June 30, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

Lulling Time

An explosition of soothing songs

© Dahlia Katz

Beddy-bye in times of the pandemic

What did your grandmother hum to put you to sleep? What do you sing to soothe your own little ones? You probably remember at least one lullaby from your childhood: a song that eased your sorrow, or a nursery rhyme that calmed your nighttime fears. Lulling Time has invited people of all ages and backgrounds to share their childhood memories and, through their voices or simple murmurings, revive an overlooked cultural heritage. Our explosition offers a glimpse of this rich collection of lullabies in different languages from many traditions around the world. All together, they provide a precious balm for our daily lives in confinement.

A creation of the Berceurs du temps, in collaboration with Calgary’s Centre for Newcomers and Julie Pellissier-Lush who visited the Mi'kmaq community of Lennox Island in Prince Edward Island.

Four playlists await you

Multilingual ● All ages ● Free
 


 

Try a little tenderness

Songs selected from the LULLING TIME archives

Your arms are my cradle

Songs selected from the LULLING TIME archives

 

Spirits of the Island

Songs recorded by Julie Pellissier-Lush and Brent Chiasson on Lennox Island, P.E.I.

 

Children of the wind

Songs recorded by the Centre For Newcomers staff in Calgary,  AB

Since 2016, the Berceurs du temps have been touring the parks and squares of Greater Montreal with a participatory installation that allows passers-by to record and listen to lullabies. So far, they have collected more than 1,200 songs in 60 languages, creating an ever-growing archive of touching encounters, now shared with all of us, young and old alike, just when we need it most. Some special contributions from Calgary and Prince Edward Island have been added especially for the BIG BANG.
 


Concept and selection of lullabies : Ilya Krouglikov, from the project archives Bercer le temps / Concept and design : Berceurs du temps (Sarah Dell’Ava, Ilya Krouglikov, Wolfram Sander) / Sound editing : Wolfram Sander, Claire Perryman-Holt / Mastering: Olivier Girouard

Special thanks to the 800 or so participants who have lent their voices to the project since 2016.

Take advantage of our family programming!
Sign up to receive offers and information on family events.

Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Please include a valid email address

The Big Bang Festival is presented by the National Arts Centre in collaboration with Zonzo compagnie, with the support of the Canada Council for the Arts, Winterlude 2021 and the European Union's Creative Europe programme.

BIG BANG Festival is a format developed and owned by Zonzo Compagnie.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 2 septembre 2021.

Bercer le temps

Une explosition de chansons douces

© Dahlia Katz

Dodo en temps de pandémie

Que fredonnait votre grand-mère pour vous endormir? Que chantez-vous à votre tour pour apaiser ces petits qui vous entourent? Il vous reste sans doute en mémoire au moins une berceuse de votre enfance : un chant venu un jour consoler un chagrin ou une comptine capable de dompter les peurs la nuit. Des gens de tous âges et de tous horizons à qui l’on a tendu le micro ont bien voulu offrir leurs souvenirs. Par leurs voix ou simples murmures, ils raniment ainsi un patrimoine culturel méconnu. Ces berceuses que vous entendrez puisent à de nombreuses traditions, chantées dans différentes langues. Mises bout à bout, elles forment une collection de chansons douces du monde entier, comme un précieux remède pour nos quotidiens confinés.

Une proposition des Berceurs du temps, en collaboration avec le Centre for Newcomers à Calgary et Julie Pellissier-Lush qui a visité la communauté mi'kmaq de Lennox Island à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Quatre listes de lecture vous attendent

Multilingue ● Pour tous ● Gratuit
 


 

Tendresses

Chants tirés des archives de BERCER LE TEMPS

 

Tes bras sont mon berceau

Chants tirés des archives de BERCER LE TEMPS

Les esprits de l’Île

Chants enregistrés par Julie Pellissier-Lush et Brent Chiasson sur l'île Lennox, IPE

 

Enfants du vent

Chants enregistrés par le personnel du Centre For Newcomers à Calgary, AB

 

Depuis 2016, les Berceurs du temps sillonnent les parcs et les squares du Grand Montréal avec une installation participative qui permet d’enregistrer et de faire entendre des berceuses aux passants. À ce jour, ils en ont amassé plus de 1200 en 60 langues. Un travail émouvant d’archives et de rencontres, dont ils partagent avec nous un morceau inestimable, à un moment où petits et grands en ont bien besoin. Des contributions de Calgary et de l’Ile-du-Prince-Édouard s’y sont même ajoutées spécialement pour le BIG BANG.
 


Idéation et sélection de berceuses : Ilya Krouglikov, à partir des archives du projet Bercer le temps / Conception et réalisation : Berceurs du temps (Sarah Dell’Ava, Ilya Krouglikov, Wolfram Sander) / Montage son : Wolfram Sander, Claire Perryman-Holt / Matriçage: Olivier Girouard

Merci aux quelque 800 participant.e.s qui ont prêté leurs voix au projet depuis 2016.

Profitez de notre programmation familiale!
Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir des offres et de l’information sur les événements pour la famille.

N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Veuillez indiquer une adresse courriel valide

Le Festival Big Bang est présenté par le Centre national des Arts en collaboration avec la Zonzo compagnie, avec l’appui du Conseil des arts du Canada, le Bal de Neige 2021 et le programme Europe créative de l’Union européenne.

BIG BANG est un concept et la propriété de Zonzo Compagnie.

Menu