Ersatz

Lévriers

Success and failure

“Success isn’t something you can buy at the supermarket…”
Jacqueline in Lévriers

The Queen of the hop, the King of hip hop, the Prince of profit: the “nobility” of today seek the shining crown of success at any cost. Courageously, the performers in Lévriers look at the other side of the mirror to examine their disappointing flaws and shattered dreams, openly talking about it on stage.  

Sophie Gee has directed a poignant work that searches through our warehouse of ordinary failures in search of bright spots in the world.  

By the way…

Lévriers is described as a breath of fresh air, in Le Devoir. (In French only)


Creation
Script: collectively, in collaboration with Pénélope Bourque and Mercedeh Baroque / Director: Sophie Gee / With Sophie Gee, Jacqueline van de Geer, Corinne Crane, Steven Korolnek, Ghislain Shema Ndayisaba and Lucas Charlie Rose / Coproduction: Nervous Hunter and MAI (Montréal, arts interculturels)

The three key ingredients of theatre

Just imagine that the script, costumes, sets, sound, lighting and performance by the actors are separate items in front of you, like a batch of ingredients. It wouldn’t work. The director is the person who works to make sense of things, to put them together, fine-tune and link them. 

In Lévriers, there’s something special about it; it’s as if the play is being created before our eyes… Sophie Gee, the director and creator, performs alongside the actors and actresses. This gives us a simultaneous overview of the staging process. 

Sophie Gee is telling the story of her relationship with theatre.    

- - -

How did theatre enter your life and when did you decide to make it your profession?               

My parents are immigrants who did blue collar work and we never went to the theatre, but I always enjoyed it when children’s shows came to my primary school classroom. In high school, I was in a club that went to shows together and we would be given a tour backstage before each performance. That’s what introduced me to the magic of theatre. I can remember a production of Macbeth at the Citadel Theatre in Edmonton in which the actors created a storm by synchronizing their body movements, and it made a great impression on me.   

But theatre remained a pastime when I was growing up. I was just in the audience. I wanted to become a writer at the time. At university, I changed my mind and enrolled in film studies, and after that I worked in film for quite a while. But I continued to attend theatre productions and took courses. I began to act and direct. I eventually decided to go back to school and was fortunately accepted into the National Theatre School’s directing program.                                            

What are the three ingredients of your ideal theatre? 

Wow, three ingredients of theatre. I love that question. For me it’s –            

Community  

Dream 

Vulnerability (or something else that you don’t want others to see – vulnerability, ugliness, something shameful – I suppose that might mean honesty)

“Falling down is not a failure. Failure means staying where you fell.”
Socrate

Taming failure 

Failure is scary. Just thinking about it can paralyze us. And yet, whether it’s a simple mistake or a total mess, it can teach us a lot, surprise us, and even make us more creative.     

Three generations will be sharing their perception of the subject. One thing is certain, and that is that they agree on one thing, which is that failure is an experience! 

Is it possible for someone to never experience failure in their life?

What can we learn from failure?

« Jealous? Me? »

Jealousy  (noun): Lit. Resentfully envious (for something you care about).

It’s neither easy nor exciting to speak about this emotion. Think back to a moment when you felt jealous. Ask family members, friends and yourself about this.                           

To help out, try the following:

What kind of situation gives rise to jealousy? Do you have an example?

How does jealousy express itself in you?

Did this feeling go away? If so, how did you manage to get over it?

Take down everything they say in short paragraphs, and above each paragraph, state the name and age of each person (they are, of course, entitled to remain anonymous if they wish). You can also add your own recollections and thoughts. With this in hand, you now have a good starting point for a classroom discussion or a conversation among friends.

Don’t forget! A recollection can turn into a poem. Many artists use them as a basis for a work. In La patience du lichen, Quebec poet Noémie Pomerleau-Cloutier recalls stories about residents of the North Shore – Innu, Francophone and Anglophone – to bring their voices to life in a poem. You can find a summary of her research/creation phase here

“That’s impossible, everyone gets jealous!” 

—Sophie Gee in Lévriers

A day as a photo booth 

Our days can be routine, messy, wide-ranging, started on the wrong foot, fresh, complex: they do their best to hold our lives together. That’s how our successes and the lack thereof follow one another. 

For an entire day, take photographs of your everyday life as things happen, without necessarily staging anything. They can be routine, unexpected, or surprising.                                  

After that, place a short descriptive caption on some of the photographs, and don’t bother to put a caption on others.    

If you put it all together, you can make a poster that uses words and pictures. You could also opt for a digital version by creating an album of your entire day. In any event, it will be a wonderful addition to your personal diary, or simply a memento. 

“Failures and victories, that’s what’s in my mirror.”

—Koriass

Obstacle course 

The performers in Lévriers talk about their setbacks. They tell their stories to one another, recount them and share them. Some tribulations are invisible, like the conflict that Lucas, who is transgender, experiences every day. Others, like Ghislain and Jaqueline, have abandoned what they have experienced so far and are reinventing a new world. 

When there are problems, and we will all encounter them in life, people can help one another out.

