September 27, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

L’École à l’œuvre : La boîte-paysage

Artist residency with Marie-Eve Fontaine
4e à la 8e année Francophone Theatre Youth Workshops Visual Arts

Ages 10-14

*Available Winter 2022*

Receive an artist in residence in your classroom! 

The imagination knows no bounds. With it, we explore, we invent, we fly away, we solve, we dream. Imagination allows us to escape the boundaries of time and place, the constraints of reality. It’s also a muscle that can become weak and atrophied. Yes, it’s true: you have to train yourself to dream in colour! In pandemic times, when our freedom is restricted by a virus, it’s especially important to train our imagination. The boîte-paysage (landscape box) is a tool that allows us to go on a dream journey and reinvent ourselves. As the poet Vasko Popa would say, “Now in the little box / You have the whole world in miniature”. 

Led by artist Marie-Ève Fontaine, this series of workshops is a kind of boot camp for the imagination, where your students will be encouraged to generate new ideas, reinvent themselves and navigate unexplored landscapes. Once their imaginations are well engaged, their mission will be to illustrate their visions by creating their own landscape box, which will become a key tool for them to tell their own dream stories! 

 

Session content 

Workshop 1: Brainstorming 

Workshop 2: Fine-tuning your story 

Workshop 3: The banner and the box 

Workshop 4: Assembling the landscape box 

Workshop 5: Presenting the landscape box 

 

Space is limited, so book early! If you have any questions, please contact Véronique Lavoie-Marcus, Coordinator, Youth Programming, NAC French Theatre. 

Learning and engagement at Canada’s National Arts Centre is made possible through the support of many generous individuals and organizations from across the country. The Music Alive Program is made possible thanks to the leadership support of National Partner, The Azrieli Foundation, and Major Supporters, The Slaight Family Foundation and TD Bank Group. Thank you also to Grant and Alice Burton, Canada Life, A Donor-Advised Fund at the Community Foundation of Ottawa, Friends of the NAC Orchestra, Donors to the NAC Foundation's Future Fund, The Janice and Earle O’Born Fund for Artistic Excellence, and the donors and sponsors of the NAC’s National Youth and Education Trust, the primary resource for youth and education funding at the National Arts Centre.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 27 septembre 2021.

L’École à l’œuvre : La boîte-paysage

Résidence d'artiste avec Marie-Ève Fontaine
4e année à secondaire 2 Francophone Théâtre Jeunesse Ateliers Arts visuels

10-14 ans

*Disponible à l'hiver 2022*

Recevez une artiste en résidence dans votre classe ! 

L’imaginaire est sans bornes. Avec lui, on explore, on invente, on s’envole, on solutionne, on rêve. L’imaginaire permet de voyager au-delà des frontières du temps et des lieux, au-delà des contraintes de la réalité. C’est aussi un muscle qui peut s’engourdir et s’atrophier. Eh oui, il faut s’entraîner pour rêver en couleurs! En temps de pandémie où notre liberté est limitée par un virus, il est particulièrement important d’entraîner notre imaginaire. La boîte-paysage est un outil qui permet de partir en voyage dans le rêve et de se réinventer. Comme dirait le poète Vasko Popa : « Maintenant dans la petite boîte / Il y a le monde entier en miniature ». 

Animée par l’artiste Marie-Ève Fontaine, cette série d’ateliers se veut une sorte de camp d’entraînement de l’imaginaire, où vos élèves seront amenés à générer des idées inédites, à se réinventer et à parcourir des paysages inexplorés. Une fois leur imaginaire bien en selle, ils auront comme mission d’illustrer leurs visions en créant chacun une boîte-paysage, qui deviendra un outil-clé pour leur permettre de se raconter eux-mêmes en version rêvée! 

 

Détails des séances 

Atelier 1 : Faire remuer les méninges 

Atelier 2 : Roder son histoire 

Atelier 3 : La banderole et la boîte 

Atelier 4 : Assemblage de la boîte-paysage 

Atelier 5 : Présentation de la boîte-paysage 

 

Places limitées, faites vite! Pour toute question, contactez Véronique Lavoie-Marcus, coordonnatrice du volet Enfance/jeunesse du Théâtre français. 

La Médiation culturelle est rendue possible grâce aux généreuses contributions de particuliers et d’organisations de partout au pays. Le programme Vive la musique est rendu possible grâce au soutien de la Fondation Azrieli, partenaire national, ainsi que de la Fondation de la famille Slaight et du Groupe Banque TD, souscripteurs majeurs. Merci également à Grant et Alice Burton, à Canada Vie, à un fonds orienté par le donateur à la Fondation communautaire d’Ottawa, aux Amis de l’Orchestre du CNA, aux donatrices et donateurs du Fonds de l’Avenir de la Fondation du CNA, au Fonds Janice et Earle O’Born pour l’excellence artistique, ainsi qu’aux donatrices, donateurs et commanditaires de la Fiducie nationale pour la jeunesse et l’éducation du CNA, principale source de financement des programmes jeunesse et activités éducatives du Centre national des Arts.

Menu