|
Executive Producer, Dance, NAC

Cathy Levy

Cathy Levy has devoted her professional working life to the performing arts, dedicated to the creation, development and presentation of artistic projects, most notably in the dance field.  She joined Canada’s National Arts Centre in the fall of 2000, having acquired an enviable reputation throughout the Canadian dance community. Prior to being appointed NAC Dance Producer, Ms Levy served as Producer of the Canada Dance Festival of new Canadian choreography from 1990 to 2000, and as Associate Producer from its inauguration in 1987. From 1992 to 2000, she was Dance Programmer for Toronto’s Harbourfront Centre where she ran an annual international contemporary dance series featuring companies from around the world. In 1997, she served as Performing Arts Coordinator for the Cultural Component of Canada’s Year of Asia Pacific, and from 1994 to 1996, she was the Director of the Vancouver East Cultural Centre, a multi-purpose performing space for the contemporary arts. In 1988, Ms Levy founded the Dance Umbrella of Ontario, the first-ever service organization of its kind in Canada, providing administrative and production support to independent choreographers, and served as its Executive Director for four years until 1992.

Cathy Levy also coordinated many special projects, including the 1992 IMZ Congress in Toronto (for the Vienna-based International Music Centre), Kodo Drummers in Vancouver in 1989 and 1991, and Close-up of Japan in Toronto in 1990. She also served as Special Events Coordinator for the Canada Pavilion during EXPO 86, as Publicity Director with the Vancouver East Cultural Centre (1983-1985), as Regional Officer for Dance in Canada (1982-1985), and as Publicity Director of the Anna Wyman Dance Theatre (1980-1983). In addition, Ms Levy worked with numerous dance companies, including La La La Human Steps, the Karen Jamieson Dance Company and The Kirov Ballet. Ms Levy was a founding committee member of Toronto's Dancers for Life, an annual fundraising event for the AIDS Committee of Toronto which she co-chaired from 1989 to 1993. In 1994, she helped establish and then co-chaired Vancouver’s Dancers for Life.

Ms Levy was the recipient of two Canada Council grants, one in 1985 which enabled her to train for a year under Producer David White at Dance Theater Workshop in New York City, and a second, in 1991, enabled her to research and study for four months with major performing arts festivals throughout Europe. In 1999, she was the first Canadian to receive the Japan Foundation’s Uchida Fellowship which enabled her to expand her knowledge of dance and dance companies in Japan.

Since joining the National Arts Centre, Ms Levy has championed countless Canadian and international artists, bringing their works to the forefront.  She has invited numerous international and Canadian dance companies to perform on the NAC’s three stages including – after a 20-year absence from Canada -  the iconic Tanztheater Wuppertal Pina Bausch, as well as the Mariinsky Ballet (The Kirov), the Bolshoi Ballet, Crystal Pite and Akram Khan, to name but a few.  Under her leadership NAC Dance annually hosts 18-20 companies, develops a growing number of  Canadian and international co-productions, and presents an impressive program of outreach and enhancement activities.

Ms Levy has overseen and produced special projects and events for NAC Dance, including an Homage to Jean-Pierre Perreault (May 2004), the Dutch Dance Focus (May 2005), Peggy Jarrell Kaplan photo exhibit (2006), Homage to Marie Chouinard (2008), La La La Human Steps exhibit (2011), and Aleksandar Antonijevic photo exhibit (2012). She also launched the NAC-CGI Youth Commission for Dance, a partnership with the Canada Council for the Arts (2003-2007), the now ongoing Associate Dance Artists Program (2007), and she will announce shortly a new visiting artist program. Ms Levy was also the Producer for the Golden Jubilee Gala honouring Queen Elizabeth’s visit to Canada, held at Roy Thomson Hall on October 10, 2002, and for An Evening Celebrating the Works of Canadian Artists hosted by HRH The Prince of Wales on April 30, 2001. In 2015, she conceived and created, alongside NAC Orchestra Music Director Alexander Shelley the landmark NAC commission ENCOUNT3RS that paired three Canadian choreographers with three Canadian composers. The resulting three one-act ballets, each performed to a brand new orchestral score, received their world premiere at the NAC in April 2017. This major initiative was in celebration of Canada 150 and is a major legacy project for the artists, companies and the NAC.

