Kathleen Edwards with Petr Cancura’s Crossroads

NAC Theatre

NAC Theatre

[x] Close

Todd V Wolfson

Canadian Premiere

NAC Presentation

Rediscover the songs you love...with a jazz twist!

The Ottawa-based multi-JUNO Award nominee recently took a break from performing to run a Stittsville coffee shop named Quitters. She will return to the stage for this special concert with longtime musician friend Petr Cancura.

“This music collaboration is a dream scenario for me,” says Kathleen, “because I’ll be able to sing on a totally clean slate, reinvent my songs, fit into a group of world-class musicians, and start something completely fresh artistically. It’s also a fitting pairing given that Petr played on my first album when we were both just zygotes on the Ottawa music scene ... now it feels that we’ve come back full circle with a project where we bring so much more to the table.”

Kathleen Edwards is well known for penning songs that act as perfect travel companions to their own haunted landscapes. Her highly decorated work frequently celebrates the many pleasures of survival and reinvention, all with a seductively quiet strength. A musical raconteur, lyrical poet, and gifted performer, the music of Kathleen Edwards is beautifully honed artistry.

In the years following her 2003 debut album Failer, Kathleen’s songs have topped the Billboard charts, been featured in the pages of Rolling Stone, graced the cameras on The Late Show with David Letterman, Late Night with Jimmy Fallon, and The Tonight Show with Jay Leno, as well as earning her several Juno nominations, and short-list for Polaris Music Prize.  A consummate collaborator, Edwards has also appeared on projects with Iron & Wine, Calexico, Jim James (My Morning Jacket), John Doe and Bryan Adams, and shared stages with the likes of Bon Iver, Willie Nelson, Bob Dylan, and The Rolling Stones.  In 2012, Kathleen released her fourth studio album, Voyageur, co-produced with Justin Vernon of Bon Iver, which garnered critical acclaim and won her the 2012 SOCAN Echo Songwriting Prize.

Videos

  • Kathleen Edwards - Change The Sheets

Artist Links

Menu

Kathleen Edwards avec le groupe Crossroads dirigé par Petr Cancura

[x] Fermer

Todd V Wolfson

Première canadienne

Présentation du CNA

Redécouvrez des chansons que vous adorez... dans un enrobage jazzy!

Artiste d’Ottawa plusieurs fois en nomination aux prix JUNO, Kathleen s’est récemment éloignée des scènes pour exploiter un café du nom de Quitters à Stittsville. Elle remontera sur les planches à l’occasion de ce concert spécial avec son ami musicien de longue date Petr Cancura.

« Cette collaboration musicale est un scénario rêvé pour moi », affirme Kathleen, « car je pourrai chanter sur une ardoise vierge, réinventer mes compositions, m’intégrer à un groupe de musiciens de classe mondiale et me lancer dans un projet artistique d’une fraîcheur absolue. Il s’agit également d’un jumelage approprié puisque Petr a joué sur mon premier album, alors que nous n’en étions qu’à nos premiers pas sur la scène musicale d’Ottawa... J’ai maintenant l’impression de boucler la boucle avec un projet dans lequel nous donnons tout ce que nous avons. »

L’œuvre de Kathleen, à maintes reprises récompensée, célèbre rituellement les nombreux plaisirs de la survie et de la réinvention, le tout avec une force d’une placidité séduisante. La musique de Kathleen Edwards, telle une anecdotière harmonieuse, une poétesse lyrique et une interprète de haute volée, est une œuvre d’art façonnée à la perfection. Ses chansons ont occupé la tête du palmarès Billboard, couvert les pages de la revue Rolling Stones et été captées par les caméras des émissions The Late Show with David Letterman, Late Night with Jimmy Fallon et The Tonight Show with Jay Leno, en plus de récolter plusieurs nominations aux prix JUNO et de faire la courte liste des prix de musique Polaris. Collaboratrice accomplie, elle a également participé à des projets avec Iron & Wine, Calexico, Jim James (My Morning Jacket), John Doe et Bryan Adams, et partagé la scène avec Bon Iver, Willie Nelson, Bob Dylan et les Rolling Stones. En 2012, Kathleen a lancé son quatrième album studio, Voyageur, coproduit avec Justin Vernon de Bon Iver, qui a séduit la critique et lui a permis de remporter en 2012 le Prix ÉCHO de la chanson SOCAN.

Menu