Catherine MacLellan

[x] Close

Catherine MacLellan

Jule Malet-Veale

Catherine MacLellan

Rob Waymen

Catherine MacLellan

Oliver Tamagnini

Catherine MacLellan

Rob Waymen

After releasing her debut album in 2004, Catherine MacLellan earned immediate critical acclaim, winning awards and being labeled “Critics Favourite New Discovery” by Penguin Eggs magazine in 2008.

Since then she has toured internationally and her music has been a perennial fixture at the top of Canada’s Roots Music Charts, winning acclaim from international media including the Austin Chronicle, The Boston Globe, BBC Radio, Maverick Magazine and Q Magazine.

Her latest release, The Raven’s Sun, takes the listener further along Catherine’s journey in song, delving deeper into the territories of life, death and transformation. This album is another reminder that Catherine’s songwriting is unparalleled among performers of her generation.

“I was born to do this, and my father [the late Gene MacLellan] taught me the ways of a songwriter. I first used songwriting as a way to find out who I was. Now with every song I hope to find truth in inspiration and light in the dark.”
Catherine MacLellan
Menu

Catherine MacLellan

Catherine MacLellan © Jule Malet-Veale

Dès son premier album, paru en 2004, Catherine MacLellan s’est attiré des critiques très favorables, a remporté des prix et s’est vue considérée comme « la découverte favorite des critiques » par le magazine Penguin Eggs en 2008.

Depuis, elle chante au Canada et à l’étranger, sa musique se trouve régulièrement en tête des palmarès canadiens de musique roots, et la presse internationale parle d’elle. C’est le cas entre autres du Austin Chronicle, du Boston Globe, de la BBC Radio, du Maverick Magazine et du Q Magazine.

Son dernier album, intitulé The Raven’s Sun, emmène les auditeurs plus loin encore sur le chemin parcouru par la jeune artiste, dans des territoires plus secrets de la vie, de la mort et de la transformation. Il rappelle encore, comme si c’était nécessaire, que les chansons de Catherine n’ont pas d’égales parmi les auteurs-compositeurs de sa génération.

video: Frost in the Hollows
Frost in the Hollows
Catherine MacLellan © Jule Malet-Veale
Catherine MacLellan © Rob Waymen
Catherine MacLellan © Oliver Tamagnini
Catherine MacLellan © Rob Waymen
Menu