NAC is extending performance and event cancellations and postponements until June 30

Canada is our stage

STRATEGIC PLAN 2015-2020

Over the past 15 years, the National Arts Centre has grown into a thriving arts organization that is committed to supporting and championing artists from every part of Canada. We have worked hard — through our programming, our partnerships, our educational programs, our focus on artistic creation, and on our entrepreneurial outreach — to fulfill our national role.

Our new Strategic Plan, Canada Is Our Stage 2015 ‒ 2020, includes a number of initiatives that we believe will help us more effectively work with other arts organizations to build a national stage for the performing arts across Canada.


A game-changing emphasis on Canadian creation to help artists and arts organizations across Canada create ambitious new work for national and international audiences

We will invest in research and development, workshopping and residencies of significant new works in music, dance and theatre. We will also invest in new work that has had a first run, but that needs to go “back into the lab” before it can be remounted and showcased successfully. The NAC Foundation is committed to generating a level of fundraising that we hope will pave the way for a new model of creation in this country. We believe that by providing Canadian artists and arts organizations with a source of venture capital or “risk’ money, they will have a far better chance at producing compelling new work that will resonate with national and international audiences.

Recent creation projects: The Cycle: Theatre R & D in Canada | Dance Co-productions | English Theatre Collaborations | NACO Commissions: A Life Reflected 

The historic development of a new Department of Indigenous Theatre

In 2017, the NAC will appoint its first-ever Artistic Director of Indigenous Theatre. And in 2019 – the year of the NAC’s 50th anniversary – the NAC will launch its first full season of Indigenous Theatre. This initiative builds on the relationships we have developed over the past decade with Indigenous artists and arts organizations in English Theatre, our Music Alive Program and our national Scene festivals.

The expansion of our Music Alive Program to schools and communities in Atlantic Canada

Our Music Alive Program, which sends local teaching musicians to mostly rural and remote schools in Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba and Nunavut, has now reached more than 105,000 students, teachers and community members across Canada. Over the next five years, we will partner with classroom teachers, arts specialists and teaching artists across Atlantic Canada to extend the Music Alive Program to the four Atlantic provinces.

Shepherding the architectural rejuvenation of the NAC

Through the Architectural Rejuvenation of the NAC, we will finally embrace the Nation’s Capital and welcome patrons with a magnificent glass entrance and breathtaking new public spaces. We will animate these spaces with a wide range of community engagement activities from morning to night. The new National Arts Centre will be as much a community centre as it is a performing arts centre.

Becoming just as national in French as we are in English by renewing our commitment to Francophone artists, arts organizations and audiences

While the NAC has played a much larger role in English Canada over the past 15 years, the NAC recognizes it needs to play a more important role in the lives of Francophones in the National Capital Region, in Quebec, and across the country. Over the next five years, we will work to become just as national in French Canada as we are in English Canada.

Committed to showcasing Francophone artistsThéâtre français | Zones théâtrales | NAC Presents - Francophone musicians | NAC Orchestra | NAC DanceScene festivals

Re-creating the NAC’s arts education website ArtsAlive.ca as a cutting-edge digital learning platform

We will recreate our award-winning arts education website ArtsAlive.ca as a cutting-edge digital learning platform, filling a critical need for high-quality digital arts material that can be used in classrooms across Canada. This platform will also become the go-to place not only for students and teachers, but for performing arts lovers everywhere.

We are committed to working with artists and arts organizations across the country to enhance the performing arts in Canada. Read our Strategic Plan to learn more about the many exciting initiatives that the NAC will be undertaking over the next five years.

 

Download the 2015-2020 Strategic Plan

Menu

Rues fermées à la circulation autour du CNA pendant le Festival international de jazz d’Ottawa

Le Canada en scène

PLAN STRATÉGIQUE 2015-2020

Au fil des 15 dernières années, le Centre national des Arts est devenu une dynamique organisation culturelle s’appliquant à soutenir et à promouvoir les artistes de partout au Canada. Nous avons déployé beaucoup d’énergie — à travers notre programmation, nos partenariats, nos programmes éducatifs, notre orientation en faveur de la création et notre approche entrepreneuriale — pour remplir notre rôle national.

Je suis très heureux de vous faire part aujourd’hui de notre nouveau Plan stratégique 2015−2020, intitulé Le Canada en scène, qui énonce plusieurs initiatives qui nous aideront, croyons-nous, à travailler plus efficacement avec d’autres organisations artistiques à bâtir une vibrante scène nationale pour les arts du spectacle.