“The fear of failure is greater than the desire to succeed.”
Angèle 

Record a piece of advice in a voicemail and treat it like a message in a bottle that you can perhaps recover in the future. 

What tips do you have to help you get through the storms?

Are there actions, words perhaps, that get you back on your feet?

P.S. To be kept safe in your archives, whether for you or someone dear to you.

“Success for me isn’t a destination it’s a journey.
Everybody’s working to get to the top, but where is the top?”

—Rihanna

Success in your own words 

How about taking apart the short and serious definition sometimes given to success? Like Rihanna’s or Jacqueline’s, who wrote in her letter, “I’m successful in the sense that I’m comfortable with myself and I forgive you for everything.” Come up with your own personal definition.

Healthy tutorial 

1. On a sheet of paper, begin by writing the following words: “I’m successful because…”, or “success: definition.” 

2. Your personal touch: your definition may be drawn from an anecdote, a personal event, an accomplishment that you’re proud of, no matter how often it has occurred or how important it might be.   

3. What next? A demonstration in your schoolyard, in which everyone talks together. Or a huge collage on the classroom walls, a reinvented fresco of what success means.

“Luckily, every success is the failure of something else.”
Jacques Prévert

Still curious?

Here are some suggestions to continue your exploration:

Additional resources 


Reading list 

“Success is often achieved by those who don’t know that failure is inevitable.” 

—Coco Chanel

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 22 octobre 2021.

Ersatz

Lévriers

Jouer aux échecs 

« Le succès c’est pas quelque chose que tu peux acheter dans un supermarché… »
Jacqueline, dans Lévriers

Queen de la danse, Roi du hip-hop, Prince des finances : les nobles de notre époque revêtent la couronne rutilante du succès à tout prix. Courageusement, les interprètes de Lévriers retournent le miroir du côté mat pour y observer leurs fêlures et rêves déçus, en mode témoignage et scène ouverte.  

Sophie Gee signe ici une œuvre poignante qui fouille le dépotoir de nos échecs ordinaires pour en ressortir des perles d’humanité  

En passant…

On parle du vent de fraîcheur qu’est Lévriers, juste ici, dans Le Devoir.


Crédits
Texte : Collectif, en collaboration avec Pénélope Bourque et Mercedeh Baroque / Mise en scène : Sophie Gee / Avec Sophie Gee, Jacqueline van de Geer, Corinne Crane, Steven Korolnek, Ghislain Shema Ndayisaba et Lucas Charlie Rose / Coproduction : Nervous Hunter et MAI (Montréal, arts interculturels)

Les trois ingrédients du théâtre

Imaginez si le texte, les costumes, le décor, le son, les éclairages et le jeu des acteurs étaient des morceaux épars devant vous, comme autant d’ingrédients. Ça ne tiendrait pas debout. Un ou une metteur.se en scène, c’est la personne qui travaille à faire sens, qui assemble, ajuste et relie.  

Dans Lévriers, c’est particulier; on dirait que la pièce se crée sous nos yeux… Sophie Gee, la metteuse en scène et l’idéatrice du spectacle joue aux côtés des acteurs et des actrices. On a donc, en simultané, un aperçu du travail de mise en scène.  

Sophie Gee nous raconte ici l’histoire de sa relation avec le théâtre.

- - -

Comment le théâtre est entré dans ta vie et à quel moment as-tu choisi d'en faire ton métier? 

Mes parents sont des immigrants qui font du col bleu et nous n’allions pas au théâtre, mais j’ai toujours apprécié quand les spectacles pour enfants visitaient ma classe au primaire. Au secondaire, j’étais dans un club où on voyait des spectacles ensemble et nous faisions des tours en coulisse avant chaque spectacle. Ça m’a introduit à la magie du théâtre. Et je me rappelle d’une production de Macbeth au Citadel Theatre à Edmonton où les comédiens incarnaient une tempête avec leur corps en synchronicité et c’est un souvenir fort pour moi.  

Mais le théâtre est resté un passe-temps pendant que je grandissais. J’étais spectatrice. À cette époque, je voulais devenir écrivaine. À l’université, j’ai changé et j’ai étudié le cinéma, et après, j’ai travaillé dans ce domaine pendant longtemps. Mais j’ai continué à voir du théâtre et j’ai pris des cours. J’ai commencé à jouer et à faire des mises en scène. Finalement, j’ai décidé de retourner à l’école et heureusement j’ai été acceptée dans le programme de mise en scène à l’École nationale de théâtre!  

Quels sont les trois ingrédients de ton théâtre idéal? 

Oh les trois ingrédients pour le théâtre! J’adore cette question! Pour moi c’est :

Communauté 

Rêve 

Vulnérabilité (ou quelque chose qu'on ne veut pas montrer aux autres – de la vulnérabilité, de la laideur, quelque chose de honteux – ça veut dire, l’honnêteté peut-être)

« La chute n’est pas un échec. L’échec c’est de rester là où on est tombé. »
Socrate 

Apprivoiser l’échec

L’échec fait peur. Il nous paralyse rien que d’y penser. Et pourtant, simple erreur ou ratage, il peut nous en apprendre beaucoup, nous surprendre, et même nous rendre plus créatives et créatifs. 

