October 13, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Amanda Rehaume © Jen Squires

Amanda Rheaume

2016-05-05 19:30 2016-05-05 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Amanda Rheaume

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/12318

Ottawa-based Amanda Rheaume is an accomplished Métis singer-songwriter with a powerful, slightly gritty, deeply personal, and instantly accessible folk/roots sound with elements of country, pop, and soul. Rheaume has released three albums Keep a Fire (2013), Light of Another Day (2011), and Acoustic Christmas (2009). 

She has recently returned from an international tour playing shows in England, Ireland, Scotland, Germany, Belgium, Austria,...

Read more

Fourth Stage,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Thursday, May 5, 2016
7:30 PM EDT
This event has passed
Amanda Rehaume © Jen Squires
Music Singer/Songwriter Folk Canadian

NAC Presentation

Ottawa-based Amanda Rheaume is an accomplished Métis singer-songwriter with a powerful, slightly gritty, deeply personal, and instantly accessible folk/roots sound with elements of country, pop, and soul. Rheaume has released three albums Keep a Fire (2013), Light of Another Day (2011), and Acoustic Christmas (2009). 

She has recently returned from an international tour playing shows in England, Ireland, Scotland, Germany, Belgium, Austria, Switzerland, and Denmark. Back home in Canada, Rheaume recently received a Canadian Folk Music Award for Aboriginal Songwriter of the Year (2014) and a Juno Award nomination for Aboriginal Album of the Year (2014) both for Keep a Fire. She is endorsed by Epiphone, supported by Gibson Guitar, and was featured in Acoustic Guitar magazine.

Performing over 160 shows a year, Rheaume has delivered her unique and soulful blend of folk-country-pop twinged tracks to audiences around the world, including Canada (coast to coast), the USA, Europe, Faroe Islands, Central America and more. She has opened for artists such as Emmylou Harris, K'Naan, Lucinda Williams, and Ani Difranco, and played various festivals such as JUNOFest, NXNE, SXSE, CMW, WORLD Pride, National Aboriginal Day, Live from the Rock, Summerfolk, Ottawa Bluesfest, Ottawa Folk Fest, London Home Country, Majors Hill Canada Day, and North American Indigenous Games.

Rheaume performed for Canadian Troops in Kandahar, Kabul, UAE, Italy, and Nunavut, as well as the Canadian Embassy in Costa Rica. She raised money on tour for the families of military personnel. This spring, she sang the national anthems at an Ottawa Senators game and performed on CTV's Canada AM (National broadcast).

Just last year Rheaume was shortlisted for the Council for the Arts in Ottawa's RBC Emerging Artist Award. Her increasing success stems from her soulful ability to translate personal stories into messages, evoke a feeling of positivity, communicate the strength of those before her, and connect with her listeners.

Rheaume, whose family has always talked enthusiastically about its history, and whose great aunt wrote a book about it, felt inspired to start setting the family stories to song. She collected tales from her surviving relatives, teamed up with writing partner John MacDonald and producer Ross Murray to create her latest album.

video: Red Dress feat. Chantal Kreviazuk
Red Dress feat. Chantal Kreviazuk
video: 'Keep A Fire In The Rain/Ancient Rime/Not This Time'
'Keep A Fire In The Rain/Ancient Rime/Not This Time'
video: Amanda Rheaume Trio - Steal it Back
Amanda Rheaume Trio - Steal it Back
Amanda Rehaume © Jen Squires
Amanda Rehaume © Jen Squires
Menu

Amanda Rehaume © Jen Squires

Amanda Rheaume

2016-05-05 19:30 2016-05-05 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Amanda Rheaume

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/12318

Amanda Rheaume, d’Ottawa, est une auteure-compositrice-interprète métisse à la voix puissante, un brin graveleuse, éminemment personnelle. Une artiste rompue aux musiques folk/trad populaires qu’elle relève de notes country, pop et soul. Elle a trois albums à son actif : Keep a Fire (2013), Light of Another Day (2011) et Acoustic Christmas (2009).  L’artiste a effectué récemment une grande...

Read more

Quatrième Salle,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
jeudi 5 mai 2016
19 h 30 HAE
Cet événement est passé
Amanda Rehaume © Jen Squires
Musique Auteur-compositeur-interprète Folk Artistes canadiens

Présentation du CNA

Amanda Rheaume, d’Ottawa, est une auteure-compositrice-interprète métisse à la voix puissante, un brin graveleuse, éminemment personnelle. Une artiste rompue aux musiques folk/trad populaires qu’elle relève de notes country, pop et soul. Elle a trois albums à son actif : Keep a Fire (2013), Light of Another Day (2011) et Acoustic Christmas (2009). 

L’artiste a effectué récemment une grande tournée en Europe – Angleterre, Irlande, Écosse, Allemagne, Belgique, Autriche, Suisse et Danemark. Rentrée au bercail, elle a récolté le prix Auteur-compositeur autochtone de l’année (2014) aux Canadian Folk Music Awards et une nomination aux JUNO dans la catégorie Album autochtone de l’année (2014), avec Keep a Fire dans les deux cas. Elle bénéficie du soutien des compagnies Epiphone et Gibson Guitar, et a fait l’objet d’un article dans le magazine Acoustic Guitar.

Amanda donne plus de 160 représentations par année. Elle a fait voyager partout dans le monde le mélange inspiré de folk-country-pop qui fait sa marque de commerce – d’un bout à l’autre du Canada, aux États-Unis, en Europe, aux Îles Féroé, en Amérique centrale et ailleurs. Elle a assuré la première partie de spectacles de nombreux artistes dont Emmylou Harris, K’Naan, Lucinda Williams et Ani Difranco, et a pris l’affiche dans divers festivals et événements comme le JUNOFest, NXNE, SXSE, CMW, WORLD Pride, la Journée nationale des Autochtones, Live from the Rock, Summerfolk, le Bluesfest et le Folk Fest d’Ottawa, London Home Country, Majors Hill Canada Day, et les Jeux autochtones nord-américains.

Elle a livré des prestations pour les troupes des Forces canadiennes à Kandahar, à Kaboul, aux Émirats arabes unis, en Italie et au Nunavut, ainsi qu’à l’ambassade du Canada au Costa Rica. Elle a récolté des fonds en tournée pour les familles de militaires. Le printemps dernier, elle a chanté les hymnes nationaux canadien et américain à un match des Sénateurs d’Ottawa et s’est produite à l’émission Canada AM, diffusée au réseau national de CTV.

L’an dernier, elle a fait la courte liste pour le Prix RBC pour les artistes émergents décerné par le Conseil des arts d’Ottawa. Son succès grandissant tient à sa capacité innée de raconter des histoires personnelles, de susciter des émotions positives, de communiquer la force de caractère des générations qui l’ont précédée, et d’entrer en relation avec son public.

Issue d’une famille qui a toujours parlé fièrement de ses racines, d’ailleurs relatées dans un livre écrit par sa grand-tante, Amanda a voulu transposer en chansons les histoires des siens. C’est ainsi que pour son plus récent album, elle a glané des récits des aînés de sa famille et s’est associée avec John MacDonald comme partenaire d’écriture, et Ross Murray comme producteur.

video: Red Dress feat. Chantal Kreviazuk
Red Dress feat. Chantal Kreviazuk
video: 'Keep A Fire In The Rain/Ancient Rime/Not This Time'
'Keep A Fire In The Rain/Ancient Rime/Not This Time'
video: Amanda Rheaume Trio - Steal it Back
Amanda Rheaume Trio - Steal it Back
Amanda Rehaume © Jen Squires
Amanda Rehaume © Jen Squires
Menu