Street closures around the NAC during the Santa Claus Parade

Gabriel Dharmoo

Imaginary Anthropologies

[x] Close

Photo: Jamie Williams (Sydney Festival Facebook)

Photo: Jamie Williams (Sydney Festival Facebook)

Gabriel Dharmoo's musical practice defies pigeon-holing – and sometimes description – encompassing so much more than composition, performance, and vocal improvisation. His Imaginary Anthropologies is unpredictable, challenging, and fun, floating in the fine space between satire and seriousness, between tradition and novelty, between cleverness and folly.

In this solo vocal performance, Gabriel weaves his way in and out of characters, shape-shifting from one to another, drawing his audience into the fray. A video mockumentary runs concurrently, featuring “experts” who comment on the ancient vocal traditions Gabriel demonstrates, along with imaginary folklore – all brilliantly highlighting the amazing possibilities of the human voice. It’s a truly memorable musical experience that invites you to forget what you know and be a part of something singular.

Gabriel has won multiple awards for his compositions and performances, including the Jan V. Matejcek SOCAN Award 2016, awarded to a composer of new classical music; The Contra Guys Award for New Performance Text at SummerWorks Performance Festival 2016; and Best International Production at the 2015 Amsterdam Fringe Festival. 

A mischievous, funny and boldly original work.

Sydney [Australia] Festival
Menu

Gabriel Dharmoo

Anthropologies Imaginaires

[x] Fermer

Photo: Jamie Williams (Facebook : Festival de Sydney)

Photo: Jamie Williams (Facebook : Festival de Sydney)

Les pratiques musicales de Gabriel Dharmoo, parfois même la façon dont elles sont décrites, sont ineffables, car elles ne se limitent pas qu’à la composition, l’interprétation et l’improvisation vocale. Ses Anthropologies imaginaires, imprévisibles, stimulantes et agréables, sont en équilibre sur la fine ligne entre la satire et la gravité, la tradition et l’innovation, l’ingéniosité et la folie.

Dans ce spectacle vocal a capella, Gabriel passe furtivement d’un personnage à un autre, enchaîne les métamorphoses et entraîne son public dans la mêlée. Pour mettre en évidence les possibilités inouïes de la voix humaine, les folklores imaginaires de Gabriel sont accompagnées d'un faux documentaire dans lequel des « spécialistes » se prononcent sur ces anciennes traditions vocales. Il s’agit réellement d’une soirée musicale inoubliable qui incite à faire abstraction de toute connaissance acquise et à se livrer à une expérience unique en son genre.

Les compositions et prestations de Gabriel lui ont valu plusieurs distinctions, y compris le Prix Jan V. Matejcek de la SOCAN de 2016, remis à un compositeur de nouvelle musique classique, le Contra Guys Award for New Performance Text du SummerWorks Performance Festival en 2016 et le prix de la meilleure production internationale du Amsterdam Fringe Festival de 2015. 

« Une œuvre espiègle, amusante et hardiment originale. »

Festival de Sydney [Australie]
Menu