Inclusive Arts – On the Same Stage

H’art Centre (Kingston, Ontario)
  Subtitles available in English French

This on-demand video webinar features artists, arts instructors, and allies to the D/deaf and Disability arts community. 

In this video, H’art Centre in Kingston, Ontario shares stories of local professional artists and their experiences working on arts projects with D/deaf artists and artists with disabilities. This webinar will introduce H’art’s award-winning MixAbilities Inclusive Arts Training Program that benefited from consolidating those years of experiences and current best practices.

In short interviews, the artists will discuss – from an ally perspective – some of the existing barriers that prevent full participation in the arts, arts training, and arts opportunities for people with disabilities and the D/deaf.

In addition, as our nation ages, artists will speak to the reality that more and more people are experiencing barriers to participation in the arts.  

Collectively, we recognize this video is from the perspective of allied artists and arts instructors. Its intention is to encourage the wider arts community to move beyond current practices towards a spirit of full inclusion. 

Overall, H’art Centre hopes that this video will inspire you to learn more, collaborate more and start incorporating what you’ve learned into your next workshop or class to make way for the D/deaf artists and artists with disabilities. 

* * *

Participating artists
Amy Booth, Camille Spencer, Holly Gwynne-Timothy, Isidora Spielman, Kirsteen MacLeod, Karen Dolan, Katherine Porter, Kathi Toth-Switzer, Kathryn MacKay, Daniel Chalmers.

Menu

Stimuler la créativité par les arts

Arts inclusifs – Sur la même scène

H’art Centre (Kingston, Ontario)
  Vidéo en anglais   Sous-titres en anglais français

Ce webinaire à la demande met en vedette des artistes, des pédagogues en arts et des allié·e·s des membres sourds et en situation de handicap de la communauté artistique. 

Dans cette vidéo, l’équipe du H’art Centre de Kingston, en Ontario, raconte les collaborations artistiques entamées entre des artistes professionnels de la région et des artistes sourds et en situation de handicap. Elle présente également MixAbilities, son programme primé de formation sur les arts inclusifs, qui s’appuie sur des années d’expérience et les meilleures pratiques en vigueur. 

Dans de courtes entrevues, les artistes aborderont – à titre d’allié·e·s – les obstacles qui empêchent la pleine participation des personnes sourdes et en situation de handicap aux activités et formations artistiques. 

Avec le vieillissement de la population, les artistes témoigneront de l’augmentation du nombre de personnes tenues éloignées du secteur des arts.   

Nous sommes conscients que cette vidéo ne reflète que le point de vue des pédagogues en arts et des artistes alliés, l’objectif étant d’encourager la communauté artistique dans son ensemble à dépasser les pratiques actuelles pour réussir une intégration véritable. 

Par ailleurs, le H’art Centre espère que cette vidéo piquera suffisamment votre curiosité pour vous donner envie d’en apprendre plus, de multiplier les collaborations et de mettre en pratique, en classe ou à l’occasion d’un prochain atelier, vos connaissances acquises, et ainsi faire place aux artistes sourds et en situation de handicap. 

* * *

Artistes participantes :  Amy Booth, Camille Spencer, Holly Gwynne-Timothy, Isidora Spielman, Kirsteen MacLeod, Karen Dolan, Katherine Porter, Kathi Toth-Switzer, Kathryn MacKay, Daniel Chalmers.

Menu