Hamlet_director’s cut

January 2019

  1. Jan 30 2019
    Wednesday

    8:00pm

  2. Jan 31 2019
    Thursday

    8:00pm

February 2019

  1. Feb 1 2019
    Friday

    8:00pm

  2. Feb 2 2019
    Saturday

    8:00pm

Close
© Julie Charland
“This ‘director’s cut’ version transports us to another time. But it also recalls the existential question [‘To be, or not to be’] that we like to conceal in the twists and turns of a sometimes destructive cyberspace.” Sylvie Bergeron, Huffington Post

Haunted by the characters in his tragedy, Hamlet, alone on stage, becomes the narrator of his own life story. Did his uncle murder his father and seduce his mother—or is he himself the guilty one? The grieving son wonders, questions, starts again, crippled by doubts, driven to distraction by his inability to take revenge. Diving deep into the mind of Shakespeare’s famous tragic hero, the creative duo of Marc Beaupré and François Blouin use live motion capture and video projections to propel him into an unrelenting melee with virtual opponents.Ghosts on the brain

A condensed, stripped down, radicalized Hamlet. A single actor, Marc Beaupré, playing several parts, several voices, and several variations of the same insurmountable existential drama. A Shakespearean tragedy revisited and remixed. A captivating experience.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun

28 Jan

29 Jan

30 Jan

  • 8:00 PM

31 Jan

  • 8:00 PM

1 Feb

  • 8:00 PM

2 Feb

  • 8:00 PM

3 Feb

Duration

Performance is approximately 55 minutes with no intermission.

© Julie Charland
© Francois Blouin
© Francois Blouin
© Francois Blouin
© Francois Blouin
© Francois Blouin
© Francois Blouin

Artists

  • Based on the play by William Shakespeare
  • Translated by Jean Marc Dalpé
  • Directed and adapted by Marc Beaupré and François Blouin
  • Cast Marc Beaupré
  • Set, lighting and visual design François Blouin
  • Creative programming and stage management Jonathan Jeanson and Hugo Laliberté
  • Sound design Nicolas Letarte
  • Dramaturgical and stage management consultant Nicolas Guillemette
  • Production assistant Xavier Inchauspé
  • Production Terre des Hommes
Menu

© Julie Charland
« Cette version “director’s cut” nous transporte dans un autre temps. Mais elle ramène aussi à l’ordre du jour cette question existentielle [“Être ou ne pas être”] que nous aimons dissimuler dans les dédales d’un cyberespace parfois assassin. » Sylvie Bergeron, Huffington Post

Des fantômes au creux du crâne

Hamlet en condensé, épuré et radicalisé. Un seul acteur, Marc Beaupré, qui engendre plusieurs corps, plusieurs voix, et plusieurs variantes d’un même drame existentiel insurmontable. Une tragédie shakespearienne revue et remixée. Un tour de force.

Hanté par les personnages de sa tragédie, Hamlet, seul en scène, devient le narrateur de sa propre vie. Son oncle a-t-il tué son père et séduit sa mère ? Serait-il lui-même coupable ? L’endeuillé cherche, questionne, recommence, taraudé par le doute, halluciné par sa vengeance immobile. Le tandem Marc Beaupré et François Blouin plonge dans la tête du célèbre personnage de Shakespeare et, par des captures de mouvement en direct et des projections, le propulse dans un inlassable corps-à-corps avec des personnages virtuels.

*** Spectacle en français uniquement, sans surtitres anglais ***

Apprenez-en plus dans les notes de programme ›
video:
© Julie Charland
© Francois Blouin
© Francois Blouin
© Francois Blouin
© Francois Blouin
© Francois Blouin
© Francois Blouin

Artistes

En savoir plus ›
  • D'après William Shakespeare
  • Traduction Jean Marc Dalpé
  • Mise en scène et adaptation Marc Beaupré et François Blouin
  • Avec Marc Beaupré
  • Scénographie, éclairage et conception visuelle François Blouin
  • Programmation créative et régie Jonathan Jeanson et Hugo Laliberté
  • Conception sonore Nicolas Letarte
  • Conseil à la dramaturgie et à la mise en scène Nicolas Guillemette
  • Soutien à la production Xavier Inchauspé
  • Production Terre des Hommes
Menu