NAC French Theatre

2019-2020 SEASON

Mathieu Rivard

Brigitte HAENTJENS Artistic director

A Helping Hand

The upheavals that typify our modern era are frequently listed. Are they more radical than in the past? Of course, all the restraints that seemed to curb violence—political, social, domestic—appear to have failed. Violence insinuates itself into everyday life, becomes commonplace, infiltrates conversations and relationships. Isolation and insecurity make us vulnerable, more fragile and perhaps more submissive. One sometimes has the feeling of being subjected to barbarism, buffeted by the waves of a system that was nevertheless forged by humans.

Artists, like everyone else, are looking for answers. They examine the past, they mine history to find material as much to deepen our understanding as to spark hope. And in the present, they question civil and political society as well as more intimate structures: the family, the group, the couple. They are driven by the desire to find the light in the darkness, even in the obscurantism in which we live today. As if we had to die in order to be reborn. As if we had to stand up, to come together as a community in order to find a more just, more fraternal path.

The artistic concepts we are so proud to present to you are impressively imaginative in their forms and styles. Without pretension, they reflect the concerns of our society and express, from very different perspectives, beauty and hope. They are a helping hand toward a more just, more humane society.

Brigitte Haentjens

Artistic Director

Menu

50% de rabais sur les abonnements - 2 jours seulement - Ne manquez pas ça! (Compte à rebours :
)

Théâtre français du CNA

SAISON 2019-2020

Mathieu Rivard

Brigitte HAENTJENS Directrice artistique

Une main tendue

On énumère souvent les bouleversements qui accompagnent l’époque actuelle. Sont-ils plus radicaux qu’autrefois ? Bien sûr, tous les verrous qui semblaient juguler la violence – politique, sociale, familiale – ont l’air d’avoir sauté. Celle-ci s’introduit dans le quotidien, se banalise, s’infiltre dans les conversations et les relations. L’isolement et la précarité nous rendent vulnérables, plus fragiles et peut-être plus soumis. On a parfois le sentiment d’être assujetti à la barbarie, balloté par les vagues d’un système que l’humain a pourtant forgé.

Les artistes, comme le peuple, cherchent des réponses. Ils examinent le passé, l’Histoire, pour y trouver matière à comprendre autant qu’à espérer. Et dans le présent, ils interrogent les sociétés civile et politique aussi bien que les structures plus intimes : la famille, le groupe, le couple. Ils ont le désir de trouver la lumière dans l’obscurité, voire dans l’obscurantisme actuel. Comme s’il fallait mourir pour renaître. Comme s’il fallait se dresser, se rassembler en collectivité pour trouver une voie plus juste, plus fraternelle.

Les propositions artistiques que nous sommes si fiers de vous présenter sont tout à fait éclatées dans les formes et les styles. Elles reflètent sans prétention les préoccupations de notre société et expriment, depuis des horizons bien différents, la beauté et l’espoir. Elles sont une main tendue vers une société plus juste, plus humaine.

Brigitte Haentjens

Directrice artistique

Menu