Ontario Pick 3

Orbit (2014) MDF, barrel-fired stoneware, steel, spray paint 40 x 37 x 51 1/2"

Ontario Pick 3 brings together three innovative Ontario artists who are expanding on and developing themes they began in 2014.

MAURA DOYLE’s works are part of her research into the simple pot, one of humanity’s oldest art forms. Throughout history, this plain but vital form has contained life, love, pleasure, anguish, and death, traditionally storing, as it has, grain, water, intoxicants, medicine, and human remains.

KEVIN RODGERS is a visual artist whose practice draws upon provisional formalism and political philosophy. His latest work begins from a scanned version of political theorist Hannah Arendt’s 1961 book Between Past and Future, a collection of essays on (among other subjects) freedom, education, and authority.

FRANK SHEBAGEGET’s practice, which draws on the aesthetics of everyday materials, exploits the tense relationships between production, consumption, and the economics of beauty, through the repetition of forms, labour-intensive processes, and the play between quasi-industrial and handcrafted methods.

Credits

  • Artists Maura Doyle
    Kevin Rodgers
    Frank Shebageget
  • Curated by Danny Hussey

Artist Links

Central-art-garage-web
Menu

Orbit (2014) MDF, poterie en grès cuite en baril, peinture en aérosol, 40 x 37 x 51,5 po.

Tri-Ontario

2015-05-01 00:00 2015-05-29 24:00 true 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Tri-Ontario

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/11447

L’exposition Tri-Ontario réunit trois artistes novateurs qui poussent ici plus avant une démarche artistique entreprise en 2014. Le travail de MAURA DOYLE s’inscrit dans une recherche autour de la poterie, l’une des formes d’art les plus anciennes. Les contenants issus de cette technique simple mais combien vitale ont servi à emmagasiner grains, eau, alcools, remèdes et restes humains, évoquant tour à tour la vie, l’amour,...

Read more

Central Art Garage ,66 Lebreton Nord,Ottawa,Canada
1 - 29 mai 2015
Cet événement est passé
Orbit (2014) MDF, poterie en grès cuite en baril, peinture en aérosol, 40 x 37 x 51,5 po.
Arts visuels

L’exposition Tri-Ontario réunit trois artistes novateurs qui poussent ici plus avant une démarche artistique entreprise en 2014.

Le travail de MAURA DOYLE s’inscrit dans une recherche autour de la poterie, l’une des formes d’art les plus anciennes. Les contenants issus de cette technique simple mais combien vitale ont servi à emmagasiner grains, eau, alcools, remèdes et restes humains, évoquant tour à tour la vie, l’amour, le plaisir, l’angoisse et la mort.

KEVIN RODGERS est un artiste visuel dont la pratique s’appuie sur le formalisme provisoire et la philosophie politique. Ses plus récents travaux ont eu pour point de départ une reproduction du recueil d’essais La Crise de la culture (1961) de la théoricienne politique Hannah Arendt, qui traite notamment de liberté, d’éducation et d’autorité.

Mettant de l’avant l’esthétique des matériaux de tous les jours, FRANK SHEBAGEGET aborde les liens entre la production, la consommation et l’économie de la beauté par des procédés laborieux, la répétition de formes et le jeu entre le quasi-industriel et le fait main. 

Orbit (2014) MDF, poterie en grès cuite en baril, peinture en aérosol, 40 x 37 x 51,5 po.
  • Artistes Maura Doyle
    Kevin Rodgers
    Frank Shebageget
  • Commissaire Danny Hussey
Menu