This event has passed
  • Beethoven Symphony No. 7 in A major, Op. 92
  • Beethoven Symphony No. 8 in F major, Op. 93

Beethoven’s Symphony No. 7 exudes a cheerful exuberance of celestial proportion. Composed at the same time as the celebrated “Immortal Beloved” letters of 1812, the mysterious 10-page note was penned by the lovelorn composer over the course of two days. Found only after his death, its addressee remains unknown and hotly debated to this day.

Like the letters, this symphony exudes tremendous joy and happiness, tempered by a glimpse into brooding sadness and pain.  Experience the thrill of this “dance-like” symphony, and revel in the indomitable spirit and brilliance of Beethoven.

 When asked why the 8th was not as popular as the 7th, Beethoven is said to have responded, sardonically, “Because the 8th is so much better”. The 8th symphony  - almost experimental in nature -- impresses with its optimistic tone and playful nature, which contrast sharply with the hardships Beethoven faced at the time of its composition: worsening deafness and the fallout of the tortuous love affair that inspired the famous “Immortal Beloved” poem.  In spite of this, his ebullient 8th Symphony reveals not the darkness of this time, but the genius of a musician who can dream his own universe of music.

Learn more in the program notes ›

Duration

Performance is approximately 2 hours including intermission.


Menu

• Beethoven Symphonie no 7
  • Beethoven Symphonie no 8

Le caractère enjoué de la Symphonie no 7 atteint des proportions mystiques. Composée à l’époque de la rédaction des lettres « à l’immortelle bien-aimée » de 1812. Le mystérieux manuscrit de dix pages, qui ne fut retrouvé qu’après sa mort, fut rédigé par le compositeur amoureux sur une période de deux jours, et l’identité de sa destinataire suscite encore d’âpres débats de nos jours.

Comme les lettres, cette symphonie exhale une joie et un bonheur immenses, qui se teintent par moments de douleur et de tristesse. Vivez l’exaltation de cette symphonie, surnommée « l’apothéose de la danse », et savourez l’esprit indomptable et l’éclat incomparable de Beethoven.

À quelqu’un qui lui demandait pourquoi la Huitième n’était pas aussi populaire que la Septième, Beethoven aurait répondu, goguenard : « Parce que la Huitième est bien meilleure! » La Symphonie no 8 – quasi expérimentale par nature – impressionne par son ton optimiste et son caractère ludique, contrastant vivement avec les difficultés auxquelles le compositeur était confronté à l’époque : l’aggravation de sa surdité et les répercussions de la tortueuse liaison amoureuse qui lui inspira sa célèbre Lettre à l’immortelle bien-aimée. Son exubérante Huitième symphonie n’en exprime pas moins,  non la noirceur de cette période, mais le génie d’un musicien capable de rêver son propre univers.

Durée

Durée approximative de 2 heures avec entracte.

Menu