Bageshree Vaze & Mocean Dance

Mixed Repertoire

La Nouvelle Scène

La Nouvelle Scène

[x] Close

Photo: David Hou

Photo: Michelle Doucette

Paratopia, Bageshree Vaze

Versatile Indo-Canadian dancer, choreographer and musician Bageshree Vaze creates contemporary works reflective of her North Indian cultural influences. Formally trained in both Kathak and Bharatha Natyam styles, Vaze strives to preserve the integrity of traditional North Indian dance and music, while showcasing the diverse parameters of the Kathak style and its intricate footwork and rhythms.

In Paratopia, Vaze explores an alternate reality through dance, combining Kathak and urban/contemporary dance languages to the backdrop of Indian percussion (tabla) and beat boxing. Inspired by the Matrix movies, Paratopia connotes innovation and synthesis – envisioning an alternate world and a future of dance that goes beyond time and space.

Paratopia premiered in 2015 at Toronto’s Harbourfront Centre Theatre as part of the DanceWorks series.

Sable Island, Mocean Dance

Halifax-based Mocean Dance performs athletic, vibrant contemporary dance, commissioning Canadian and international choreographers to create new works that are highly physical, collaborative, and technically and emotionally rich.

Choreographed by Vancouver-based Serge Bennathan, one of Canada’s most distinctive choreographers, Sable Island embodies the relentless sway of the fierce ocean encircling the famous isle off the coast of Nova Scotia, and the mystery, isolation and untamed spirit of the wild horses that live there. Performed by a quintet of dancers, this bi-coastal collaboration features an original musical score by Montreal composer Bertrand Chénier, who transforms the theatre into a windswept island, ocean floor and rocky shoreline.

[Sable Island] “Pure physical poetry, all intention, artful silence and emotional roar.”

Shannon Webb-Campbell, The Dance Current

[Paratopia] “As a contemporary exponent of the centuries-old but evolving Indian tradition of Kathak music and dance, Vaze is staking out new territory without defined borders that can embrace past and present.”

Michael Crabb, Toronto Star

Videos

  • Sable Island

Credits

  • Serge Bennathan Choreographer
    Sable Island
  • Bertrand Chénier Composer, performer
    Sable Island
  • Bageshree Vaze Music Composition, Choreographer
    Paratopia
  • Vineet Vyas Music Composition
    Paratopia

Artist Links

Rues fermées à la circulation autour du CNA - fin de semaine de la fête du Canada

Bageshree Vaze & Mocean Dance

Répertoire mixte

  La Nouvelle Scène Gilles Desjardins 333, av. King-Edward, Ottawa
  La Nouvelle Scène Gilles Desjardins 333, av. King-Edward, Ottawa
[x] Fermer

Photo : David Hou

Photo : Michelle Doucette

Paratopia, Bageshree Vaze

La très polyvalente danseuse, chorégraphe et musicienne indo-canadienne Bageshree Vaze crée des œuvres  contemporaines qui font écho à ses origines culturelles du nord de l'Inde. Dotée d'une solide formation en kathak et en bharatha natyam, elle s'attache à préserver l'intégrité des danses et des musiques classiques de l'Inde septentrionale, tout en mettant en valeur les différents paramètres du kathak avec ses jeux de pieds et ses rythmes complexes.

Dans Paratopia, elle plonge par la danse dans une réalité parallèle, fusionnant les langages du kathak et des danses urbaines/contemporaines sur fond de percussions indiennes (tabla) et de beat‑boxing. Œuvre  à la fois innovante et synthétique, Paratopia s'inspire de la trilogie cinématographique La matrice, et laisse entrevoir un avenir pour la danse qui transcende le temps et l'espace.

Paratopia a été créée en 2015 au Harbourfront Centre Theatre de Toronto dans le cadre de la série DanceWorks.

Sable Island, Mocean Dance

Établie à Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse, la compagnie Mocean Dance crée et présente de la danse contemporaine athlétique et énergique et commande à différents chorégraphes canadiens et internationaux des pièces de danse très physiques, collaboratives, d’une grande richesse technique et émotionnelle.

Chorégraphiée par l'un des plus éminents chorégraphes canadiens, le Vancouvérois Serge Bennathan, Sable Island illustre l'emprise implacable de l'océan sur la célèbre Île de Sable, au large des côtes de la Nouvelle-Écosse, ainsi que le mystère, l'isolement et le caractère indomptable des chevaux sauvages qui y vivent. Interprétée par un quintette de danseurs, cette collaboration transcontinentale est réglée sur une musique originale du compositeur montréalais Bertrand Chénier, qui fait de la salle, tour à tour, une île balayée par le vent, un fond marin et un rivage rocheux.

[Sable Island] « De la poésie pure, tout en intentions, en silences répartis avec art et en jaillissements émotifs. »

Shannon Webb-Campbell, The Dance Current

[Paratopia] « Comme représentante actuelle des traditions séculaires mais en constante évolution de la musique et de la danse indiennes kathak, [Bageshree] Vaze définit un nouveau territoire sans frontières précises, pouvant embrasser à la fois le passé et le présent. »

Michael Crabb, Toronto Star

crédits

  • Serge Bennathan Choreographe
    Sable Island
  • Bertrand Chénier Compositeur, interprète
    Sable Island
  • Bageshree Vaze Compostition de musique, Choreographe
    Paratopia
  • Vineet Vyas Compostition de musique
    Paratopia

Liens artiste

En savoir plus :
Menu