• What are the hours of the Intermezzo Bar?

    The Intermezzo Bar is open 1 hour prior to and during NAC performances in Southam Hall and the Theatre only. Non alcoholic and alcoholic drinks may be purchased. A selection of sandwiches and light meals may be purchased.

  • Where may I purchase NAC gift items?

    Gift Cards

    The NAC does not sell NAC Orchestra recordings online at this time.

    Patrons are invited to visit NACmusicbox.ca to stream high quality archival recordings by the NAC Orchestra for free.

  • What is the NAC's late-comers policy?

    Latecomers will be permitted to reach their seats only during a suitable pause in the programme.

  • Is there a Dress Code at the NAC?

    There is no official dress code for the National Arts Centre.

  • When do I clap during orchestral performances?

    1. Count the number of movements of a piece indicated in the performance programme. If the piece has four movements, the performers will almost always pause in between movements. Once you have counted three pauses you can be quite sure that you're now listening to the finale.
    2. Wait for the rest of the audience to start the applause, then, join in! Your enthusiasm is always appreciated.
  • Does the NAC loan props and instruments?

    The National Arts Centre does not rent or lend its props or musical instruments to the public. The National Arts Centre does not offer a musical instrument repair service.

  • How may I volunteer with the NAC?

    If you would like to volunteer with the National Arts Centre please contact Human Resources at resume@nac-cna.ca.

    If you would like to volunteer with the NAC Orchestra please leave a message with the NACO Association at (613) 947-7000 ext. 590.

  • What is the procedure for auditions?

    Auditions for the National Arts Centre Orchestra are posted on online as positions become available.

    General auditions for English Theatre are held approximately once a year and are only open to residents of the National Capital Region. The NAC English Theatre only auditions actors living outside the National Capital Region for specific productions if and when required.

    Photos and resumes can be sent year round to:

    NAC English Theatre
    PO Box 1534, Station B.
    Ottawa, ON
    K1P 5W1

  • Does the NAC provide a baby-sitting service?

    The National Arts Centre does not offer a baby-sitting service. Patrons can be reached during performances. Leave the Foyer phone number, (613) 947-7000 ext. 682, and seat location with anyone who may need to call.

  • Infant Policy

    "Babes in Arms" tickets are available for children under two years of age for "children" shows only! These tickets have no seat location indicated on them thereby permit a child to sit on a parent's lap. "Babes in Arms" tickets are the price of the lowest ticket sold in the hall for a particular event. If a child is using a seat, he or she will need a regular ticket. For events other than childrens' shows, ALL patrons will need a regular ticket.

  • Scent Policy

    Out of consideration for your fellow patrons, we ask that you limit the wearing/use of products with perfume when you are visiting us. Less is more... none is best! If you are experiencing an allergic reaction due to your seating location, please contact the House Manager about the possibility of a relocation.

  • Policy Concerning Cameras and Recording Equipment

    Photographic and recording equipment is strictly prohibited inside the hall without prior written permission from the NAC; infringement of this rule can lead to immediate suspension of admission privileges.

  • Patron Feedback

    During your visit to the National Arts Centre if there is something that hinders your enjoyment, please ask an usher to refer you to the Patron Services Supervisor on duty.

Questions courantes

  • Quelles sont les heures d'ouverture du Bar Intermezzo?

    Le Bar Intermezzo ouvre une heure avant le lever du rideau, uniquement lorsqu'il y a des représentations à la salle Southam ou au Théâtre, et demeure ouvert pendant toute la durée des représentations. On y sert des boissons alcoolisées et non alcoolisées ainsi que des sandwiches et des repas légers.

  • Où puis-je acheter des articles-cadeaux du CNA?

    Cartes-cadeaux

    Le CNA ne vend pas d’enregistrements de l’Orchestre du CNA en ligne à ce moment-ci.

    Le public est invité à visiter le site BoiteamusiqueCNA.ca, où il pourra écouter gratuitement des enregistrements d’archives de haute qualité de l’Orchestre du CNA.

  • Quelle est la politique du CNA concernant les retardataires?