Ms Levy is looked upon as a key figure in the Canadian and international dance milieu. She is often invited to festivals and dance events and she regularly contributes articles to dance journals and newsletters. She has served on several boards, committees, juries and advisory panels. Most recently, she was a nominator for the internationally renowned Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative for two cycles (Ohad Naharin and Crystal Pite).  She was also the sole North American juror for the ICE Hot biennial showcase (Oslo, 2014). The Montreal contemporary dance skating group Le Patin Libre named her their annual membre d’honneur (2016-17). Ms Levy is currently a Board member of the CanDance Network and a member of the Centre de Création O Vertigo (Montreal) selection committee. She is sought after by emerging artists and arts administrators for short- and long-term mentorships.

Ms Levy lives in Montreal with her husband, documentary film and live event producer Martin Bolduc and their two sons, Jonah and Luka.

Menu

|
Productrice générale, Danse, CNA

Cathy Levy

Cathy Levy consacre sa vie professionnelle aux arts de la scène, ainsi qu’à la création, à l’élaboration et à la diffusion de projets artistiques, plus particulièrement dans le domaine de la danse. Elle s’est jointe au Centre national des Arts du Canada à l’automne 2000, forte d’une réputation enviable au sein de la communauté canadienne de la danse. Avant d’être nommée productrice de la Danse au CNA, elle a été productrice du Festival Danse Canada, vitrine de la nouvelle chorégraphie canadienne, de 1990 à 2000, après en avoir été́ la productrice associée depuis sa création en 1987. De 1992 à 2000, elle a exercé les fonctions de programmatrice de la danse au Harbourfront Centre de Toronto, où elle présentait une série annuelle de danse contemporaine internationale mettant en vedette des compagnies du monde entier. En 1997, elle a été coordonnatrice des arts de la scène dans le cadre du volet culturel de l’année Asie-Pacifique au Canada, et, de 1994 à 1996, elle a été directrice du East Cultural Centre de Vancouver, un espace polyvalent de présentation des arts contemporains. En 1988, Mme Levy a fondé le Dance Umbrella of Ontario, le tout premier organisme au Canada à offrir des services administratifs et un soutien en matière de production aux chorégraphes indépendants, dont elle a été la directrice générale jusqu’en 1992.

Cathy Levy a également coordonné plusieurs projets spéciaux, notamment l’IMZ Congress à Toronto en 1992 (pour le Centre international de musique basé à Vienne), Kodo Drummers à Vancouver en 1989 et 1991 et Close-up of Japan à Toronto en 1990. Par ailleurs, elle a été coordonnatrice des événements spéciaux pour le pavillon du Canada pendant l’EXPO 86, directrice de la publicité à l’East Cultural Centre de Vancouver (1983-1985), agente régionale pour Dance in Canada (1982-1985) et directrice de la publicité pour l’Anna Wyman Dance Theatre (1980-1983). D’autre part, Mme Levy a collaboré avec de nombreuses compagnies de danse, entre autres La La La Human Steps, la Karen Jamieson Dance Company et le Ballet Kirov. Mme Levy a été membre du comité fondateur de Dancers for Life de Toronto, spectacle-bénéfice annuel au profit des malades du SIDA-Comité de Toronto, qu’elle a coprésidé de 1989 à 1993. En 1994, elle a contribué à fonder Dancers for Life à Vancouver, organisme qu’elle a ensuite coprésidé.

