Ottawa Jazz Orchestra Presents: From Rio to Paris

NAC Back Stage

NAC Back Stage

Join vocalist Diane Nalini and an eight-piece group from the Ottawa Jazz Orchestra as they perform joyful and intimate songs from Brazil and France, alongside some new original material composed and arranged by Diane. Don’t miss this stellar lineup with vocalist Diane Nalini, saxophonist Sandy Gordon, violinist Laura Nerenberg, violist Kathryn Cobbler, cellist Dan Parker, pianist Peter Hum, guitarist Magnus Paulson, bassist Adrian Cho and percussionist Alvaro de Minaya.

Celebrated vocalist Diane Nalini composes and sings in four languages. She has recorded four albums, sung at jazz festivals around the globe, and given gala performances for President Bill Clinton and Sir Paul McCartney. She was nominated for the Grand Prix de Jazz General Motors at the 2002 Montreal International Jazz Festival, and was one of two finalists for the UK’s Young Jazz Vocalist of the Year awards for 2001. Diane’s original songs have also been featured in television, independent films, as well as the Hollywood movie “Charlotte Grey” starring Cate Blanchett, which featured her song “L’amour d’autrefois”, co-written with UK arranger/composer Dick Walter.

The Ottawa Jazz Orchestra (OJO), based in Ottawa and founded in 2006, brings together many of Canada’s finest professional jazz and symphony orchestra musicians under the direction of bassist Adrian Cho. This unique ensemble has garnered kudos from both critics and audiences for its highly entertaining, innovative and educational presentations of seminal jazz-centric music performed by a wide range of ensembles including small chamber jazz groups, repertory orchestras, neophonic orchestras and a full symphonic jazz orchestra. The OJO’s broad repertoire of music includes original compositions; the gamut of jazz and pre-jazz repertory from as far back as 1850; and jazz-influenced neoclassical works. In addition to a full season of concerts at the National Arts Centre, the orchestra frequently performs at the invitation of event organisers including the National Capital Commission, the City of Ottawa and various festivals.

Purchase tickets for all four season concerts for $100 (regular price $120).
Purchase tickets for any three season concerts for $80 (regular price $90).
Offer available in person at the NAC Box Office or by phone at 613 947-7000 x620.

Menu

Cet événement est passé
Musique Jazz

La chanteuse Diane Nalini et sept musiciens de l’Orchestre de jazz d’Ottawa interpréteront des chansons à la fois joyeuses et intimistes du Brésil et de France, de même que des pièces originales composées et arrangées par Diane Nalini. Ne manquez pas ces magnifiques interprètes que sont la chanteuse Diane Nalini, le saxophoniste Sandy Gordon, l’alto Kathryn Cobbler, le violoncelliste Dan Parker, le pianiste Peter Hum, le guitariste Magnus Paulson, le contrebassiste Adrian Cho et le percussionniste Alvaro de Minaya.

Chanteuse réputée, Diane Nalini compose et chante en quatre langues. Elle a enregistré quatre albums, a chanté dans les festivals de jazz partout dans le monde et lors de galas en l’honneur du président Bill Clinton et de Sir Paul McCartney. En 2002, elle a été finaliste au Grand Prix de Jazz General Motors au Festival international de jazz de Montréal et, en 2001, elle a été l’une des deux finalistes du UK’s Young Jazz Vocalist of the Year Award. Les compositions originales de Diane ont également été jouées à la télévision, dans des films indépendants, et sa chanson L’Amour d’autrefois, coécrite avec le compositeur et arrangeur britannique Dick Walter, a été entendue dans le film d’Hollywood Charlotte Grey, mettant en vedette Cate Blanchett.

Fondé en 2006, l’Orchestre de jazz d’Ottawa regroupe certains des meilleurs musiciens professionnels de jazz et d’orchestre symphonique au Canada sous la direction du contrebassiste Adrian Cho. Cet ensemble unique a été acclamé tant par les critiques que par le public en raison de ses prestations hautement divertissantes, innovatrices et éducatives d’un jazz précurseur interprété par divers types d’ensembles, comme des ensembles de chambre, des orchestres de répertoire ou néophoniques et même un orchestre de jazz symphonique. Le vaste répertoire de l’OJO comprend des compositions originales, des pièces du répertoire jazz et de l’époque pré-jazz qui remontent aussi loin que 1850, et même des œuvres néoclassiques d’inspiration jazz. En plus de présenter sa saison complète de concerts au Centre national des Arts, l’orchestre est régulièrement invité à se produire lors d’événements organisés par la Commission de la capitale nationale, la ville d’Ottawa et plusieurs festivals.

Menu