This event has passed
© Jean-Philippe Tremblay
I remember how as teenagers, my friends and I wanted the same rights as adults; we craved the freedom that was being measured out to us in dribs and drabs. We wanted things to go fast: fall in love fast, change fast, grow up fast … Anne-Marie Ouellet

I CAN HEAR YOUR HEART BEATING IN MY EAR

An empty white space; bright light. We could be in a museum gallery, but the works on display here are teenagers and adults wearing headsets. Little by little they reveal themselves, through their tentative presence, through their disturbing or amusing statements. They talk about everything: themselves, their family, their future; they play Truth or Consequences, they exchange pieces of clothing. What’s real in all of this? The performance is different in every host city, depending on the local young people cast in the show. A meaningful and vibrant portrait of life captured in the moment.

Stay tuned for the casting call!

Impatience has played in Montreal, Mons (Belgium), and now Ottawa-Gatineau.

| |

Young at Heart

Interview with Anne-Marie Ouellet

Why impatience? What does the title refer to? What does that word mean to you?

I remember how as teenagers, my friends and I wanted to have the same rights as adults. We were desperate to gain our independence, which was being measured out to us in dribs and drabs. We wanted everything to go faster: fall in love fast, change fast, grow up fast … To me, it’s about a strong life force, not always well channeled but extremely powerful. As a teenager, you want to live life to the full but you don’t always know how.

Read more on PDF below

|

EXTEND YOUR EVENING WITH DE PLAIN-PIED! (Free event)

Meet at 9 pm in the Azrieli Studio Foyer and follow the guide to various locations in the NAC on a walking tour on the theme of night and its possibilities. Open to all, this itinerary designed by five imaginative teenagers will immerse you in a nocturnal exploration, whatever your concept of the night: introspective, utopian, possessive, hazardous, festive, magic ... maybe all of the above? Welcome to De plain-pied 2018!

The members of the Creation Unit who designed this unique evening are: Maxime Cerat, Charlotte Demers, Fauve Desrochers, Frédéric Hamlet-Gagnon and Florence Simard.

Duration

Performance is approximately 60 minutes with no intermission.

video: Impatience
Impatience
© Jean-Philippe Tremblay
© Jean-Philippe Tremblay
© Julie Charland
© Jean-Philippe Tremblay

Artists

Menu

Cet événement est passé
© Jean-Philippe Tremblay
Je me souviens qu’avec mes amis, adolescents, nous voulions avoir les mêmes droits que les adultes, nous cherchions à acquérir une indépendance qu’on nous accordait au compte-goutte. Nous voulions que ça aille vite : s’aimer vite, changer vite, vieillir vite… Anne-Marie Ouellet

J'ENTENDS TON COEUR BATTRE DANS MON OREILLE

Espace blanc, lumière crue. On se croirait au musée, mais les œuvres à observer ici sont des adolescents et des adultes coiffés d’un casque d’écoute. Peu à peu ils se révèlent par leur présence fragile, par leurs témoignages déroutants ou rigolos. Tous les sujets y passent : identité, famille, futur, ils jouent à Vérité ou conséquence, s’échangent leurs vêtements. Qu’est-ce qui est vrai dans tout ça ? Le spectacle change selon les villes visitées, selon les jeunes qui se prêtent au jeu. Un portrait sonore et vivant d’une humanité qui bat. 

Il y a eu Montréal, Mons, et maintenant Ottawa-Gatineau.

| |

Cœur d'ado

|

Entretien avec Anne-Marie Ouellet

Pourquoi l'impatience ? À quoi le titre fait-il référence ? Qu'est-ce que ça évoque pour toi ?

Je me souviens qu’avec mes amis, adolescents, nous voulions avoir les mêmes droits que les adultes, nous cherchions à acquérir une indépendance qu’on nous accordait au compte-gouttes. Nous voulions que ça aille vite : s’aimer vite, changer vite, vieillir vite... Ça dénote surtout une forte pulsion de vie, pas toujours bien canalisée, mais extrêmement puissante. À l’adolescence, on veut vivre à fond, mais on ne se sait pas toujours comment.

Consultez la suite de cet entretien ci-dessous. 

|

PROLONGEZ LA SOIRÉE AVEC De plain-pied - 14 ans et + ! (Événement gratuit)
Rendez-vous à 21 h dans le Foyer du Studio Azrieli et laissez-vous guider dans divers lieux du CNA à l’occasion d’un déambulatoire sur le thème de la nuit et de ses possibles. Ouvert à tous, ce parcours conçu par cinq ados imaginatifs vous plongera dans l’exploration nocturne, quelle que soit votre conception de la nuit : introspective, utopique, revendicatrice, hasardeuse, festive, magique… peut être toutes à la fois ? Bienvenue à De plain-pied 2018 !
Les membres de la Cellule de création qui ont conçu cette soirée unique sont : Maxime Cerat, Fauve Desrochers, Charlotte Demers, Frédéric Hamlet-Gagnon et Florence Simard.

Durée

Durée approximative de 60 minutes sans entracte.

video: Impatience
Impatience
© Jean-Philippe Tremblay
© Jean-Philippe Tremblay
© Julie Charland
© Jean-Philippe Tremblay

Artistes

  • Conception Anne-Marie Ouellet
  • Conception Thomas Sinou
  • Avec Jazia Djoudad, Zachary Larocque, Soukaina Lkahya, Philippe Racine et Sara Simard
  • Scénographie Romain Fabre
  • Lumière Nancy Bussière
  • Assistance à la conception lumière Cédric Delorme-Bouchard
  • Production L’eau du bain
  • Collaboration Usine C
Menu