    Les retardataires ne peuvent gagner leur fauteuil que pendant une pause convenable durant la représentation.

  • Le CNA exige-t-il une tenue vestimentaire particulière?

    Il n'y a pas de code officiel concernant la tenue vestimentaire au Centre national des Arts.

  • Quand puis-je applaudir durant les représentations orchestrales?

    1. Consultez le programme pour savoir combien de mouvements comporte la pièce musicale. Les musiciens font presque toujours une pause entre chaque mouvement. Ainsi, si une pièce compte quatre mouvements, vous aurez la certitude d'écouter la finale après la troisième pause.
    2. Attendez que les autres spectateurs se mettent à applaudir, puis emboîtez le pas! L'enthousiasme est toujours de mise.
  • Le CNA prête-t-il des accessoires et des instruments?

    Le Centre national des Arts ne prête ni ne loue ses accessoires et ses instruments de musique au public. Le Centre national des Arts n'offre pas de service de réparation d'instruments de musique.

  • Que dois-je faire pour devenir bénévole auprès du CNA?

    Pour offrir vos services bénévolement au Centre national des Arts, veuillez écrire à Ressources humaines à l'adresse suivante : resume@nac-cna.ca

    Pour devenir bénévole auprès de l'Orchestre du CNA, veuillez envoyer un courriel à Les Amis de l'Orchestre du CNA au Benevoles@AmisDOCNA.ca.

  • Comment s'inscrit-on à une audition?

    Les auditions de l'Orchestre du Centre national des Arts sont affichées en ligne chaque fois qu'un poste se libère.

    Des auditions générales pour le Théâtre anglais ont habituellement lieu une fois par an et ne sont ouvertes qu'aux résidents de la région de la capitale nationale. Les comédiens de l'extérieur de la RCN ne sont invités à auditionner qu'au besoin, lorsqu'une production spéciale est envisagée.

    Les intéressés peuvent envoyer une photographie et leur curriculum vitae en tout temps à l'adresse suivante :

    Théâtre anglais du CNA
    Case postale 1534, succursale B
    Ottawa (Ontario)
    K1P 5W1

  • Le CNA offre-t-il un service de garde d'enfants?

    Le Centre national des Arts n'offre pas de service de garde d'enfants. Toutefois, il est possible de joindre les spectateurs pendant une représentation. Le cas échéant, vous devez laisser le numéro de téléphone du Foyer, (613) 947-7000, poste 682, et le numéro de votre fauteuil à quiconque pourrait avoir besoin de vous appeler.

  • Politique concernant les enfants

    Pour les spectacles pour enfants, tous les clients doivent avoir un billet au prix courant.

    Pour la plupart des autres spectacles présentés par le CNA, des billets pour « bébé tenu dans les bras » sont disponibles pour les enfants de moins de deux ans.  Ces billets ne portent pas d'indication de siège, car ils permettent seulement aux enfants de s'asseoir sur les genoux de leur parent. Les billets pour « bébé tenu dans les bras » se vendent au tarif le moins cher offert pour le spectacle en question. Si l'enfant occupe un siège, il doit avoir un billet au prix courant.
     
    Pour tous les spectacles non présentés par le CNA, tous les clients doivent avoir un billet au prix courant.

  • Politique sur le parfum

    Par respect pour les autres spectateurs, nous vous demandons de limiter l'utilisation de produits parfumés lorsque vous nous visitez. Une goutte de parfum, c'est bien; pas de parfum du tout, c'est mieux! Si vous êtes victime d'une réaction allergique, veuillez avertir le régisseur de salle, qui s'efforcera de vous trouver une autre place.

  • Politique concernant les appareils photo et d'enregistrement

    Il est strictement interdit d'avoir des appareils photographiques et d'enregistrement dans une salle, sans une autorisation écrite préalable du CNA; l'infraction à ce règlement peut entraîner une suspension immédiate du droit d'accès.

  • Rétroaction des clients

    Au cours de votre visite au Centre national des Arts, si quelque chose contrarie votre divertissement, veuillez demander à un placeur de vous diriger vers le superviseur de garde aux Services à la clientèle.

Menu