death, days had not seen nights, and where Inuit had not encountered white people.

Created by a new generation of storytellers and performers from across Nunavut and Nunavik, Unikkaaqtuat highlights the talents of Inuit artists at a national and international scale, fostering a unique environment for cross-cultural collaboration, while honouring the Inuit, their traditions, and their vision for a future beyond this project.

Unikkaaqtuat brings together Inuit and non-Inuit artists, led by the musicians and circus artists of Artcirq of Igloolik and Taqqut Productions of Iqaluit, and joined by circus artists from The 7 Fingers of Montreal and a similarly diverse team of designers and technicians.

Video content is created by world-renowned Inuit artist and illustrator Germaine Arnaktauyok, and directed by Neil Christopher.


ᐊᕿᓱᖅᑕᐅᓯᒪᔪᖅ ᓄᑲᖅᑎᐅᔪᓄᑦ ᐅᓂᒃᑳᓕᐅᖅᑎᓄᑦ ᑕᐅᑐᕋᓐᓈᖅᑕᐅᓱᓄᑦ ᓄᓇᕗᒻᒥ ᓄᓇᕕᒻᒥᓗ, ᐅᓂᒃᑳᖅᑐᐊᑦ ᑕᐅᑐᕋᓐᓈᑎᑦᑎᓂᐅᕗᖅ ᖃᓄᑐᐃᓐᓇᖅ ᐱᓪᓚᕆᓐᖑᐊᖅᑐᓂᒃ, ᓂᔾᔭᐅᓯᔭᖅᑐᓂᒃ, ᑕᕐᕆᔭᓂᓪᓗ ᓄᐃᓴᖁᓪᓗᒋᑦ ᐃᓄᐃᑦ ᐃᓕᖅᑯᓯᑐᖃᖏᑦ ᑕᐅᑐᖑᐊᖅᑕᖓᓗ ᓯᕗᓂᕐᒥ.

Inuktitut translation

Performance is approximately 90 minutes with no intermission.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Jan 6
Jan 7
Jan 8
Jan 9
  • 7:30 PM
Jan 10
  • 7:30 PM
Jan 11
  • 2:00 PM
  • 7:30 PM
Jan 12
  • 2:00 PM
© ILLUSTRATION : GERMAINE ARNAKTAUYOK. ARTISTIC TREATMENT : HEATHER CAMPBELL.

Artists

  • Production A collaboration between The 7 Fingers, Artcirq, and Taqqut Productions
  • Developed with support from the National Arts Centre’s National Creation Fund.
  • Co-producers Canada Council for the Arts New Chapter, First Air, Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, Conseil des Arts de Montréal, Ilagiiktunut Fund - Qikiqtani Inuit Association, and Government of Nunavut’s Department of Economic Development and Transportation.
Menu

© ILLUSTRATION : GERMAINE ARNAKTAUYOK. GRAPHISME : HEATHER CAMPBELL.
© ILLUSTRATION : GERMAINE ARNAKTAUYOK. GRAPHISME : HEATHER CAMPBELL.
Famille Arts autochtones Musique Théâtre Cirque Arts visuels
  • Production Les 7 doigts de la main, Artcirq et Taqqut Productions

Les mythes fondateurs inuits sont l’inspiration derrière Unikkaaqtuat, une production multidisciplinaire qui combine les arts du cirque, le théâtre, la musique et la vidéo. Dans un univers de projections vidéo et d’ombres, les acteurs, musiciens et acrobates d’Unikkaaqtuat vont transporter le public dans un monde où la vie ne connaît pas la mort, où les jours ne connaissent pas la lumière, où les Inuits ne connaissent pas les hommes blancs.

Créé par une nouvelle génération de conteurs et d’interprètes du Nunavut et du Nunavik, Unikkaaqtuat met en lumière les talents des artistes inuits à l’échelle nationale et internationale, favorisant un environnement unique de collaboration interculturelle tout en rendant hommage aux Inuits, à leurs traditions et à leur vision de l’avenir.

Unikkaaqtuat rassemble des artistes inuits et non inuits, menés par les musiciens et artistes de cirque d’Artcirq d’Igloolik et de Taqqut Productions d’Iqaluit, à qui s’ajoutent les artistes de cirque de Les 7 Doigts de Montréal et une équipe toute aussi métissée de concepteurs et techniciens. 

Les projections d’Unikkaaqtuat sont créées d’après l’œuvre de l’artiste de renommée mondiale Germaine Arnaktauyok et mises en images par Neil Christopher.


ᐊᕿᓱᖅᑕᐅᓯᒪᔪᖅ ᓄᑲᖅᑎᐅᔪᓄᑦ ᐅᓂᒃᑳᓕᐅᖅᑎᓄᑦ ᑕᐅᑐᕋᓐᓈᖅᑕᐅᓱᓄᑦ ᓄᓇᕗᒻᒥ ᓄᓇᕕᒻᒥᓗ, ᐅᓂᒃᑳᖅᑐᐊᑦ ᑕᐅᑐᕋᓐᓈᑎᑦᑎᓂᐅᕗᖅ ᖃᓄᑐᐃᓐᓇᖅ ᐱᓪᓚᕆᓐᖑᐊᖅᑐᓂᒃ, ᓂᔾᔭᐅᓯᔭᖅᑐᓂᒃ, ᑕᕐᕆᔭᓂᓪᓗ ᓄᐃᓴᖁᓪᓗᒋᑦ ᐃᓄᐃᑦ ᐃᓕᖅᑯᓯᑐᖃᖏᑦ ᑕᐅᑐᖑᐊᖅᑕᖓᓗ ᓯᕗᓂᕐᒥ.

Traduction en inuktitut

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
jan 6
jan 7
jan 8
jan 9
  • 19 h 30
jan 10
  • 19 h 30
jan 11
  • 14 h 00
  • 19 h 30
jan 12
  • 14 h 00
© ILLUSTRATION : GERMAINE ARNAKTAUYOK. GRAPHISME : HEATHER CAMPBELL.

Artistes

  • Production Les 7 doigts de la main, Artcirq et Taqqut Productions
  • Développé avec le soutien du Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts.
  • Coproduction Conseil des arts du Canada et le programme Nouveau Chapitre, First Air, Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, Conseil des Arts de Montréal, Fonds Ilagiiktunut de l’association inuit Qikiqtani ; Gouvernement du Nunavut, Départment du développement économique et des transports.
Menu