This event has passed
Molly Johnson and Zhenya Cerneacov in Sylvie Bouchard's La gigue en souvenir. © Photo: John Lauener
Sylvie Bouchard’s La gigue en souvenir, animated by the lively Quebecois folk songs of traditional a cappella group Les Charbonniers de l’enfer, is so infectiously spirited that two girls in the crowd on Tuesday couldn’t resist dancing along. Michael Crabb, National Post

As part of Canada Scene’s daily offerings for family audiences, La gigue en souvenir brings the past to life in an enchanting journey through Quebec traditional dance.

Before the show begins, get into the spirit with a square dance workshop – no experience required! All you need are comfy clothes and shoes, and there’s no need to register. Anyone of any age can join in.

Afterwards, three pairs of Canada’ best contemporary dancers will round out the hour, performing to the exhilarating music of a cappella folk group Les Charbonniers de l'enfer and reinventing the folk tradition of the gigue in contemporary style. The dance becomes a bridge between past and present and an ode to the expressive heritage of the tradition.

Founded by artistic director Sylvie Bouchard in 2009, BoucharDanse combines the poetry of contemporary dance with the narrative element of theatre. With a strong background in character-driven work, Bouchard creates projects that speak passionately and poetically by layering stories and evocative imagery.

This show is part of Canada Scene’s free Family Scene series. Running every morning at 11:00 from July 2 to 23, the series showcases theatre, dance, and music for kids of all ages in the NAC’s new Atrium.

Duration

Performance is approximately 1 hour with no intermission.

Molly Johnson and Zhenya Cerneacov in Sylvie Bouchard's La gigue en souvenir. © Photo: John Lauener
Molly Johnson and Zhenya Cerneacov in Sylvie Bouchard's La gigue en souvenir. © Photo: John Lauener

Artists

  • Choreography Sylvie Bouchard
  • Music Les Charbonniers de l’enfer
  • Square dance workshop Hannah Shira Naiman
  • Performers Zhenya Cerneacov
    Molly Johnson
    Meredith Thompson
    Sebastian Hirtenstein
    Brendan Wyatt
    Kathleen Legassick
Menu

La gigue en souvenir

BoucharDanse

Cet événement est passé
Molly Johnson et Zhenya Cerneacov dans La gigue en souvenir de Sylvie Bouchard. © Photo: John Lauener

Dans le cadre des prestations quotidiennes pour les familles, La gigue en souvenir ressuscite le passé à travers un voyage enchanteur au cœur de la danse traditionnelle du Québec.

Avant le début du spectacle, mettez-vous dans l’ambiance grâce à un atelier de danse carrée. Aucune expérience requise — seulement des souliers et des vêtements confortables ! Et vous n’avez pas à vous inscrire, tout le monde est bienvenu, tous âges confondus.

Trois couples parmi les meilleurs danseurs contemporains du Canada complèteront l’heure en dansant sur les airs enlevants du groupe folk a cappella Les Charbonniers de l'enfer et en offrant une gigue réinventée, plus contemporaine. La danse devient ainsi un pont entre le passé et le présent et une ode à cet héritage expressif.

Fondée en 2009 par la directrice artistique Sylvie Bouchard, la compagnie BoucharDanse conjugue la poésie de la danse contemporaine et la narrativité du théâtre. Experte en travail axé sur les personnages, Bouchard crée des projets éloquents et poétiques en superposant récits et images évocatrices.

Ce spectacle s’inscrit dans la série Scène famille de la Scène Canada. Présentée tous les matins à 11 h, du 2 au 23 juillet, la série propose du théâtre, de la danse et de la musique pour les enfants de tous âges dans l’Atrium du CNA.

Durée

Durée approximative de 1 heure sans entracte.

Molly Johnson et Zhenya Cerneacov dans La gigue en souvenir de Sylvie Bouchard. © Photo: John Lauener
Molly Johnson et Zhenya Cerneacov dans La gigue en souvenir de Sylvie Bouchard. © Photo: John Lauener

Artistes

  • Chorégraphie Sylvie Bouchard
  • Musique Les Charbonniers de l’enfer
  • Atelier de danse carrée Hannah Shira Naiman
  • Interprètes Zhenya Cerneacov
    Molly Johnson
    Sebastian Hirtenstein
    Meredith Thompson
    Sebastian Hirtenstein
    Brendan Wyatt
    Kathleen Legassick
Menu