Trois générations partagent leur perception sur le sujet. Pour sûr, elles s’entendent sur un point, l’échec, c’est une expérience!

Est-ce possible que quelqu’un ne vive jamais l’échec dans sa vie?

Qu’est-ce qu’on peut apprendre d’un échec?

« Jaloux? Moi? »

Jalousie (nom féminin) : Littér. Attachement vif et inquiet (pour ce qui tient à cœur). (CNRTL)

Pas si facile ni exaltant de parler de cette émotion. Repêchez dans vos souvenirs un moment où vous avez ressenti la jalousie en vous. Interrogez les membres de votre famille, vos ami(e)s et vous-même sur le sujet.

Pour aider votre interlocuteur, vous pouvez suivre ces pistes :  

Quelle sorte de situation fait naître ce sentiment? As-tu un exemple?

De quelle manière la jalousie se manifeste en toi?

S’est-elle dissipée? Si oui, comment es-tu parvenu à traverser ce sentiment?

Amalgamez leurs témoignages en courts paragraphes, en notant, au-dessus de chacun, le nom et l’âge (mais ils peuvent, bien sûr, rester anonymes). Vous pouvez aussi y insérer votre souvenir, vos réflexions. Avec ce recueil en main, ce serait un bon point de départ pour une discussion en classe ou entre amis.

Psst! D’un témoignage peut fleurir un poème. Plusieurs artistes travaillent sur la base du témoignage pour créer une œuvre. Dans La patience du lichen, la poète québécoise Noémie Pomerleau-Cloutier recueille les histoires des habitants de la Côte-Nord – innus, francophones et anglophones – pour que leurs voix vivent en poème. Un aperçu de sa phase de recherche et création juste ici

« Mais ça se peut pas, tout le monde est jaloux! »

—Sophie Gee, dans Lévriers

Une journée en photomaton

Elles peuvent être routinières, mal amochées, vastes, du mauvais pied, fraîches, emberlificotées : nos journées rythment notre vie de leur mieux. C’est là où nos bons coups et nos moins bons coups se succèdent.

Pendant un jour, prenez en photo des moments de votre quotidien sur le vif, sans nécessairement arranger la scène. Vous pouvez choisir des éléments de votre routine, vos imprévus, vos surprises.  

Ensuite, apposez une courte légende descriptive à certaines photos, alors que d’autres peuvent rester silencieuses.  

Avec le matériel récolté, vous pourriez en faire une affiche avec mots et photos. Ou bien, opter pour l’option numérique en créant l’album de votre journée. Dans tous les cas, ce serait un super ajout à votre journal personnel, ou tout simplement, un fragment de vie en souvenir.

« Échecs et victoires, c’que dans mon miroir »

—Koriass

Parcours à obstacles

Les performeurs et performeuses de Lévriers s’ouvrent sur le lot d’obstacles qu’ils ont traversés. Ils se racontent leurs histoires, se remémorent et partagent. Certaines épreuves sont invisibles, comme la guerre que Lucas, transgenre, mène au quotidien. D’autres, comme Ghislain et Jaqueline, ont quitté ce qu’ils connaissaient pour un monde à réinventer.

En cas de bourrasques – parce que nos vies ont toutes leur part d’obstacles – on peut toujours se donner un coup de main.

« La peur de l’échec est plus grande que l’envie de réussir »
Angèle 

Enregistrez un conseil en message vocal, comme une bouteille à la mer que vous pourrez récupérer dans le futur.
 

Quels sont vos astuces préférées, celles qui vous aident à traverser les tempêtes?

Y a-t-il des actions, des mots, qui vous remettent sur pied?

P.-S. À garder précieusement dans vos archives, pour vous, ou même pour l’un de vos proches.

« Pour moi, le succès n’est pas une destination, c’est un voyage.
Tout le monde tente d’atteindre le sommet, mais où est le sommet? »

—Rihanna

Le succès dans vos mots

Et si on désamorçait la définition pointue et sérieuse qu’on donne parfois au succès? Comme Rihanna ou Jacqueline, qui écrit dans sa lettre, « j’ai du succès dans le sens que je suis bien avec moi-même et que je te pardonne pour tout », inventez votre définition personnelle.

Tutoriel bonne mine

1. Sur un bout de papier, débutez avec ces quelques mots : « J’ai du succès parce que … », ou encore « Succès (n.m.) : … » 

2. Votre touche personnelle : la définition que vous créez peut être tirée d’une anecdote, d’un évènement plus intime, d’un accomplissement qui fait sourire, peu importe sa fréquence et sa portée.  

3. Et puis après... Qu'est-ce qu’on en fait? Une manifestation dans la cour de votre école, où les mots de chacun jaillissent. Ou bien un grand collage sur les murs de la classe, une fresque du succès réinventé.

« Fort heureusement, chaque réussite est l’échec d’autre chose. »
Jacques Prévert

Insatiables?

Étanchez votre curiosité et poursuivez l’exploration selon vos envies :

Ressources additionnelles   


Liste de lecture 

« Le succès est souvent atteint par ceux qui ne savent pas que l’échec est inévitable »

—Coco Chanel

Menu