Street closures around the NAC during Ottawa Race Weekend

Indigenous Theatre

Changing the face of Canadian theatre

The first cycle: Indigenous Theatre

Our first cycle engaged deeply with Indigenous Theatre, taking us to Banff and then to Manitoulin Island. We convened Indigenous leaders, artists and students from across the country, and then invited the wider national theatre community to share in our findings at the cycle’s conclusion. The Summit, The Study and The Repast.

Download Power Shift: The Story

Download the Summit Report

Part 1: The Summit

APRIL 2014 | THE BANFF CENTRE

In April 2014 NAC English Theatre gathered together 12 Indigenous artists/leaders from across the country for The Summit at the Banff Centre. This was a three-day conversation about the breadth and scope of Indigenous work created across this vast land. Co-curated by Associate Artistic Director of English Theatre Sarah Garton Stanley and playwright Yvette Nolan, 10 cultural institutions participated in The Summit as “Listeners.”

Learn More

Part 2: The Study

MAY 2015 | MANITOULIN ISLAND 

Between May 5-16, in collaboration with Debajehmujig Storytellers and Indigenous Performing Arts Alliance (IPAA), theatre creators, students and scholars gather on Manitoulin Island to immerse themselves in The Study. Together participants explore aspects of the Indigenous body of performance work created across this vast land. The Study culminates in The Repast, an extended two-day presentation and conversation event which we believe has the potential to fundamentally change the face of Canadian theatre.

IPAA gratefully acknowledges the support of the British Columbia Arts Council, Province of British Columbia, Canada Council for The Arts, Ontario Arts Council, Cole Foundation and R. Howard Webster Foundation.

Part 3: The Repast

MAY 15-16, 2015 | MANITOULIN ISLAND

Watch the live broadcasts of “The Repast” from Manitoulin Island

“Our goal for The Study is to take inspiration from The Summit conversations. The Study gathers professional actors and performance students as well as other creative artists and academics to steep us in Indigenous dramaturgy.” Summit Co-Curator Sarah Garton Stanley
Menu

Théâtre autochtone

Changer la face du théâtre canadien

Le premier cycle : Théâtre autochtone

Pour notre premier cycle, nous avons choisi de plonger au cœur du théâtre autochtone, une démarche qui nous a amenés successivement à Banff, en Alberta, et dans l’île Manitoulin, en Ontario. Nous avons convié des leaders, des artistes et des étudiants autochtones de tout le pays, avant d’inviter l’ensemble du milieu théâtral canadien à prendre connaissance de nos découvertes à la conclusion du cycle. Ce cycle s’est décliné en trois volets : The Summit, The Study et The Repast.

Apprenez en plus dans Power Shift: The Story

Téléchargez le rapport sur The Summit 2014

Partie 1 : The Summit

AVRIL 2014 | BANFF CENTRE

En avril 2014, le Théâtre anglais du CNA a réuni 12 artistes et leaders autochtones de tout le pays pour participer à The Summit au Banff Centre. Il s’agissait d’une conversation, répartie sur trois jours, sur l’étendue et la portée des œuvres dramatiques autochtones créés au Canada. Sous l’impilsion des coorganisatrices Sarah Garton Stanley, directrice artistique associée du Théâtre anglais, et d’Yvette Nolan, dramaturge, 10 institutions culturelles ont pris part à The Summit comme « auditeurs ». 

En savoir plus

Partie 2 : The Study

Mai 2015 | Île Manitoulin

Du 5 au 16 mai 2015, en collaboration avec Debajehmujig Storytellers, et Indigenous Performing Arts Alliance (IPAA), des créateurs, étudiants et spécialistes du théâtre se rassembleront dans l’île Manitoulin pour s’immerger dans The Study. Les participants se pencheront ensemble sur le répertoire autochtone d’œuvres scéniques créées à travers ce vaste pays. The Study se conclura sur The Repast, une importante présentation et conversation répartie sur deux jours qui réunira des pairs et des membres du public.

Joignez-vous à nous pour vivre The Repast, afin de partager les fruits de cette initiative révolutionnaire de deux ans qui, croyons-nous, pourrait bien changer à jamais la face du théâtre canadien.

Partie 3 : The Repast

15-16 mai 2015 | Île Manitoulin

Regardez les diffusions The Repast en direct de l’île Manitoulin

« Notre objectif pour The Study est de nous inspirer des conversations de The Summit [pour aller plus loin]. The Study réunit des acteurs professionnels et des étudiants en arts d’interprétation, ainsi que d’autres artistes créateurs et spécialistes, pour nous plonger au cœur de la dramaturgie autochtoneSarah Garton Stanley, coorganisatrice de The Summit 
Menu