This event has passed
Catriona Sturton
“Hers is not a bombastic solo outing, but rather an emotional journey informed by her tender voice, bluesy guitar and raw, expressive harmonica.” Lynn Saxberg, Ottawa Citizen

$10 Student tickets available in advance for this show, with valid student card.

Sings like an angel, plays like a beast. Rock and roll lover of Heavenly and the heaviest blues. After learning to file harmonica reeds in a back alley, Catriona toured Canada as the bassist for Halifax teen-rockers, Plumtree (who inspired the cult-favourite book and movie, Scott Pilgrim, with their song of the same name).

She’s played with Italian harmonica wizards, a Hiroshima-based garage rock band, and has been a hired harp gun for Canadian folk and indie favourites before striking out on her own.

NEFE

Combined with the soulful power of Tracy Chapman, the uniqueness of Bruno Mars and a voice that can silence a room, Nefe is a burgeoning Canadian talent that is sure to take the industry by storm in the coming years.

Born Sarah Jea Felker, Nefe is a singer/songwriter hailing from the small Southwestern Ontario city of Guelph. Adopting her name from Queen Nefertiti, Nefe stands to lead and empower woman and men to accept their real beauty, not succumbing to the pressures of perfection defined by today’s media culture.

Though Nefe’s soft spoken appearance illudes many, she is loud on the inside, with a rich soul, expressing her voice through her music.

video: Calling From My Pants
Calling From My Pants
Catriona Sturton
Catriona Sturton
NEFE
Menu

Catriona Sturton & NEFE

Catriona Sturton

Billets étudiants en vente à 10 $ pour ce spectacle. Carte d'étudiants valide requise.

Elle chante comme un ange et joue comme une bête. Amatrice de rock et de blues aérien et pesant, Catriona s’est initiée à la musique en apprenant les rudiments de l’harmonica dans sa cour arrière, puis a fait une tournée canadienne comme bassiste de Plumtree, un groupe de rockeuses adolescentes d’Halifax dont la chanson « Scott Pilgrim » a mené à la création d’un livre et d’un film culte portant le même nom.

Avant de se lancer dans ses propres projets, Catriona a joué avec de grands harmonicistes italiens, a formé un groupe de rock amateur à Hiroshima et a travaillé à forfait comme harpiste pour des formations canadiennes populaires de folk et d’indie.

NEFE

Combinant la force d’âme de Tracy Chapman et la singularité de Bruno Mars avec une voix qui impose le silence, Nefe est une artiste canadienne au talent prometteur qui connaîtra assurément un succès foudroyant au cours des prochaines années.

Née Sarah Jea Felker, cette auteure-compositrice-interprète est originaire de Guelph, une petite ville du Sud-Ouest ontarien. Tirant son nom d’artiste de la reine Néfertiti, Nefe souhaite amener les femmes et les hommes à accepter leur véritable beauté et à ne pas succomber aux pressions de la perfection telle que définie par la culture médiatique d’aujourd’hui.

Sa douce éloquence peut en tromper plus d’un, car elle hurle intérieurement, avec une profondeur d’âme, faisant entendre sa voix par sa musique.

video: Calling From My Pants
Calling From My Pants
Catriona Sturton
Catriona Sturton
NEFE
Menu