Mme Levy a obtenu deux subventions du Conseil des arts du Canada, la première en 1985, qui lui a permis de se perfectionner pendant un an auprès du producteur David White au Dance Theater Workshop à New York, et la deuxième en 1991, grâce à laquelle elle a pu mener des recherches et des études pendant quatre mois auprès d’importants festivals européens des arts de la scène. En 1999, elle a été la première personne de nationalité canadienne à recevoir la bourse Uchida de la Japan Foundation qui lui a permis d’approfondir ses connaissances de la danse et de mieux connaître les compagnies de danse japonaises.

Depuis qu’elle est au Centre national des Arts, Mme Levy a soutenu d’innombrables artistes canadiens et internationaux en leur permettant de présenter leurs œuvres. Elle a invité de nombreuses compagnies de danse du Canada et d’ailleurs dans le monde à se produire sur les trois scènes du CNA, notamment - après 20 ans d’absence au Canada - la Tanztheater Wuppertal Pina Bausch, de même que le Ballet du Théâtre Mariinsky (Kirov), le Ballet du Bolshoi, Crystal Pite et Akram Khan, pour n’en nommer que quelques-uns. Sous sa direction, Danse CNA accueille tous les ans 18 à 20 compagnies, crée un nombre de plus en plus important de coproductions canadiennes et internationales, et diffuse un programme impressionnant d’activités de rayonnement et de perfectionnement.

Mme Levy a chapeauté et produit des projets et des événements spéciaux pour Danse CNA, notamment l’Hommage à Jean-Pierre Perreault (mai 2004), Pleins feux sur la danse néerlandaise (mai 2005), l’exposition de photos de Peggy Jarrell Kaplan (2006), l’Hommage à Marie Chouinard (2008), l’exposition La La La Human Steps (2011) et l’exposition de photos d’Aleksandar Antonijevic (2012). Elle a également lancé les Commandes de danse jeunesse CNA-CGI en partenariat avec le Conseil des arts du Canada (2003-2007), le programme des artistes associés de Danse CNA (2007), et annoncera sous peu un nouveau programme d’artistes invités. Elle a aussi assuré la production du Gala du Jubilé en l’honneur de la reine Élisabeth présenté au Roy Thomson Hall, le 10 octobre 2002, lors de sa visite au Canada, et celle de la Soirée hommage aux artistes canadiens offerte par S.A.R. le prince de Galles, le 30 avril 2001. En 2015, elle a conçu et créé, en collaboration avec Alexander Shelley, le directeur musical de l’Orchestre du CNA, RENCONTR3S, une commande exceptionnelle du CNA qui jumelait trois chorégraphes et trois compositeurs canadiens. La première mondiale de cette œuvre composée de trois ballets en un acte sur des musiques orchestrales originales a été présentée au CNA en avril 2017. Cette initiative d’envergure, qui visait à célébrer le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération canadienne, constitue un important legs pour les artistes, les compagnies de danse et le CNA.

Mme Levy est considérée comme une personnalité incontournable dans le milieu de la danse au Canada et à l’international. Elle est souvent invitée dans des festivals et événements de danse, et rédige régulièrement des articles pour des magazines et des bulletins spécialisés en danse. Elle a été membre de plusieurs conseils d’administration, comités, jurys et groupes consultatifs. Récemment, elle a été l’une des nominatrices du programme Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative pendant deux cycles (Ohad Naharin et Crystal Pite). Elle a également été la seule juge nord-américaine à l’événement biennal ICE Hot (Oslo, 2014). Le groupe montréalais de patinage contemporain Le Patin Libre l’a nommée membre d’honneur de sa saison 2016‑2017. Mme Levy est actuellement membre du conseil d’administration du réseau CanDanse et membre du comité de sélection du Centre de Création O Vertigo (Montréal). Elle est souvent sollicitée par des artistes émergents et aussi par des administrateurs des arts pour des mentorats à court ou à long terme.

Mme Levy vit à Montréal avec son mari Martin Bolduc, producteur de films documentaires et d’événements, et leurs deux fils, Jonah et Luka.

  • favicon

Menu