NAC is extending performance and event cancellations and postponements until August 31
NACO Lunch Break

NACO Lunch Break: Leela Gilday and Sylvia Cloutier

with members of the NAC Orchestra
Video 60 / 60

We're celebrating National Indigenous Peoples Day by reuniting with Leela Gilday and Sylvia Cloutier for a throwback to a concert we performed with them in Iqaluit, Nunavut in 2017 as part of our northern tour.

A passionate singer-songwriter and soulful performer, Leela Gilday has a voice that comes straight from the heart. Confessing her stories to her audiences with a gutsy voice and open stage presence, Leela weaves her experiences as a Northerner, a member of the Dene nation and a traveller into a beautiful world that transports the listener.

Sylvia Cloutier, is originally from Kuujjuaq, Nunavik (Northern Quebec) but now living in Montreal, is well-known for performing Inuit throat-singing and drum dancing. She has collaborated with many artists all over the world and joined then-Governor General Michaëlle Jean on a state visit to Norway and Ukraine in 2009.

The song you are about to hear - We Fall - is taken from a set of four songs the two artists created that explores the theme of motherhood and is a reflection of the maternal energy in nature and the natural cycle of giving life, nurturing growth, love and letting go. Enjoy your NACO Lunch Break and happy National Indigenous Peoples Day!

Marjolaine Lambert, violin
Frederic Moisan, violin
David Goldblatt, viola
Leah Wyber, cello
Colin Traquair, trombone
Kimball Sykes, clarinet
Kaili Maimets, flute
Orchestration: Christopher Mayo

Menu

Le CNA prolonge les annulations et les reports d'événements jusqu'au 31 août
Pause-midi avec l'OCNA

Pause-midi avec l’Orchestre : Leela Gilday et Sylvia Cloutier

avec membres de l'Orchestre du CNA
Vidéo 60 / 60

Nous célébrons la Journée nationale des peuples autochtones en retrouvant Leela Gilday et Sylvia Cloutier pour un concert que nous avons présenté avec elles en 2017 à Iqaluit, au Nunavut, dans le cadre de notre Tournée dans le Nord canadien.

Auteure-compositrice-interprète passionnée et artiste d’une grande profondeur, Leela Gilday possède une voix qui vient directement du cœur. Racontant ses histoires devant public sur un ton hardi et avec une généreuse présence scénique, elle dépeint, à travers ses expériences de Ténoise, de Dénée et de voyageuse, un magnifique univers qui transporte l’auditoire.

Originaire de Kuujjuaq, au Nunavik (nord du Québec), Sylvia Cloutier est aujourd’hui établie à Montréal, et est renommée pour ses interprétations de danses du tambour et chants de gorge inuits. Elle a collaboré avec de nombreux artistes partout dans le monde et a notamment accompagné l’ex-gouverneure générale Michaëlle Jean lors d’une visite officielle en Norvège et en Ukraine en 2009.

La chanson que vous allez entendre, We Fall, est tirée d’un ensemble de quatre chansons que les deux artistes ont créées qui explorent le thème de la maternité et reflètent l’énergie maternelle dans la nature et le cycle naturel de donner la vie, alimenter la croissance, aimer et laisser aller. Profitez bien de la Pause-midi avec l’OCNA et passez une bonne Journée nationale des peuples autochtones!

Marjolaine Lambert, violon
Frederic Moisan, violon
David Goldblatt, alto
Leah Wyber, violoncelle
Colin Traquair, trombone
Kimball Sykes, clarinette
Kaili Maimets, flûte
Orchestration: Christopher Mayo

Menu