Sultans of String Christmas Fiesta with guest Rebecca Campbell

NAC Studio

NAC Studio

NAC Presentation

Celebrate the season with an adventurous musical trip around the world! 2015 JUNO Award nominees Sultans of String deliver an exuberant performance featuring originals, world-music inspired classics, and seasonal favourites to warm your heart on a cold winter’s night. From fiery fiddle tunes to a Caribbean sleigh ride, this surprising and delightful holiday fiesta heats up when Sultans of String bring their signature sound to well known gems such as Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring, The Huron Carol (with gorgeous newly-translated Indigenous lyrics), Little Drummer Boy, a Feliz Navidad ska party, a Turkish twist on Greensleeves, A Charlie Brown Christmas, as well as a Gypsy-jazz inspired Django Christmas, and a Rumba-Flamenca fuelled Jingle Bells. Sultans of String are joined by shimmering guest vocalist Rebecca Campbell (Jane Siberry, Emmylou Harris, Alanis Morissette).

Since forming 10 years ago, Sultans of String have hit #1 across Canada on Top 10 national radio charts, and received multiple awards and accolades, including 2 JUNO Award nominations  (Canada’s Grammy), 1st place in the ISC (15,000 entries), and 2 Canadian Folk Music Awards out of 8 nominations. Bandleader and violinist Chris McKhool was recently awarded a Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal for his work in creating community through music.  

When McKhool  (who has performed with Jesse Cook and Pavlo), first heard founding guitarist Kevin Laliberté’s (Jesse Cook) rumba rhythm, their musical synergy created Sultans of String’s signature sound – the intimate and playful relationship between violin and guitar. From this rich foundation, the dynamic duo grew, featuring such amazing musical friends as in-the-pocket bass master Drew Birston (Chantal Kreviazuk), jaw-dropping Cuban percussionist Rosendo Chendy Leon (Parachute Club, Alex Cuba), and guitarist Eddie Paton (Robert Michaels).

Sultans of String have been crisscrossing North America for the last several years. Equally at home in a concert series, folk or jazz club, or festival setting, they have been featured at many taste-making forums such as JUNOFest, legendary jazz club Birdland in NYC, the renowned Celtic Connections Festival in the UK, and California’s hip music scene, including the San Jose Jazz Festival. They recently sold out Koerner Hall (Toronto’s Carnegie Hall), and performed with Toronto,  Vancouver, and Edmonton Symphony Orchestras. Sultans of String have performed live on BBC TV, Irish National Radio, and the internationally syndicated shows WoodSongs, and on SiriusXM in Washington DC.

Sultans of String Fête de Noël avec invitée Rebecca Campbell

Cet événement est passé
Musique Auteur-compositeur-interprète Folk Fêtes

Présentation du CNA

Célébrez le temps des Fêtes avec un voyage musical rocambolesque autour du monde! Finalistes aux prix JUNO en 2015, les Sultans of String savent réchauffer les cœurs de leurs auditoires lors de froides nuits d’hiver en leur offrant des prestations hautes en couleur où se succèdent compositions originales, classiques inspirés de musique du monde et favoris du temps des Fêtes. Que ce soit par le biais d’une pièce de violon traditionnelle ardente ou d’une promenade en traîneau dans les Caraïbes, cette célébration surprenante et charmante gagnera en intensité lorsque les Sultans of String interprèteront, en mettant à profit leur sonorité unique, des joyaux comme « Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring », « The Huron Carol » (avec un superbe texte nouvellement traduit en langue autochtone), « Little Drummer Boy », une version ska de « Feliz Navidad », « Greensleeves » avec une touche turque, « A Charlie Brown Christmas », une mouture « Django Christmas » tout en tzigane et en jazz, et une interprétation de « Jingle Bells » chargée de rumba et de flamenco. L’éblouissante chanteuse invitée Rebecca Campbell (Jane Siberry, Emmylou Harris, Alanis Morissette) accompagnera la formation.


Depuis leur fondation il y a dix ans, les Sultans of String ont occupé la tête de palmarès de radios nationales de partout au Canada et ont reçu de multiples récompenses et éloges, y compris deux nominations aux JUNO (les Grammy du Canada), une première place à l’ISC (parmi 15 000 participants), de même que deux Prix de musique folk canadienne sur huit nominations. Le leader du groupe et violoniste Chris McKhool a récemment été décoré de la Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la reine Elizabeth II pour son travail de développement communautaire par la musique.


Lorsque McKhool (qui s’est produit avec Jesse Cook et Pavlo) a pour la première fois entendue les rythmes de rumba du guitariste fondateur Kevin Laliberté (Jesse Cook), leur synergie musicale a mené à la création du son des Sultans of String, construit sur la relation intime et délurée du violon et de la guitare. Reposant sur de solides fondations, le dynamique duo a pris de l’ampleur et compte maintenant sur la collaboration de fabuleux musiciens, comme l’inébranlable maître de basse Drew Birston (Chantal Kreviazuk), le stupéfiant percussionniste cubain Rosendo Chendy Leon (Parachute Club, Alex Cuba) et le guitariste Eddie Paton (Robert Michaels).
Les Sultans of String sillonnent l’Amérique du Nord depuis quelques années. Que ce soit lors de concerts à la maison, de spectacles dans des clubs de folk ou de jazz, ou encore dans le cadre de festivals, le groupe s’est exprimé sur plusieurs tribunes d’avant-garde, notamment au JUNOFest, au légendaire club de jazz Birdland de New York, au célèbre festival Celtic Connections du Royaume-Uni et sur la scène musicale hip californienne, notamment au Festival de jazz de San José. Il a récemment joué à guichets fermés au Koerner Hall (Carnegie Hall de Toronto), ainsi qu’en compagnie des orchestres symphoniques de Toronto, Vancouver, et Edmonton. Les Sultans of String ont offert des prestations en direct à la télévision de la BBC, à la radio nationale irlandaise et sur les ondes de Woodsongs, diffusées à l’échelle internationale, et de SiriusXM, à Washington DC.

Menu