By Invitation Only: Dance, Confederation and Reconciliation

Babs Asper Theatre Foyer 1 Elgin Street, Ottawa
Babs Asper Theatre Foyer 1 Elgin Street, Ottawa

By Invitation Only: Dance, Confederation and Reconciliation provides context for pre-Confederation dance in Canada in the 1860s for both colonial subjects and Indigenous peoples, illuminating how dance was situated in these two societies as either a social or a sacred activity.

Co-curated by Dance scholar and choreographer Troy Emery Twigg and Dance Collection Danse’s Director of Collections and Research Amy Bowring, the exhibit examines the histories left out of our general perceptions of Confederation. For example, women played an essential role in the networking that took place at the social balls during the 1864 conferences that ultimately led to Confederation. Similarly, Indigenous ceremonial dance was clearly seen as subversive enough by the new Canadian government that banning it was deemed necessary. Forced underground, Indigenous dance continued, but the ban remained in place until 1951.

A final component of the exhibit will summarize the place of theatrical dance in Canada and the vitality of Indigenous dance artists who have moved their dances from social and sacred settings to the stage.

 

By Invitation Only: Dance, Confederation, and Reconciliation is a project of Dance Collection Danse with support from the Canada Dance Festival and Canada Scene.

Credits

  • Dance scholar and choreographer Troy Emery Twigg
  • Director of Collections and Research, Dance Collection Danse Amy Bowring

Artist Links

Menu

Sur invitation seulement : Danse, Confédération et Réconciliation

Cet événement est passé

Sur invitation seulement : Danse, Confédération et Réconciliation met en contexte la danse pré-Confédération au Canada dans les années 1860 à la fois pour les sujets coloniaux et les peuples autochtones. L’exposition jette ainsi un éclairage sur la place de la danse dans ces deux sociétés en tant qu’activité sociale ou sacrée.

Coorganisée par l’érudit de la danse et chorégraphe Troy Emery Twigg et le directeur des collections et de la recherche de la Dance Collection Danse, Amy Bowring, l’exposition se penche sur les histoires oubliées dans notre conception générale de la Confédération. Par exemple, les femmes ont joué un rôle essentiel dans le réseautage qui avait lieu pendant les bals sociaux lors des conférences de 1864 ayant ultimement mené à la Confédération. De la même façon, les danses cérémoniales autochtones étaient clairement considérées subversives, au point où le nouveau gouvernement canadien a jugé nécessaire de les bannir. Entrées dans la clandestinité, les danses autochtones ont continué à exister, mais l’interdiction a été maintenue jusqu’en 1951.

Une composante finale de l’exposition résumera la place de la danse théâtrale au Canada et la vitalité des danseurs autochtones qui ont amené leur art des sphères sociales et sacrées jusque sur la scène.

|

Sur invitation seulement : Danse, Confédération et Réconciliation est un projet de Dance Collection Danse, avec le soutien du Festival Danse Canada et de la Scène Canada.


Artistes

  • Érudit de la danse et chorégraphe Troy Emery Twigg
  • Directeur des collections et de la recherche de la Dance Collection Danse Amy Bowring
Menu