About Big Bang Festival

© Dries Segers

The Big Bang is a one-of-a-kind festival. For two days, the entire NAC will groove to the rhythm of many sound and musical activities for kids and their whole family. From a visually enchanting concert with the NAC Orchestra, to an interactive Jazz trio, from passing through a sea of singing hearts to big air bags that makes music when children roll on them, everyone is invited to a journey of discovery and amazement by diving into this colourful musical trip in the heart of winter!

The BIG BANG is one of the most successful children’s festivals in Europe. It explores the fascinating world of music, sound and the arts, through a variety of activities and performances.

The festival builds on the legacy of Wouter Van Looy, who founded the OORSMEER children’s music festival in 1995 as a platform for artistic modern music programming specifically for children.

Bringing BIG BANG to the NAC grew out of the NAC’s relationship with Zonzo Compagnie, a Belgian music/theatre company for young audiences founded by Van Looy. Over the past few years, the NAC has presented some of its shows, including Listen to the Silence about the music of John Cage, and Slumberland, which explores the world of dreams and the night.

In 2015, Mélanie Dumont, who leads French Theatre’s Enfance/Jeunesse programming, and Geneviève Cimon, Director of Music Education and Community Engagement, attended BIG BANG at the Opéra de Lille in France, to see if the concept could work at the NAC.

“We were absolutely knocked out by it,” Dumont said. “The presentations were incredibly creative. And they were absolutely everywhere – not just on the stages, but in the halls, in the corridors, backstage, in every little corner. It was an atmosphere of total celebration and discovery.”

In developing the concept for the NAC, Dumont said she spoke frequently with Van Looy to ensure that the NAC festival would be true to his vision. That means making sure the emphasis is not on “teaching” children about music. Instead, it’s about turning the venue over to the artists and the children to experience music for themselves.

In that same vein, the festival’s ambassadors are always young people. At the NAC, they will be between the ages of 10 and 14, and they will welcome the public, interview artists, and become the public face of the festival.

With the NAC’s commitment to young audiences and beautiful new spaces for the artists and audiences to inhabit, it’s truly the perfect location for BIG BANG, Dumont said.

“Come to the BIG BANG. You will see things you’ve never seen before. It’s audacious!”


  • Artistic director

    Wouter Van Looy

  • Programmer

    Mélanie Dumont

  • Programming Advisors

    Geneviève Cimon and Xavier Forget

  • Producer

    Robert Gagné

  • Associate Producer

    Annick Huard

  • Marketing officer

    Marie-Chantale Labbé-Jacques

  • Communications Officer

    Andrea Ruttan

  • Marketing/communication interns

    Marion Humeau and Marion Lelong

  • Technical Director

    Élise Lefebvre

  • Assistant Technical Director

    Philippe Genest

  • Graphic designers

    Julie-Anne Madore, Dany Pépin and Aaron Bihari

  • Coordinators of the Ambassadors

    Véronique Lavoie-Marcus, Judi Pearl, Natasha Harwood and Venessa Lachance

Take advantage of our family programming!
Sign up to receive offers and information on family events.

Please enter your first name
Please enter your Last name
Please enter a valid email

Thanks for joining!

Big Bang festival is produced by the National Arts Centre in collaboration with Zonzo compagnie, with the support of the Canada Council for the Arts, Ottawa Tourism, Winterlude 2019, the Creative Europe Program of the European Union and by Donald T. Walcot.

BIG BANG Festival is a format developed and owned by Zonzo Compagnie.

Menu

À propos du festival Big Bang

© Dries Segers

Le Festival BIG BANG est unique en son genre ! Pendant deux jours, c’est tout le CNA qui vibrera au rythme d’une foule de propositions sonores destinées aux jeunes publics et à leurs familles. Du concert visuel avec orchestre au spectacle de jazz interactif en passant par des cœurs chantants ou de gros sacs gonflables qui font de la musique quand on roule dessus, tous et toutes sont invités à la découverte et à l’étonnement en plongeant dans un voyage musical haut en couleur au cœur de l’hiver ! 

