Inclusion: Deaf, disability and Mad arts

Changing the shape of Canadian theatre

The 2016-17 Cycle: Deaf, disability, Mad arts and inclusion

The Second Cycle engages deeply with the Deaf, disability and Mad arts community, and grapples with the idea of inclusion. NAC English Theatre launched the Second Cycle at the Stratford Festival in April 2016. The Second Cycle concludes in Ottawa in June 2017, when artists, leaders and students from the Deaf, disability and mad arts gather for ten days, culminating in a nation-wide, two day immersive experience called The Republic of Inclusion from June 27-29.

For more in depth information about Summit 2016, download the report created by co-curators Sarah Garton Stanley and Syrus Marcus Ware.

Download the Summit Report

Part 1: Summit 2016

APRIL 2016 | THE STRATFORD FESTIVAL

In April 2016, NAC English Theatre gathered together 13 Deaf, disabled and Mad Artists/Leaders from across the country for Summit 2016, held at the Stratford Festival. This was a three-day conversation about the breadth and scope of Deaf, disability, Mad art and inclusion being created across this vast land. It was co-curated by Associate Artistic Director of English Theatre Sarah Garton Stanley and academic, activist and artist Syrus Marcus Ware, with nine cultural institutions participating as “Respondents”.

The NAC gratefully acknowledges the partnership of the Stratford Festival, and the collaborating support of  the Department of Theatre and Film at the University of British Columbia, the University of Waterloo Stratford Campus, Playwrights Workshop Montreal, the British Council Canada and the R. Howard Webster Foundation. We would also like to acknowledge the institutional involvement of Arts Council England, the Canada Council for the Arts, Vancouver’s Playwrights Theatre Centre, and Toronto’s  Luminato Festival.

Playwrights Workshop Montreal gratefully acknowledges the support of The Canada Council for the Arts.

Learn more

Part 2: Study 2017

JUNE 19-27 2017| OTTAWA 

In June 2017, theatre creators, students and scholars will gather in Ottawa to immerse themselves in The Study. Together participants will explore the compendium of Deaf, disability and Mad art from across the country, and explore modes of inclusive performance creation practice. The Study culminates with The Republic of Inclusion, a multi-day presentation and conversation event which aims to participate in changing the shape of Canadian theatre and the processes by which it is made.

Part 3: The Republic of Inclusion

JUNE 27-29, 2017 - OTTAWA

The Republic of Inclusion

The Republic of Inclusion is for everyone. Dive into the immersive, accessible and inclusive world of Deaf, disability and Mad arts. Performance bursts, curated conversations, fine food and drink, djs and dance, live music and visual art await you! Featuring leading artists and creators from around the country, The Republic of Inclusion promises to reveal the scope of existing works, and practice in Canada.

To register for The Republic of Inclusion please download The Republic of Inclusion Package (Word document or PDF document) and submit the registration form, or visit nac-cna.ca/republic

Menu

Inclusion : les artistes sourds, handicapés ou vivant avec une maladie mentale

Refondre le théâtre canadien et les procédés qui le façonnent

The Cycle 2016-2017 : les artistes sourds, handicapés ou vivant avec une maladie mentale et l’inclusion

Le second Cycle s’engage profondément auprès des artistes sourds, handicapés ou vivant avec une maladie mentale, et prend à bras-le-corps la question de l’inclusion. Nous avons amorcé ce nouveau cycle au Festival de Stratford en avril 2016 et le conclurons à Ottawa en juin 2017, lorsque des artistes, des leaders et des étudiants de tout le pays, associés aux productions des artistes sourds, handicapés ou vivant avec une maladie mentale, se réuniront pour dix jours. Au terme de ce parcours, le milieu théâtral national élargi sera invité à prendre connaissance de nos conclusions dans le cadre d’un événement intitulé The Republic of Inclusion.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur The Summit 2016, téléchargez le rapport des coproducteurs Sarah Garton Stanley et Syrus Marcus Ware.​​​

Téléchargez le rapport sur The Summit

(en anglais)

