© Koen Broos
“On the sparse set (a dilapidated window wall stage right, shabby ’70s furniture and a big white abstract painting upstage), things are happening, people are rushing back and forth. You’d almost think they were improvising, these vivacious actors—whose strong accent adds another layer of strangeness—are so natural and spontaneous.” Mathieu Perez, Le Canard enchaîné

Exclusive Canadian Engagement


Cerisaie full of charm, zest and youth, created and confidently performed by the effervescent Belgian company tg STAN. A Cerisaie peppered with jokes and asides that speaks to each of us, here and now, and moves right along!

Far from presenting a nostalgic recreation of Russia in 1904, the theatre collective tg STAN restores a refreshing vitality and acerbity to Chekhov’s iconic tale. Though the central themes—the decline of the aristocracy and the rise of a new entrepreneurial class—are the same, the Belgian troupe brings an innovative and engaging approach to the Russian playwright’s final work: the sparse, multifunctional set, modern-day costumes, authentic performances, and ferocious humour are overlaid with a keen sense of tragedy.

video: La cerisaie (Teaser)
La cerisaie (Teaser)
© Koen Broos
© Koen Broos
© Julie Charland
© Johan Jacobs
© Koen Broos
© Koen Broos
© Koen Broos
© Johan Jacobs


  • Written by Anton Tchekhov
  • Directed by tg STAN
  • With Evgenia Brendes, Robby Cleiren, Jolente De Keersmaeker, Lukas De Wolf, Tessa Friedrich, Bert Haelvoet, Camille Rutherford, Scarlet Tummers, Stijn Van Opstal and Frank Vercruyssen
  • Set design tg STAN with la complicité de Damiaan De Schrijver
  • Lighting Thomas Walgrave
  • Costumes An d’Huys
  • Technical Tom Van Aken, Lucas Van Haesbroeck and Tim Wouters
  • Production tg STAN (Anvers)
  • Coproduction Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Festival d’Automne (Paris), La Colline (Paris), TnBA (Bordeaux), Le Bateau Feu (Dunkirk), Théâtre Garonne (Toulouse) and Théâtre de Nîmes. Co-produced bu=y NXTSTP, with the support of the Culture Program of the European Union.

© Koen Broos
« Sur le plateau au décor dépouillé (verrières anciennes côte jardin, mobilier dépareillé des années 70 et grande peinture abstraite blanche au fond), ça grouille de vie, ça va, ça vient. C’est à croire qu’ils improvisent, tant ces comédiens pétillants, dont le fort accent ajoute encore de l’étrangeté, sont naturels et spontanés. » Mathieu Perez, Le Canard enchaîné

Exclusivité canadienne

Une Cerisaie pleine de charme, de vivacité et de jeunesse, conçue et portée en toute liberté par la pétillante bande flamande tg STAN. Une Cerisaie ponctuée de blagues et d’apartés, qui parle de chacun d’entre nous, au présent, et qui déménage !

Loin des reconstitutions nostalgiques de la Russie de 1904, le collectif tg STAN redonne à la mythique Cerisaie de Tchekhov une vitalité et une acidité rafraîchissantes. Si le crépuscule d’un monde aristocratique et l’avènement d’une classe de nouveaux entrepreneurs sont ici toujours perceptibles, la troupe d’Anvers applique au dernier texte du dramaturge russe une approche aussi explosive que séduisante : décors composites, costumes d’aujourd’hui, interprétation sans artifice, humour féroce jouent main dans la main avec un sens aigu de la tragédie.

video: La cerisaie (Teaser)
La cerisaie (Teaser)
© Koen Broos
© Koen Broos
© Julie Charland
© Johan Jacobs
© Koen Broos
© Koen Broos
© Koen Broos
© Johan Jacobs

Artistes

  • Texte Anton Tchekhov
  • Mise en scène tg STAN
  • Avec Evgenia Brendes, Robby Cleiren, Jolente De Keersmaeker, Lukas De Wolf, Tessa Friedrich, Bert Haelvoet, Minke Kruyver, Scarlet Tummers, Stijn Van Opstal et Frank Vercruyssen
  • Avec tg STAN avec la complicité de Damiaan De Schrijver
  • Lumière Thomas Walgrave
  • Costumes An d’Huys
  • Technique Tom Van Aken, Chris Vanneste et Tim Wouters
  • Production tg STAN (Anvers)
  • Coproduction Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Festival d’Automne à Paris, La Colline – théâtre national (Paris), TnBA – Théâtre national de Bordeaux en Aquitaine, Le Bateau Feu – Scène nationale de Dunkerque, Théâtre Garonne (Toulouse) et Théâtre de Nîmes – Scène conventionnée
  • Coproduit NXTSTP, avec le soutien du Programme Culture de l’Union Européenne
Menu