BIG BANG est un des festivals pour enfants les plus courus en Europe. Il sera présenté en première nord-américaine ici même au CNA les 17 et 18 février.

Ce festival innovant, présenté dans plusieurs villes d’Europe, explore le monde fascinant de la musique, du son et des arts grâce à un éventail d’activités et de spectacles.

BIG BANG s’appuie sur l’héritage du festival OORSMEEER, fondé par Wouter Van Looy en 1995 pour offrir aux enfants une programmation artistique et musicale moderne conçue spécifiquement pour eux.

La venue de BIG BANG à Ottawa est le fruit de la relation qui unit le CNA à Zonzo Compagnie, collectif belge œuvrant pour le jeune public et fondé par M. Van Looy. Au cours des dernières années, le CNA a présenté plusieurs spectacles de Zonzo, dont Listen to the Silence, sur l’univers de John Cage, et Slumberland, une exploration du monde des rêves et de la nuit.

En 2015, Mélanie Dumont, responsable de la programmation Enfance/jeunesse du Théâtre français, et Geneviève Cimon, directrice de l’Éducation musicale et rayonnement dans la collectivité, ont assisté au Festival BIG BANG à l’Opéra de Lille en France, pour voir si le concept fonctionnerait au CNA.

« Nous avons été éblouies, explique Mélanie Dumont. Les présentations étaient incroyablement inventives. Et il y en avait partout : pas juste sur scène, mais aussi dans les halls, les couloirs, les coulisses et tous les coins et racoins de l’endroit. L’ambiance était totalement à la fête et à la découverte. »

Mme Dumont dit avoir beaucoup consulté M. Van Looy pour s’assurer que la mouture présentée au CNA respecterait l’intention du créateur. L’idée n’est pas « d’enseigner » des notions musicales, mais plutôt d’offrir l’endroit aux artistes et aux enfants en laissant ces derniers explorer la musique par eux-mêmes.

Dans le même esprit, les ambassadeurs du Festival sont toujours des jeunes. Au CNA, ils auront entre 10 et 14 ans. Ils accueilleront le public, intervieweront des artistes et seront le visage public du Festival.

Vu son engagement envers les jeunes auditoires et les superbes espaces qu’il met à la disposition des artistes et du public, le CNA est l’endroit idéal pour BIG BANG, dit Mélanie Dumont.

« Ne manquez pas ça. Vous verrez des choses inédites. C’est plein d’audace ! »


  • Directeur artistique 

    Wouter Van Looy

  • Responsable de la programmation

    Mélanie Dumont

  • Conseillers à la programmation 

    Geneviève Cimon et Xavier Forget

  • Producteur

    Robert Gagné

  • Productrice associée

    Annick Huard

  • Agente de marketing

    Marie-Chantale Labbé-Jacques

  • Agente de communications

    Andrea Ruttan

  • Stagiaires en communications/marketing

    Marion Humeau et Marion Lelong

  • Directrice technique

    Élise Lefebvre

  • Directeur technique adjoint

    Philippe Genest

  • Designers graphiques

    Julie-Anne Madore, Dany Pépin et Aaron Bihari

  • Coordonnatrices des Ambassadeurs

    Véronique Lavoie-Marcus, Judi Pearl, Natasha Harwood et Venessa Lachance

Profitez de notre programmation familiale!
Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir des offres et de l’information sur les événements pour la famille.

Veuillez fournir votre prénom
Veuillez fournir votre nom de famille
Veuillez fournir une adresse courriel

Le Festival Big Bang est présenté par le Centre national des Arts en collaboration avec la Zonzo compagnie, avec l’appui du Conseil des arts du Canada, Tourisme Ottawa, le Bal de Neige 2019, le programme Europe créative de l’Union européenne et Donald T. Walcot.

BIG BANG est un concept et la propriété de Zonzo Compagnie.

Menu