Chansons pour le musée: The multifaceted experience

Performance (recorded) + creative workshop + educational kit
Francophone Theatre Youth Workshops Children Visual Arts

Online

Ages 10-14

Offered in French Only

Art in all its forms

By signing your class up for this project, you and your students will have the opportunity to explore Chansons pour le musée, the poetic, theatrical and new wave world of Karine Sauvé’s exciting hybrid museum. After viewing a recording of the show, your students, with the help of an educational kit, will learn all about how her work was put together, followed by a spontaneous writing and contemporary art appreciation workshop. 

PART 1 – The show: Class screening of Chansons pour le musée 

Length: 60 minutes

It’s as if you were entering a museum through the back door when that’s not allowed. No, make that the upside-down door! Alone, in the middle of the night, Karine-Pas-Sauvé sees some strange sculptures. The mysterious skeleton of a psychologist has told her to sing as loud as she can when anyone approaches her, as a way of soothing her after a painful separation and a shattered family cocoon. On stage with her is the noisy Nicolas Letarte-Bersianik at the controls of his sound equipment colouring the space with his electrifying music. 

A link to the recording will be sent to you a few days before the viewing date. 

With Karine Sauvé and Nicolas Letarte-Bersianik // Directed by Anne-Marie Guilmaine and Karine Sauvé // Music and sound design Nicolas Letarte-Bersianik // Music arrangements Karine Sauvé // Set and costume design Julie Vallée-Léger and Karina Sauvé // Lighting Leticia Hamaoui // Technical direction Gabriel Duquette // Production manager Catherine Renaud // Costume assistant Mélanie Charest // A Mammifères production

ÉTAPE 2 – Writing workshop: Camping au musée  

Hosted by: Anne-Marie Guilmaine 

Length: 45 minutes - 1 hour 

The virtual workshop will take place a day or two after the viewing. 

Imagine sneaking into a museum at night, all alone, to have a look at artworks that are increasingly mysterious, peculiar and intriguing… There are paintings, sculptures and installations by contemporary artists. You’re asked to write down your impressions, as spontaneously as possible, in response to poetic questions designed to hone your sensitivities, imagination and observational skills. What’s that work all about? What’s this one celebrating? What has this one just seen or heard?   

This spontaneous writing and contemporary art appreciation workshop, inspired by Karine Sauvé’s creative approach, is an introduction to contemporary art.  

Learning objectives:

  • Appreciate and interpret works of contemporary art. 
  • Develop and communicate ideas, sensations, emotions and inner images in response to artworks.  
  • Appreciate aspects of one’s own written responses and those of one’s classmates and speak about them. 

Learn more about Chansons pour le musée here

Learning and engagement at Canada’s National Arts Centre is made possible through the support of many generous individuals and organizations from across the country. The Music Alive Program is made possible thanks to the leadership support of National Partner, The Azrieli Foundation, and Major Supporters, The Slaight Family Foundation and TD Bank Group. Thank you also to Grant and Alice Burton, Canada Life, A Donor-Advised Fund at the Community Foundation of Ottawa, Friends of the NAC Orchestra, Donors to the NAC Foundation's Future Fund, The Janice and Earle O’Born Fund for Artistic Excellence, and the donors and sponsors of the NAC’s National Youth and Education Trust, the primary resource for youth and education funding at the National Arts Centre.

Menu

Chansons pour le musée : l'expérience multifacette

Spectacle (captation) + Atelier de création + Trousse pédagogique
Francophone Théâtre Jeunesse Ateliers Enfance Arts visuels

En ligne

10-14 ans

L'art sous toutes ses formes

En inscrivant votre classe à ce projet, vous et vos élèves plongerez dans l’univers muséal, new wave, poétique et théâtral de Chansons pour le musée, ce bel animal hybride signé Karine Sauvé. Vous aurez l’occasion de visionner ensemble la captation du spectacle, de découvrir les dessous de sa création via une trousse d’accompagnement et finalement de participer à un atelier d’écriture spontanée et d’appréciation d'œuvres contemporaines. 

ÉTAPE 1 – Le spectacle : Visionnez en classe la captation de Chansons pour le musée 

Durée : 60 minutes

C’est comme si tu entrais dans un musée, quand c’est interdit, par la porte arrière. Non, la porte à l’envers! Seule, en pleine nuit, Karine-Pas-Sauvé observe les étranges sculptures. Un mystérieux squelette psychologue lui a conseillé de chanter à tue-tête pour toutes celles qui l'interpellent, comme un remède tonique pour soigner sa peine de séparation et d’un cocon familial en éclats. Avec elle, sur scène, le tonitruant Nicolas Letarte-Bersianik aux commandes de ses machines à sons. Il colore l’espace avec sa musique électrisante. 

Un lien d’accès à la captation vous sera envoyé quelques jours avant la date fixée pour le visionnement. 

Avec Karine Sauvé et Nicolas Letarte-Bersianik // Mise en scène Anne-Marie Guilmaine et Karine Sauvé // Conception musicale et sonore Nicolas Letarte-Bersianik // Arrangements musicaux Karine Sauvé // Scénographie et costumes Julie Vallée-Léger et Karine Sauvé // Lumière Leticia Hamaoui // Direction technique et régie Gabriel Duquette // Direction de production Catherine Renaud // Collaboration aux costumes Mélanie Charest // Production Mammifères 

ÉTAPE 2 – L'atelier d’écriture : Camping au musée  

Animé par : Anne-Marie Guilmaine 

Durée : 45 minutes - 1 heure 

L’atelier se déroulera virtuellement dans les jours suivant le visionnement du spectacle. 

Imagine que tu t’infiltres au musée, la nuit, tout.e seul.e, pour faire l’observation d'œuvres d’art plus mystérieuses, drôles et intrigantes les unes que les autres… Tu y découvres les peintures, sculptures et installations d’artistes contemporain.es. Tu es invité.e à écrire tes impressions le plus spontanément possible en répondant à des questions poétiques qui suscitent ta sensibilité, ton sens de l’observation, mais aussi ton imagination. À quoi rêve cette œuvre? Que célèbre-t-elle? Que vient-elle de voir ou d’entendre?   

Inspiré par la démarche créative de Karine Sauvé, cet atelier d’écriture spontanée et d’appréciation d'œuvres est une initiation à l’art contemporain.  

Objectifs : 

  • Apprécier et interpréter des œuvres d’art. 
  • Concrétiser et communiquer des idées, des images intérieures, des sensations et des émotions face à des productions artistiques.  
  • Apprécier des éléments de ses propres réalisations écrites et de celles de ses camarades et les partager verbalement. 

Pour en savoir plus sur le spectacle Chansons pour le musée 

La Médiation culturelle est rendue possible grâce aux généreuses contributions de particuliers et d’organisations de partout au pays. Le programme Vive la musique est rendu possible grâce au soutien de la Fondation Azrieli, partenaire national, ainsi que de la Fondation de la famille Slaight et du Groupe Banque TD, souscripteurs majeurs. Merci également à Grant et Alice Burton, à Canada Vie, à un fonds orienté par le donateur à la Fondation communautaire d’Ottawa, aux Amis de l’Orchestre du CNA, aux donatrices et donateurs du Fonds de l’Avenir de la Fondation du CNA, au Fonds Janice et Earle O’Born pour l’excellence artistique, ainsi qu’aux donatrices, donateurs et commanditaires de la Fiducie nationale pour la jeunesse et l’éducation du CNA, principale source de financement des programmes jeunesse et activités éducatives du Centre national des Arts.

Menu