Orientation déterminante en faveur de la création en vue d’aider les artistes et les organisations artistiques de tout le Canada à réaliser des œuvres ambitieuses qui rayonneront à l’échelle nationale et internationale

Nous investirons dans la recherche et le développement, dans les résidences d’artistes et le travail en atelier de nouvelles œuvres majeures en musique, en danse et en théâtre. Nous investirons aussi dans des productions qui ont déjà été présentées mais qui ont besoin de « retourner sur le métier » pour pouvoir être remontées avec succès. La Fondation du CNA est déterminée à réunir un financement d’une ampleur inédite qui, nous l’espérons, ouvrira la voie à un nouveau modèle de création dans ce pays. Nous croyons qu’en procurant aux artistes et aux organisations artistiques du Canada une source de capital de risque, ils auront de bien meilleures chances de produire des œuvres  passionnantes qui trouveront leur public au pays et à l’étranger.  

Projets de création récents : Le Cycle : Recherche et développement en théâtre au Canada | Coproductions de Danse CNA | Théâtre anglais du CNA The Collaborations | Commandes de l'OCNA : Réflexions sur la vie 

Un jalon marquant : la création d’un département de Théâtre autochtone

En 2017, le CNA nommera son tout premier directeur artistique du Théâtre autochtone. Et en 2019 — année marquant le 50e anniversaire du CNA —, le nouveau département de Théâtre autochtone du CNA lancera sa première pleine saison. Cette initiative s’inscrit dans le prolongement des liens que nous avons tissés au cours de la dernière décennie avec des artistes et des organisations artistiques autochtones par l’entremise du Théâtre anglais du CNA, de nos festivals Scène et de notre programme Vive la musique.

Expansion du programme Vive la musique aux écoles et collectivités du Canada atlantique

Notre programme Vive la musique, qui envoie des musiciens-enseignants locaux dans des écoles de l’Alberta, de la Saskatchewan, du Manitoba et du Nunavut, principalement en milieu rural et en régions éloignées, a permis de joindre à ce jour au delà de 105 000 élèves, enseignants et membres de collectivités de ces régions. Au cours des cinq prochaines années, nous ferons équipe avec des enseignants, des spécialistes des arts et des artistes-enseignants de toute la région de l’Atlantique pour étendre le programme Vive la musique aux quatre provinces de l’Atlantique.

Concrétiser le renouvellement architectural du CNA

Au terme des travaux de renouvellement architectural du CNA, l’édifice embrassera enfin la capitale du pays et sera doté d’une magistrale entrée vitrée donnant accès à de nouveaux espaces publics à couper le souffle. Nous animerons ces espaces en y proposant, du matin au soir, une vaste gamme d’activités communautaires. Le nouveau CNA fera office tout autant de centre communautaire que de centre d’arts de la scène.  

Devenir une institution aussi nationale en français qu’en anglais en renouvelant notre engagement auprès des artistes, des organisations artistiques et des auditoires francophones

Si le CNA a nettement accru sa présence au Canada anglais au cours des 15 dernières années, il reconnaît qu’il doit tenir une place plus importante dans la vie des francophones de la région de la capitale nationale, du Québec et de partout ailleurs au pays. Au cours des cinq prochaines années, le CNA s’emploiera à devenir aussi national au Canada français qu’il l’est au Canada anglais.

Engagés à mettre en valeur les artistes francophones : Théâtre français | Zones Théâtrales | CNA Présente - Musiciens francophones | Orchestre du CNA | Danse CNAFestivals Scène

Remodeler notre site Web éducatif Artsvivants.ca pour en faire une plateforme d’apprentissage numérique de pointe

Nous allons remodeler notre site Web éducatif primé Artsvivants.ca pour en faire une plateforme d’apprentissage numérique de pointe, afin de combler un besoin criant de ressources numériques de qualité en enseignement des arts applicables dans les salles de classe de tout le Canada. Cette plateforme deviendra une ressource par excellence, non seulement pour les élèves et enseignants, mais aussi pour tous les amoureux des arts de la scène.

Nous avons à cœur de travailler avec les artistes et les organisations artistiques de partout au Canada pour favoriser l’essor des arts de la scène au pays. Nous vous invitons à lire notre Plan stratégique pour en apprendre plus sur les nombreuses initiatives passionnantes que le Centre national des Arts mettra de l’avant dans les cinq prochaines années.

 

Télécharger le Plan stratégique 2015-2020

Menu