Partie 1 : Summit 2016

AVRIL 2016 | FESTIVAL DE STRATFORD

En avril 2016, le Théâtre anglais du CNA a réuni 13 artistes et leaders de tout le pays, issus du milieu des artistes sourds, handicapés ou vivant avec une maladie mentale, pour la tenue de notre Summit 2016 au Festival de Stratford. Ce fut une conversation de trois jours sur la portée et l’ampleur des productions des artistes sourds, handicapés ou vivant avec une maladie mentale qui voient le jour dans ce vaste pays. La rencontre était organisée conjointement par Sarah Garton Stanley, directrice artistique associée du Théâtre anglais, et Syrus Marcus Ware, universitaire et artiste, avec le concours de neuf institutions culturelles qui agissaient comme « répondants ».

Le CNA exprime sa gratitude envers son partenaire, le Festival de Stratford, et remercie pour leur appui et leur collaboration le Department of Theatre and Film de l’University of British Columbia, le Campus Stratford de l’Université de Waterloo, l’Atelier Dramaturgie de Montréal, le British Council et la R. Howard Webster Foundation. Nous remercions aussi pour leur participation institutionnelle l’Arts Council England, le Playwrights Theatre Centre de Vancouver, et le Festival Luminato de Toronto.

L’Atelier Dramaturgie de Montréal remercie pour son appui le Conseil des arts du Canada.

Partie 2 : Study 2017

19-28 JUIN 2017| OTTAWA 

En juin 2017, des créateurs, des étudiants et des spécialistes du théâtre se réuniront à Ottawa pour s’immerger dans The Study. Les participants se pencheront sur l’ensemble des productions d’artistes sourds, handicapés ou vivant avec une maladie mentale à travers le pays, et affineront les modes et pratiques de création inclusifs. The Study se conclura avec The Republic of Inclusion, une présentation et conversation étalée sur plusieurs jours ayant pour optique de contribuer à une refonte du théâtre canadien et des procédés qui le façonnent.

« Notre espoir est qu’il se dégagera de cet échange, pour chacun de nous, une compréhension nouvelle des besoins et des désirs de différents milieux. Notre objectif est d’œuvrer ensemble à bâtir des ponts et des appuis, et d’apprendre les uns des autres sur ce qui est déjà en place. » – Sarah Garton Stanley, coorganisatrice, The Cycle (Notes sur The Summit)

Partie 3 : The Republic of Inclusion

27-30 juin 2017 - Ottawa

The Republic of Inclusion


Les événements en direct du 28 juin 2017 seront disponibles de 10h00 à 12h30 heure de l'Est et de 14h00 à 16h30 heure de l'Est. Les liens sont ci-dessous (en anglais seulement):
 

Diffusion du matin       Diffusion de l'après-midi

The Republic of Inclusion s’adresse à un public de tous genres. Plongez dans l’univers immersif, accessible et inclusif d’artistes sourds, handicapés ou vivant avec une maladie mentale. Prestations explosives, conversations animées, bouchées savoureuses et consommations, DJ, danse, musique live et arts visuels sont au programme! Mettant à contribution des artistes et des créateurs parmi les plus en vue au pays, le spectacle saisit toute la portée d’œuvres existantes et de pratiques en vigueur dans le monde du théâtre au Canada.

Participants à The Study et The Republic of Inclusion

Barak Ade Soleil, Prince Amponsah, Erin Ball, Olivia Basha, Sonny Bean, Caroline Bowditch, Lois Brown, Alex Bulmer, Eliza Chandler, Michele Decottignies, Jan  Derbyshire, Chris Dodd, Rachel Gorman, Bruce Horak, Kirsty Johnston, Yousef Kadoura, Christine Karcza, Landon Krentz, Petra Kuppers, LAL, Leah Lewis, Sage Loverell, Justin Many Fingers, Niall McNeil, Deborah Patterson, Adam Pottle, Matthew Poutney, Paul Power, Alan Shain, Brian Solomon, Jess Thom, Kazumi Tsuruoka, Jack Volpe, Adam Warren, Jess Watkins, Melisse Watson et beaucoup plus!

Téléchargez le package Republic of Inclusion (document Word ou document PDF) pour plus d'informations.

Remarque: l'inscription est maintenant fermée.
 

Menu